Community
Inventor Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Inventor Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Inventor topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Model wiring connector

6 REPLIES 6
Message 1 of 7
jeff.noel
1145 Views, 6 Replies

Model wiring connector

In the quest to have all our purchased components in our Inventor models, I have finally gotten to modelling the connector that is attached below.  It has a connector on one side, then a length of cable, then goes into another connector.  (we have many connectors like this, this is just an example of one).

Of course suppliers don't have models for this part, and even if they did it would probably be next to useless.  What I need is to have this connector fully modelled, and flexible, so that no matter which assembly it is in, I can route it the correct way.

I am just getting started on it, so I haven't played around with it much, my first order of business will be to model up the two connectors that are found on either end and get them into Inventor.  But while I was doing that I figured I would post here to see if anyone has had to do something similar, and can help me cut down on my trial and error with finding the best way to do this.

What I was thinking was modelling each connector as its own .ipt.  Then I would make an assembly, that does not have them constrained to each other, and create a harness between them.  I would then make this assembly flexible in whatever assembly it was placed in, and constrain both of the connectors how I want them, and just have the cable update itself.   

But I can't see this working, as all the wire routings are defined in the harness assembly, so every time I tried using the same harness in a different setting with a different routing, it would change all instances of that harness assembly.  There is no way in the parent assembly to define wire routings etc AFAIK.