Community
Inventor Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Inventor Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Inventor topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Need to add/constrain a general table in the border template.

7 REPLIES 7
SOLVED
Message 1 of 8
swallowsc
1593 Views, 7 Replies

Need to add/constrain a general table in the border template.

I'm new to Inventor and this is a problem I can't figure out.  I need create and add a table to a drawing.  But the company is strict and wants the table to be a exact distance from a particular point on the border template.  So when I go to edit definition of the border the option to insert a table is grayed out.  And if I put it on the drawing like a view there is no way to pick up the border point to dimension.

Is there some trick I'm missing to add the table and constrain it to the border?  It seems like a simple task.

7 REPLIES 7
Message 2 of 8
mcgyvr
in reply to: swallowsc

You are not missing anything. Currently there is no way to add  a dimension to a general table that dimensions off the border. I'd have the company standards rewritten to work WITH your programs capability and not against it. You can have the tables snap to border lines though so maybe you can add some border lines to indicate where it should snap too. Or create a sketched symbol that represents the "distance" and use that during table placement then just turn it off.

Many little tricks but the correct way to tackle this problem is to address the company standards and have them modified to allow a table to be snapped to existing border lines. Any workaround you do will simply add time that shouldn't be needed with a simple rewrite of the out of data standard

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Inventor 2023 - Dell Precision 5570

Did you find this reply helpful ? If so please use the Accept Solution button below.