Community
Inventor Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Inventor Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Inventor topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Multiple rip and missing sections

8 REPLIES 8
SOLVED
Message 1 of 9
rsgallo
720 Views, 8 Replies

Multiple rip and missing sections

I am new to Inventor.  I am trying to flatten a shell. It is pressure vessel component. I can rip it and unfold just fine, but the final part, when built, is too big to mfg in one piece. I noted that multiple rips are supported and I can do two rips fine. I basically have a top half and bottom half. But when I flatten it, one half is missing. I stumbled upon "unfold". I can do that to both halves and have them as flat plates seperated in space in one .ipt. . If I try to create 2D drawings, one half is missing. I can't find it to create projections in a dwg.  I've assumed this might work better if I created an assembly of the 2 halves, but haven't been able to erase half as ripped and save as(pt1, pt2), to create the two parts to the assy.  Any ideas?

8 REPLIES 8
Message 2 of 9
JDMather
in reply to: rsgallo

I would do Derived Components to get the flats.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Autodesk Inventor 2019 Certified Professional
Autodesk AutoCAD 2013 Certified Professional
Certified SolidWorks Professional

The CADWhisperer YouTube Channel

EESignature

Message 3 of 9
rsgallo
in reply to: JDMather

I tried your suggestion.  It still treats the model as one part, even though it is ripped into two parts.  I could not derive one half from the other.  I've included the part file for perusal. Am I missing something?

Thanks,

Message 4 of 9
PaulMunford

JD is suggesting tha youuse your origional part as a master part, which will control two derived parts.

Create the split in your master part - being caerful to make sure that you chose the 'New Body' option.