Inventor General Discussion

Reply
Distinguished Contributor
2grumpy
Posts: 178
Registered: ‎11-26-2007
Message 1 of 3 (293 Views)
Accepted Solution

new .idcl for mold

293 Views, 2 Replies
04-16-2013 07:22 PM

how to create or edit existing .idcl mold catalogue for injection mold.

We are using 'Hales' type injection moulds and I would like to create .idcl for my library to use it with Inventor Tooling.

can somebody advise me how to do it?

Hello,

The existing Mold libraries(.idcl) are read-only and you cannot edit them.

Because you used 'Hales' type injection moulds and they are not in the existing Mold libraries, so I think there are two methods for you:

-For the standard parts, you can create a library and publish them into your library(.idcl). And you need to use Place from Content Center command below Assembly tab to place them from your library into mold assembly. But you only can use normal assembly commands to handle them and Tooling commands cannot recognize them.

-For the Mold Base, you can use the Mold Base Author command to author them as mold base, and then you can use User Mold Base to place it into Mold environment. The details of Mold Base Authoring please refer to the following link:

 

http://wikihelp.autodesk.com/Inventor/enu/2013/Help/1310-Autodesk1310/2263-Tooling2263/2264-Mold_Des2264/2366-Mold_Ass2366/2367-Mold_Bas2367

Employee
MingweiGao
Posts: 155
Registered: ‎08-04-2011
Message 2 of 3 (270 Views)

Re: new .idcl for mold

04-17-2013 01:21 AM in reply to: 2grumpy

Hello,

The existing Mold libraries(.idcl) are read-only and you cannot edit them.

Because you used 'Hales' type injection moulds and they are not in the existing Mold libraries, so I think there are two methods for you:

-For the standard parts, you can create a library and publish them into your library(.idcl). And you need to use Place from Content Center command below Assembly tab to place them from your library into mold assembly. But you only can use normal assembly commands to handle them and Tooling commands cannot recognize them.

-For the Mold Base, you can use the Mold Base Author command to author them as mold base, and then you can use User Mold Base to place it into Mold environment. The details of Mold Base Authoring please refer to the following link:

 

http://wikihelp.autodesk.com/Inventor/enu/2013/Help/1310-Autodesk1310/2263-Tooling2263/2264-Mold_Des...


Mingwei Gao
Software QA Engineer
Inventor Quality Assurance Team

Distinguished Contributor
2grumpy
Posts: 178
Registered: ‎11-26-2007
Message 3 of 3 (260 Views)

Re: new .idcl for mold

04-17-2013 02:49 PM in reply to: 2grumpy

Thanks for the advice. I am familiar with both methods for 'workaround' of the problem and using it, however it is not gratifying. It create a lot of more work.  luck one of the major tooling components manufacturer does not give good credential to the software.

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Are You Going To Be @ AU 2014? Feel free to drop by our AU topic post and share your plans, plug a class that you're teaching, or simply check out who else from the community might be in attendance. Ohh and don't forgot to stop by the Autodesk Help | Learn | Collaborate booths in the Exhibit Hall and meet our community team if you get a chance!