Inventor General Discussion

Inventor General Discussion

Reply
Valued Mentor
stevec781
Posts: 691
Registered: ‎05-29-2009
Message 1 of 18 (1,339 Views)

More RAM or new video card?

1339 Views, 17 Replies
02-23-2012 03:18 AM

My machine is really slow even though my models are quite small and a couple of times a day I get a message about windows switching to virtual memory.  Its as if Inventor doesnt release the RAM when I close files.

 

The machine is 64 bit with 8GB Ram and a Quadro FX 570 card.

 

Which would give the most benefit, more RAM or a better card?

*Expert Elite*
MariaManuela
Posts: 870
Registered: ‎12-04-2003
Message 2 of 18 (1,335 Views)

Re: More RAM or new video card?

02-23-2012 03:47 AM in reply to: stevec781

You should give priority to RAM then Graphics Card.

If 64-bit system you should consider at least 8GB (minimum). Adding more RAM to your system will provide better performance and capacity.

 

Minimum for large assemblies:
Win7 x64 (Ultimate, Enterprise or Professional)
Quad or Six core Intel Xeon processor
12 GB or more system RAM
DX 11 level graphics card with 2 GB or more video RAM
At least 1 TB of hard disk space
Autodesk certified graphics hardware: http://usa.autodesk.com/adsk/servlet/cert?siteID=123112&id=16391880

 

Recommended for large assemblies:
Win7 x64 (Ultimate, Enterprise or Professional)
Dual Six core processor (i.e. 12 cores total, hyperthreading not recommended because
Inventor does not take advantage (except Studio rendering))
24 GB or more system RAM
DirectX 11 level graphics card with 2 GB or more video RAM (CAD workstation-class
graphics card )
Two (or more) 1 TB hard disk drives, SATA, SAS, Ultra 160 and Ultra 320 SCSI, SSD, RAID 0
or 1, 7200 RPM or better

 

More info here: http://wikihelp.autodesk.com/Inventor/enu/2012/Help/0073-Autodesk73/0460-Assembli460/Work_with_Large...

 

Maria Manuela Pinho
Application Specialist
Cadtech / Asidek - Autodesk Gold Partner
Autodesk Inventor Professional 2015 | Lenovo W520
*Expert Elite*
mcgyvr
Posts: 7,160
Registered: ‎12-01-2004
Message 3 of 18 (1,317 Views)

Re: More RAM or new video card?

02-23-2012 05:42 AM in reply to: MariaManuela

That is a crappy video card though (only 256Mb onboard ram)..

8M of regular RAM should be enough if your models are really small like you say.

You can easily monitor ram usage.

 

I'd say video card first in this case

Get a decent Nvidia Geforce card with 512Mb "minimum" of onboard video ram.. I'd shoot for 1G

 

Of course you didn't mention anything about your processor or hard drive (if you are saving locally)

Did you find this reply helpful ? If so please use the Accept as Solution or Kudos button below.

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
2015 Product Design Suite Ultimate
Windows 7 64 bit
Core i7 4820k processor (OC'd to 4.4Ghz), Nvidia GTX 770, 16G RAM


Valued Mentor
Martin_Goodland
Posts: 302
Registered: ‎07-15-2005
Message 4 of 18 (1,301 Views)

Re: More RAM or new video card?

02-23-2012 06:19 AM in reply to: stevec781

Regarding the comment about Inventor not releasing RAM when the file is closed, in Application Options - File, do you have 'Quick File Open' at the bottom of the page selected ? If so inventor will cache the last assembly in memory.

 

Regards

 

Martin


PDSU 2014 SP1.3
Windows 7 64bit SP1, Office 2007 Pro
Intel i7 980x, 24 Gb DDR3 RAM
Geforce 760GTX Graphics (Diver 337.88)
256GB SSD OS, 80GB SSD working folder
Space Pilot
*Expert Elite*
MariaManuela
Posts: 870
Registered: ‎12-04-2003
Message 5 of 18 (1,297 Views)

Re: More RAM or new video card?

02-23-2012 06:30 AM in reply to: stevec781

Use Memprobe.exe to obtain detailed information on how your system RAM is being used. This utility is located in C:\Program Files\Autodesk\Inventor <version>\Bin\. When working with Memprobe.exe, add the Inventor Working Set and the System Working Set then compare to the Hardware value.

 

There are many many possible things to do to improve performance..The document that i attach in my first post show many ways to optimize performance.

 

You should also enable Performance option in Hardware application options.

Maria Manuela Pinho
Application Specialist
Cadtech / Asidek - Autodesk Gold Partner
Autodesk Inventor Professional 2015 | Lenovo W520
Valued Mentor
stevec781
Posts: 691
Registered: ‎05-29-2009
Message 6 of 18 (1,283 Views)

Re: More RAM or new video card?

02-23-2012 07:33 AM in reply to: MariaManuela

Thanks for the replys.

 

Performance option was checked but so was quick file open so I unchecked it to see what happens.

 

When I say the model is small I mean 326 parts, but lots of deriving, lots of frames.  I often wait for around 1 min just waiting for the mouse to come back to life.  Sometimes just zooming in will freeze it for a while. 

 

I use Kasperksy with inv in the trusted set, and have nothing else open, not even email.  I check it every couple of hours and shut it down.  Stand alone station so no vault, no network.  So something is way off.

 

Chip is Intel Duo Core E8400 3.0GHz.  Not sure about hard disk specs but it was a good one at the time.  OS is XP64 SP2.

 

Inv is installed in C partition and all files are on R partition.

 

The card was a result of this machine originally being for solid works.  Back then I was told that RAM was less important for OpenGl.  Solidworks went well on this machine and the graphics were nice.  But in Inventor I cant even get a shadowed display so I guess Ram is more is important for DirectX.  The card supports both but I cant find a setting so I assume that inventor sets the card mode??

 

Unfortunaley I have 4 x2GB ram so I would have to buy the whole 16GB to upgrade so I might start with a new card.  Thinking if it is card then I can spend some more and go for a GTX 590 if my board will take it.

 

*Expert Elite*
MariaManuela
Posts: 870
Registered: ‎12-04-2003
Message 7 of 18 (1,271 Views)

Re: More RAM or new video card?

02-23-2012 08:17 AM in reply to: stevec781

stevec781 wrote:

When I say the model is small I mean 326 parts, but lots of deriving, lots of frames.  I often wait for around 1 min just waiting for the mouse to come back to life.  Sometimes just zooming in will freeze it for a while. 

  


The modeling methodology is also very important.

 

I do not know if you are already using......but follow some tips:

 

You use sub-assemblies? Must use (this way you will have to give fewer constraints)

You create assembly patterns in the first assembly level? Should NOT use

You use Level Of  Details? Must use

You use Substitutions? Must Use

You use Adaptativity? Must disable

etc...

 

 

 

 

Maria Manuela Pinho
Application Specialist
Cadtech / Asidek - Autodesk Gold Partner
Autodesk Inventor Professional 2015 | Lenovo W520
Valued Mentor
stevec781
Posts: 691
Registered: ‎05-29-2009
Message 8 of 18 (1,258 Views)

Re: More RAM or new video card?

02-23-2012 09:12 AM in reply to: MariaManuela

MariaManuela wrote:

The modeling methodology is also very important.

 

  


For thousands of parts absolutely but for a few hundred?  I shouldnt think such small models would have any restrictions, but

 

Sub assemblies - yes

Patterns - in part features yes, assembly components NA.

LOD - no.  Not practical

Representations - yes

Substitutions - no not practical

Adaptivity - rarely but sometimes

 

Generally I use skeletal technicques based on common origin so very few mates, but most parts have master parts derived into them as composites.

 

To add a simple coincident constraint takes about 5 seconds of hard disk scratching before anything happens.

 

I have just won a much larger project and am concerned that Inv wont be the right tool for the job but need to make sure its not my hardware first.

*Expert Elite*
MariaManuela
Posts: 870
Registered: ‎12-04-2003
Message 9 of 18 (1,250 Views)

Re: More RAM or new video card?

02-23-2012 09:33 AM in reply to: stevec781

We have a some customers working with big and complex assemblies, the last one where i've been working works with more then 40.000 componentes. Who? Sure with good hardware but more with large assemblys tecniques.

So in your case has to work.

Make sure you have your sistem updated. All recent drivers, service packs....etc

I read somewhere that this anti-virus updates every day. Does NOTaffect the performance??

 

 Install the latest drivers\firmware. (By Autodesk WikiHelp)

 

• Hard Disk Drive
• Hard Disk Controllers
• CD-ROM|DVD Player\CDR\RW drives
• Monitors
• Network Card
• Sound Card
• Keyboard
• Mouse
• 3D mouse (SpaceMouse, SpaceNavigator, SpacePilot, etc.)
• Any other peripheral device connected to the machine (e.g. Printer, Camera, Digitizer, etc.)

Maria Manuela Pinho
Application Specialist
Cadtech / Asidek - Autodesk Gold Partner
Autodesk Inventor Professional 2015 | Lenovo W520
Valued Mentor
stevec781
Posts: 691
Registered: ‎05-29-2009
Message 10 of 18 (1,248 Views)

Re: More RAM or new video card?

02-23-2012 09:38 AM in reply to: stevec781

I got memprobe running and task manager.  Its showing 5GB of ram available.  When I rotate the screen, CPU usage goes to 60%, ram doesnt move, when I rebuild, CPU usage goes to 80%, the page file seems to be being used and the ram barely moves.  Just moving the mouse around and highlighting takes cpu to 70%.

 

So it doesnt look like more ram will help if its not being maxed out now.  I dont understand why the page file is being used at all when there is ram available.

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Are You Going To Be @ AU 2014? Feel free to drop by our AU topic post and share your plans, plug a class that you're teaching, or simply check out who else from the community might be in attendance. Ohh and don't forgot to stop by the Autodesk Help | Learn | Collaborate booths in the Exhibit Hall and meet our community team if you get a chance!