Community
Inventor Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Inventor Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Inventor topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

move bodies

14 REPLIES 14
Message 1 of 15
rhoscadman
1830 Views, 14 Replies

move bodies

Hi,

I am new to Inventor as our company leaders recently decided this is the way the dsign office should be heading. So, apart a basic inventor training week I have only used Inventor (Inventor 2013) in anger for the past 3 weeks. All is well and fine when it comes to building a part and then assembling it to other parts.

The problem starts when my engineer requirs a change in orientation for one of the components on the part. For clarity it is a pressure vessel with several flanges/spigots coming out of it.

I have manged to rotate a feature using the "move bodies" command around the central axis of the the main body of the vessel. But the sketch that I used to create this feature does not rotate with it. Why?

I have trawled the help line etc and still don't understand how to keep a feature and it's sketch together when I'm using Move Bodies.

Cheers

Rhoscadman

14 REPLIES 14
Message 2 of 15
nannerdw
in reply to: rhoscadman

The Move Bodies command only moves the existing geometry.  It can't change the base sketches that were used to define that geometry.  There's no way to perform a "move" operation on a sketch, but you can redefine it to be on a different workplane.  Right-click the sketch in the model browser and select "Redefine"; then select a new plane for the sketch.  The workplane that you select must come before that sketch in the model tree.

Also, any subsequent part features that depend on that sketch may become broken and need to be re-created.

Message 3 of 15
gsmith9810

Perhaps we're still having issues with terminology?

Assemblies are (for the most part) built up bu placing parts and constraining them with assembly constraints.