Community
Inventor Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Inventor Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Inventor topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Need Help Creating Punch Tool

10 REPLIES 10
SOLVED
Message 1 of 11
IlliniDawn
691 Views, 10 Replies

Need Help Creating Punch Tool

Please help!!!

I'm new to Inventor and am trying to create a sheet metal punch tool, however, I must have something incorrect because the extract iFeature does not seem to be working.

I've attached a copy of the file I'm currently working on.

Thanks!

10 REPLIES 10
Message 2 of 11
JDMather
in reply to: IlliniDawn

Do not constrain Sketch 2 to the origin, this is one time when you don't fully constrain a sketch.

After removing the Coincident Constraint from Sketch2 you should be able to drag the sketch without breaking Sketch3.

Sketch3 needs some work (one thing I noticed is odd sized fillets and the sketch is not robust (fails after moving Sketch2).

Sketch3 should only reference Sketch2 (and I wouldn't use an geometry projected from solid, only projected from Sketch2).

I would give meaningful names to Sketch2 and 3.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Autodesk Inventor 2019 Certified Professional
Autodesk AutoCAD 2013 Certified Professional
Certified SolidWorks Professional

The CADWhisperer YouTube Channel

EESignature

Message 3 of 11
IlliniDawn
in reply to: JDMather

JDMather.  Thank you so much for your help.  I'm used to working in Solidworks, and Inventor is taking a little for me to get used to!

Message 4 of 11
JDMather

Post back if you still can't figure it out.

In Inventor you model the punch feature while in SWx you model the punch tool.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

EESignature

Message 5 of 11
IlliniDawn

With your suggestions I was able to figure it out.