Inventor General Discussion

Inventor General Discussion

Reply
Contributor
Pebblebrook
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎05-23-2012
Message 1 of 5 (536 Views)
Accepted Solution

Modifying 3D dimensions in Inventor LT

536 Views, 4 Replies
05-23-2012 08:55 AM

Quick question...

 

Once a 3D object is drawn/completed in Inventor LT, how does one go back to the object to change the length/radius of certain objects without having to completely redrawn the object.  For instance, imagine a bike wheel that is fully draw.  Later perhaps one wants to go back to the wheel and adjust the radius of the spokes and the length.  How does one do this quickly.  In 2D I see how, but can this also be done in 3D with Inventor LT?

 

Any help is greatly appreciated.

 

Thanks,

 

pb

_______________________________________________________________

Working with... Autodesk: AutoCAD Inventor LT Suite 2013 | OS: Windows 7 | GC: ATI 6670 | Mem: 8 gigs RAM | Proc: Intel core i5 | Monitor: Acer V213HL

I'm not familiar with the limitations of LT.. (I thought you just couldn't make assemblies/iam files) so I'm assuming the part environment is identical to regular Inventor.. And if so you simply open the ipt file and edit the 2d sketches used to create the 3d features.

You should have the model browser tool bar open and look at the tree and find the feature you want to modify then simply right click and select "edit sketch"

Hi Pebblebrook, 

 

As mcgyvr mentioned you'll find the edit tools in the right-click of the feature browser node of the model. Choose Edit Sketch to edit the 2D, and Edit Feature to edit the 3D. When editing a feature you are presented with the same tools used to create the feature originally.

 

I hope this helps.
Best of luck to you in all of your Inventor pursuits,
Curtis
http://inventortrenches.blogspot.com


 

Autodesk Inventor Edit Sketch Edit 2D Edit Feature Edit 3D.png

*Expert Elite*
mcgyvr
Posts: 7,172
Registered: ‎12-01-2004
Message 2 of 5 (534 Views)

Re: Modifying 3D dimensions in Inventor LT

05-23-2012 08:59 AM in reply to: Pebblebrook

I'm not familiar with the limitations of LT.. (I thought you just couldn't make assemblies/iam files) so I'm assuming the part environment is identical to regular Inventor.. And if so you simply open the ipt file and edit the 2d sketches used to create the 3d features.

You should have the model browser tool bar open and look at the tree and find the feature you want to modify then simply right click and select "edit sketch"

Did you find this reply helpful ? If so please use the Accept as Solution or Kudos button below.

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
2015 Product Design Suite Ultimate
Windows 7 64 bit
Core i7 4820k processor (OC'd to 4.4Ghz), Nvidia GTX 770, 16G RAM


*Expert Elite*
Curtis_Waguespack
Posts: 2,987
Registered: ‎03-08-2006
Message 3 of 5 (528 Views)

Re: Modifying 3D dimensions in Inventor LT

05-23-2012 09:10 AM in reply to: Pebblebrook

Hi Pebblebrook, 

 

As mcgyvr mentioned you'll find the edit tools in the right-click of the feature browser node of the model. Choose Edit Sketch to edit the 2D, and Edit Feature to edit the 3D. When editing a feature you are presented with the same tools used to create the feature originally.

 

I hope this helps.
Best of luck to you in all of your Inventor pursuits,
Curtis
http://inventortrenches.blogspot.com


 

Autodesk Inventor Edit Sketch Edit 2D Edit Feature Edit 3D.png



  solution.png  Did you find this reply helpful ? If so please use the Accept as Solution or  Kudos button below.





Contributor
Pebblebrook
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎05-23-2012
Message 4 of 5 (523 Views)

Re: Modifying 3D dimensions in Inventor LT

05-23-2012 09:24 AM in reply to: Curtis_Waguespack

Thank you for your posts.  We found an option called 3D grips that changed the 3d image into a wire frame and allows us to adjust it there. but if this option fails, ill be sure to use the one's you provided.

 

Thanks again

pb

 

_______________________________________________________________

Working with... Autodesk: AutoCAD Inventor LT Suite 2013 | OS: Windows 7 | GC: ATI 6670 | Mem: 8 gigs RAM | Proc: Intel core i5 | Monitor: Acer V213HL
*Expert Elite*
mcgyvr
Posts: 7,172
Registered: ‎12-01-2004
Message 5 of 5 (517 Views)

Re: Modifying 3D dimensions in Inventor LT

05-23-2012 10:27 AM in reply to: Pebblebrook

Pebblebrook wrote:

Thank you for your posts.  We found an option called 3D grips that changed the 3d image into a wire frame and allows us to adjust it there. but if this option fails, ill be sure to use the one's you provided.

 

Thanks again

pb

 


You skipped the basics with that method which I would NEVER suggest as you are clearly a beginner. Learn to edit the features sketches by the methods we talked about.. Then later use 3d grips if you want.

Did you find this reply helpful ? If so please use the Accept as Solution or Kudos button below.

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
2015 Product Design Suite Ultimate
Windows 7 64 bit
Core i7 4820k processor (OC'd to 4.4Ghz), Nvidia GTX 770, 16G RAM


Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Are You Going To Be @ AU 2014? Feel free to drop by our AU topic post and share your plans, plug a class that you're teaching, or simply check out who else from the community might be in attendance. Ohh and don't forgot to stop by the Autodesk Help | Learn | Collaborate booths in the Exhibit Hall and meet our community team if you get a chance!