Inventor General Discussion

Inventor General Discussion

Reply
Distinguished Contributor
Anthony
Posts: 387
Registered: ‎10-03-2011
Message 1 of 5 (430 Views)

Modelling a cable

430 Views, 4 Replies
01-04-2013 02:36 AM

I was wondering the best way to model a steel tensioner cable in Inventor. The assembly I have designed is of a cable fixed between two brackets which are fastened on two structural beams. I am looking accurately model the cable attachment on the brackets. My inital thought would be to extrude the length of cable through a pre-defined path between the bracket fixing holes however this would not represent a 'true life scenario'. Any suggestions would be appreciated.

 

Product Design Suite Ultimate 2013

64-bit HP Z400, Intel Xeon W3550 3.07GHz

12.0GB RAM, ATI FirePro V4800 (FireGL)

Anthony Goodwin ~ Cad Manager/Senior Designer
Autodesk Inventor Professional 2013 SP2 64-Bit Edition
Windows 7 HP Z400, Intel Xeon W3550 3.07GHz
12.0GB RAM, ATI FirePro V4800 (FireGL)
*Pro
sbixler
Posts: 1,885
Registered: ‎09-15-2003
Message 2 of 5 (423 Views)

Re: Modelling a cable

01-04-2013 03:42 AM in reply to: Anthony

Post a picture of what you're trying to accomplish.  You call it a tensioner cable, which leads me to think that it will mostly be straight (i.e. under tension), so I'm not understanding the "true life scenario".

*Expert Elite*
JDMather
Posts: 26,640
Registered: ‎04-20-2006
Message 3 of 5 (413 Views)

Re: Modelling a cable

01-04-2013 04:21 AM in reply to: Anthony

Anthony wrote:

...extrude the length of cable through a pre-defined path


 

That describes Sweep, not Extrude.

 

Please mark this response as "Accept as Solution" if it answers your question.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Autodesk Inventor 2014 Certified Professional
Autodesk AutoCAD 2013 Certified Professional
Certified SolidWorks Professional
Inventor Professional 2015 64-bit
http://www.autodesk.com/edcommunity
http://home.pct.edu/~jmather/content/DSG322/inventor_surface_tutorials.htm
Distinguished Contributor
Anthony
Posts: 387
Registered: ‎10-03-2011
Message 4 of 5 (396 Views)

Re: Modeling a cable

01-04-2013 05:36 AM in reply to: sbixler

Hi, thank you for your reply. Please see attached screenshot of the intended result. The cables will be under tension as you have stated and will therefore will be represented straight, I may be asked to produce flexible cable as well for further design development which is why I asked the original question. Thank you.

Anthony Goodwin ~ Cad Manager/Senior Designer
Autodesk Inventor Professional 2013 SP2 64-Bit Edition
Windows 7 HP Z400, Intel Xeon W3550 3.07GHz
12.0GB RAM, ATI FirePro V4800 (FireGL)
Valued Mentor
rhasell
Posts: 313
Registered: ‎05-23-2007
Message 5 of 5 (311 Views)

Re: Modeling a cable

01-06-2013 09:59 PM in reply to: Anthony

Hi

 

The Cable is not the problem here, simple extrude/sweep, the issue is the attachments.

 

You will need to model up the fittings and tensioner (Shackles, rigging screws, Swage ends, etc) Have a look at "VanBeest" there are a lot of fixings there (All green pin lifting equipment), the rest you will have to look at grabcad, and do your own modeling.

 

This will give you a better representation of the cable.


Reg
Autodesk PDS Ultimate 2015 Update 1 Build 159
Intel Core i7 (950@3.07GHz)/Win7x64 (Home) - 12GB Ram
Nvidia GeForce GTX 560 Ti
 
Please Give Kudo's / accept as a solution if it fixes your problem.
Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.