Inventor General Discussion

Inventor General Discussion

Reply
*Martin, Lester
Post 1 of 19

Need skeleton modeling tips

85 Views, 18 Replies
10-28-2003 06:19 AM
I am new at skeleton modeling and any tips would be helpful.

How do keep your skeleton from getting so big, that you its hard to read any
numbers, keep the lines apart (different colours would be nice)and getting
slow.





--

Lester Martin
Reist Industries Inc.
Toll Free: 1-888-565-5587
pH.: 519-669-1501
Fax: 519-669-3021
E-mail: lester@reist.on.ca
Distinguished Contributor 3dr
Distinguished Contributor
254 Posts
0 Kudos
Registered: ‎11-19-2003
Post 2 of 19

Re: Need skeleton modeling tips

10-28-2003 06:19 AM in reply to: *Martin, Lester
Seans site "sdotson.com" has a good tutorial I believe that is where I got it from.
*Keller, Kent
Post 3 of 19

Re: Need skeleton modeling tips

10-28-2003 06:39 AM in reply to: *Martin, Lester
You aren't trying to do it all in one sketch are you? Break it up into multiple sketches
that you can turn on and off.

--
Kent
Assistant Moderator
Autodesk Discussion Forum Moderator Program


"Lester Martin" wrote in message
news:42291A1655B40D61316425E01D4486D0@in.WebX.maYIadrTaRb...
> I am new at skeleton modeling and any tips would be helpful.
>
> How do keep your skeleton from getting so big, that you its hard to read any
> numbers, keep the lines apart (different colours would be nice)and getting
> slow.
>
>
>
>
>
> --
>
> Lester Martin
> Reist Industries Inc.
> Toll Free: 1-888-565-5587
> pH.: 519-669-1501
> Fax: 519-669-3021
> E-mail: lester@reist.on.ca
>
>
*Martin, Lester
Post 4 of 19

Re:

10-28-2003 09:08 PM in reply to: *Martin, Lester
Yes I have everything in one sketch. =(
The reason is and hopefully you can help me out here,
1 The whole sketch has to grow and shrink with each other.
2 I can't measure from one sketch to another with out projecting the line.
3 If I go into the top sketch all the sketches below disappear, and I need
to see them.

like I said I'm new at skeleton modeling, and I'm sure there are answers for
all of my problems.
*Caldwell, Larry
Post 5 of 19

Re:

10-28-2003 10:01 PM in reply to: *Martin, Lester
Master sketches usually require some planning ahead but in the situation you
mentioned about needing lower-level sketch geometry in the top-level sketch,
you can copy/paste the lower-level geometry into the top-level sketch when
necessary.
~Larry

"Lester Martin" wrote in message
news:142BDA379BD3EB1354A4732D1A74649B@in.WebX.maYIadrTaRb...
> Yes I have everything in one sketch. =(
> The reason is and hopefully you can help me out here,
> 1 The whole sketch has to grow and shrink with each other.
> 2 I can't measure from one sketch to another with out projecting the
line.
> 3 If I go into the top sketch all the sketches below disappear, and I
need
> to see them.
>
> like I said I'm new at skeleton modeling, and I'm sure there are answers
for
> all of my problems.
>
>
*Yeandle, Laurence
Post 6 of 19

Re:

10-28-2003 10:20 PM in reply to: *Martin, Lester
Bit difficult to imagine exactly what you are doing without guessing, can
you post the file?
To minimise the amount of information in a sketch try using more
construction geometry and constraints?
Make your sketch1 your base sketch which will include general overall
geometry and dims.
Then for additional features in sketch2 project only basic controlling
geometry and or use equations (link dimensions by selecting them from your
sk1 whilst in sk2 :- edit dim-select drop down arrow-measure-select ref dim
and add equation as necessary)
Use offset planes from origin geometry.
Make heavy use of origins for constraining sketches etc.
Rename sketches planes axis points with a meaningful name.
Doing this means you can link any thing from your base sketch and control
the whole model as desired / required and studying the browser is easier
than opening the sketch to see its contents.
It would be nice to colour sketches for better clarity but I normally make
all or as required sketches visible then in an iso view you can study
construction of model as well AS editing any sketch dimensions.

--
Laurence,

Power is nothing without Control
---


"Lester Martin" wrote in message
news:142BDA379BD3EB1354A4732D1A74649B@in.WebX.maYIadrTaRb...
> Yes I have everything in one sketch. =(
> The reason is and hopefully you can help me out here,
> 1 The whole sketch has to grow and shrink with each other.
> 2 I can't measure from one sketch to another with out projecting the
line.
> 3 If I go into the top sketch all the sketches below disappear, and I
need
> to see them.
>
> like I said I'm new at skeleton modeling, and I'm sure there are answers
for
> all of my problems.
>
>
*Keller, Kent
Post 7 of 19

Re:

10-29-2003 12:36 AM in reply to: *Martin, Lester
With Master sketching I do a fair amount of projecting lines (actually I generally try to
project line endpoints so as to keep the clutter down.) to new sketches.

Your item 3 is no different than what you would run into editing a top feature in a part.
Approach your Master sketch the same way you would build a single part. The first few
sketches should be the base for your part that everything uses to grow and shrink from.

--
Kent
Assistant Moderator
Autodesk Discussion Forum Moderator Program


"Lester Martin" wrote in message
news:142BDA379BD3EB1354A4732D1A74649B@in.WebX.maYIadrTaRb...
> Yes I have everything in one sketch. =(
> The reason is and hopefully you can help me out here,
> 1 The whole sketch has to grow and shrink with each other.
> 2 I can't measure from one sketch to another with out projecting the line.
> 3 If I go into the top sketch all the sketches below disappear, and I need
> to see them.
>
> like I said I'm new at skeleton modeling, and I'm sure there are answers for
> all of my problems.
>
>
*Martin, Lester
Post 8 of 19

Re:

10-29-2003 01:33 AM in reply to: *Martin, Lester
I sent file to customer files.
Thanks for your tips and Larry and Kents as well.
They would mean nothing to me if I hadn't tried it before.
Its going to be nice once I get on to this skeleton modeling.
*Keller, Kent
Post 9 of 19

Re:

10-29-2003 02:56 AM in reply to: *Martin, Lester
Lester

Don't have a lot of time to look at it right now, but the first thing I see is .... why
are you using constraints in the assembly?

You might try using the insert and fix macro on my site.
http://www.mymcad.com/KWiK/mcad.htm

It also looks like you could get rid of some of your dims if you used more = constraints
(if you can get them to work that is )

It really doesn't look that messy to me. Here is a couple of shots of one of mine ( Of
course I don't really work on it with all these sketches turned on)


--
Kent
Assistant Moderator
Autodesk Discussion Forum Moderator Program


"Lester Martin" wrote in message
news:E0AA12166432C1A0EB23141C1F8CAE52@in.WebX.maYIadrTaRb...
> I sent file to customer files.
> Thanks for your tips and Larry and Kents as well.
> They would mean nothing to me if I hadn't tried it before.
> Its going to be nice once I get on to this skeleton modeling.
>
>
*Dotson, Sean
Post 10 of 19

Re:

10-29-2003 03:51 AM in reply to: *Martin, Lester
oohh. 350k worth of attachments.. I'm telling the mod... er nevermind...

--
Sean Dotson, PE
http://www.sdotson.com
Check the Inventor FAQ for most common questions
www.sdotson.com/faq.html
-----------------------------------------------------------------------
"Kent Keller" wrote in message
news:937B2DAED559675F0943F62ABE090713@in.WebX.maYIadrTaRb...
> Lester
>
> Don't have a lot of time to look at it right now, but the first thing I
see is .... why
> are you using constraints in the assembly?
>
> You might try using the insert and fix macro on my site.
> http://www.mymcad.com/KWiK/mcad.htm
>
> It also looks like you could get rid of some of your dims if you used more
= constraints
> (if you can get them to work that is )
>
> It really doesn't look that messy to me. Here is a couple of shots of
one of mine ( Of
> course I don't really work on it with all these sketches turned on)
>
>
> --
> Kent
> Assistant Moderator
> Autodesk Discussion Forum Moderator Program
>
>
> "Lester Martin" wrote in message
> news:E0AA12166432C1A0EB23141C1F8CAE52@in.WebX.maYIadrTaRb...
> > I sent file to customer files.
> > Thanks for your tips and Larry and Kents as well.
> > They would mean nothing to me if I hadn't tried it before.
> > Its going to be nice once I get on to this skeleton modeling.
> >
> >
>
>


----------------------------------------------------------------------------
----






----------------------------------------------------------------------------
----
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Are you interested in helping shape the future of the Autodesk Community? To participate in this brief usability study, please click here. Your time and input is greatly appreciated!