Inventor General Discussion

Inventor General Discussion

Reply
Contributor
Lightcutter
Posts: 19
Registered: ‎04-12-2010
Message 1 of 6 (221 Views)

New Battle Station

221 Views, 5 Replies
10-18-2012 11:27 AM

Just ordered:

 

http://www.compusa.com/applications/SearchTools/item-details.asp?EdpNo=2580524&Sku=B69-1416

 

http://www.compusa.com/applications/SearchTools/item-details.asp?EdpNo=6640163&CatId=3669

 

Running Product Designer Pro 2013, mostly Inventor, 3DS Max and Acad with some Showcase.

 

Will upgrade RAM if I find it sluggish.

 

Will also install Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit.

 

Any opinions?

*Expert Elite*
mcgyvr
Posts: 7,248
Registered: ‎12-01-2004
Message 2 of 6 (188 Views)

Re: New Battle Station

10-18-2012 01:27 PM in reply to: Lightcutter

Heatsink for CPU?

Any reason you went with an expensive quadro card? Its fairly well known around here that they are a waste of money

 

Did you find this reply helpful ? If so please use the Accept as Solution or Kudos button below.

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
2015 Product Design Suite Ultimate
Windows 7 64 bit
Core i7 4820k processor (OC'd to 4.4Ghz), Nvidia GTX 770, 16G RAM


Contributor
Lightcutter
Posts: 19
Registered: ‎04-12-2010
Message 3 of 6 (185 Views)

Re: New Battle Station

10-18-2012 01:34 PM in reply to: Lightcutter

We get a better deal than what is shown, so the price wasn't as high as that. IT prefers to deal with what is listed on the recommended list of cards Adesk puts out.

 

performance wise though, good, bad or ugly? Any experience with it?

Distinguished Contributor
Ryan.Martinez
Posts: 141
Registered: ‎07-29-2011
Message 4 of 6 (180 Views)

Re: New Battle Station

10-18-2012 01:35 PM in reply to: Lightcutter

Pretty sure other Product design programs use openGL. Like 3ds.... I could be wrong though

PDS 2014
PDS 2015
*Expert Elite*
mcgyvr
Posts: 7,248
Registered: ‎12-01-2004
Message 5 of 6 (176 Views)

Re: New Battle Station

10-18-2012 01:44 PM in reply to: Ryan.Martinez

might want a little more RAM..

Will IT let you overclock the processor?

Solid state hard drives make all the difference in the world.. That hard drive WILL slow you down some.. In general it should be a very decent machine for you for the price.

Did you find this reply helpful ? If so please use the Accept as Solution or Kudos button below.

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
2015 Product Design Suite Ultimate
Windows 7 64 bit
Core i7 4820k processor (OC'd to 4.4Ghz), Nvidia GTX 770, 16G RAM


Contributor
Lightcutter
Posts: 19
Registered: ‎04-12-2010
Message 6 of 6 (168 Views)

Re: New Battle Station

10-18-2012 02:07 PM in reply to: mcgyvr

Will probably up the RAM once it gets in. probably 16GB.

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Do you have 60 seconds to spare? The Autodesk Community Team is revamping our site ranking system and we want your feedback! Please click here to launch the 5 question survey. As always your input is greatly appreciated.