Inventor General Discussion

Reply
*Corbin, Brian
Message 31 of 49 (68 Views)

Re:

02-19-2003 06:45 AM in reply to: *Ltspd
 

SP2 Here,

 

Try opening the viewer the the publisher and
publish an autocad .DWG (I did a couple of MDT6 models) then publish an INV one.
It did not display the MDT6 model correct but this also seems to allow the INV6
function to work for me (sometimes)

 

Brian

 



style="PADDING-RIGHT: 0px; PADDING-LEFT: 5px; MARGIN-LEFT: 5px; BORDER-LEFT: #000000 2px solid; MARGIN-RIGHT: 0px">
Brian, you running Sp1 or 2?


--
Sean Dotson, PE

href="http://www.sdotson.com">http://www.sdotson.com

Check the Inventor
FAQ for most common questions

href="http://www.sdotson.com/faq.html">www.sdotson.com/faq.html

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------


style="PADDING-RIGHT: 0px; PADDING-LEFT: 5px; MARGIN-LEFT: 5px; BORDER-LEFT: #000000 2px solid; MARGIN-RIGHT: 0px">
If
I'm right I'll be 3 for 3 today with my guess work. What a day! B-)


I fear tomorrow. =8-O


MechMan

*Keller, Kent
Message 32 of 49 (68 Views)

Re:

02-19-2003 06:53 AM in reply to: *Ltspd
Brian

No help here. It does ok on the MDT file but still says 0 size on the Inventor one. The
only other thing I can think of besides SP1 vs SP2 is I still have R5.3 installed, and I
had the previous version of ModelPress installed.... but so did Rich.

--
Kent
Member of the Autodesk Discussion Forum Moderator Program


"Brian Corbin" wrote in message
news:6729550BCBD5A7D2C832CF2ACA8FFE13@in.WebX.maYIadrTaRb...
>
> SP2 Here,
>
> Try opening the viewer the the publisher and publish an autocad .DWG (I did a couple of
MDT6 models) then publish an INV one. It did not display the MDT6 model correct but this
also seems to allow the INV6 function to work for me (sometimes)
>
Distinguished Contributor
MechMan_
Posts: 2,037
Registered: ‎12-12-2003
Message 33 of 49 (68 Views)

Re:

02-19-2003 06:54 AM in reply to: *Ltspd
Now if we can just find someone still on SP1 to validate our theory that SP2 is causing the problem.

MechMan
Distinguished Contributor
rllthomas
Posts: 2,068
Registered: ‎12-10-2003
Message 34 of 49 (68 Views)

Re:

02-19-2003 09:12 AM in reply to: *Ltspd
I'm on SP2, don't have 5.3 installed. W2k, facing east with a pentagram of candles when I installed it. Burned incense too.
Distinguished Contributor
MechMan_
Posts: 2,037
Registered: ‎12-12-2003
Message 35 of 49 (68 Views)

Re:

02-19-2003 09:34 AM in reply to: *Ltspd
LOL!



MechMan
*Pawelski, Andrew
Message 36 of 49 (68 Views)

Re:

02-19-2003 08:30 PM in reply to: *Ltspd
Ok... just tried again today, didn't work. Then I
tried Brian's suggestion about having the viewer and publisher both open,
presto, it works. Close the viewer and it's back to 0Kb files. I have IV6 SP2
installed, but I tried publishing both newer and older parts and had success on
all of them.

 

Andrew

 


style="PADDING-RIGHT: 0px; PADDING-LEFT: 5px; MARGIN-LEFT: 5px; BORDER-LEFT: #000000 2px solid; MARGIN-RIGHT: 0px">
Now
if we can just find someone still on SP1 to validate our theory that SP2 is
causing the problem.

MechMan
*Dotson, Sean
Message 37 of 49 (68 Views)

Re:

02-19-2003 09:40 PM in reply to: *Ltspd
The plot thickens. I got this reply from Dennis today...However it does not
seem to jive with what we have found. I relayed this info back to him and
hope to her back soon.

ModelPress is not compatible with Inventor directly.
This is because Inventor and Design Tracking while they have the same name
application dlls and appear to share a lot of these Application dlls. The
dlls are in fact not the same, they are very different. With Inventor 5.3
and Design Tracking 5.3 and now with 6.0 of both, AutoDesk altered the dlls
in Inventor. As a result we were no longer able to use the same API's for
Inventor support if you have Inventor installed or just use the Design
Tracking. With the differences in the AutoDesk Inventor and Design Tracking
APIs, Engineering went with using Design Tracking to support the Rendering
of the Inventor files. ModelPress uses Design Tracking to render the files
to ISF because, why purchase a copy of Inventor if you just want to publish
the Inventor files to ISF. (Extra user cost $$$$ or FREE or $$$$$! we went
with FREE)
As AutoDesk Inventor Design Tracking will not install on the same system
that Inventor is on you will need to install ModelPress Publisher and Design
Tracking onto a system that does not have Inventor installed onto it in
order to publish Inventor Files to ISF.
Respectfully,
Dennis Horne
Technical Engineer (Support Department)
Informative Graphics Corp.
dennish@infograph.com
(602) 971-6061 Ext 141
http://www.infograph.com/support

--
Sean Dotson, PE
http://www.sdotson.com
Check the Inventor FAQ for most common questions
www.sdotson.com/faq.html
----------------------------------------------------------------------------
------
"Andrew Pawelski" wrote in
message news:1F9168420B0E98153D0A497118CEFBEE@in.WebX.maYIadrTaRb...
Ok... just tried again today, didn't work. Then I tried Brian's suggestion
about having the viewer and publisher both open, presto, it works. Close the
viewer and it's back to 0Kb files. I have IV6 SP2 installed, but I tried
publishing both newer and older parts and had success on all of them.

Andrew

"MechMan" wrote in message news:f144bef.31@WebX.maYIadrTaRb...
Now if we can just find someone still on SP1 to validate our theory that SP2
is causing the problem.

MechMan
*Pawelski, Andrew
Message 38 of 49 (68 Views)

Re:

02-19-2003 09:43 PM in reply to: *Ltspd
Interesting... so mine is not supposed to
work but does. I love it when that happens, it's usually the other way around
:smileyhappy:
Distinguished Contributor
MechMan_
Posts: 2,037
Registered: ‎12-12-2003
Message 39 of 49 (68 Views)

Re:

02-19-2003 10:42 PM in reply to: *Ltspd
Based on what Dennis said it's odd that it's working on this computer. I forgot to mention that I also have R5.3 installed so maybe that's the difference? Here's a recap...



Win2k SP2

IV R5.3 SP2

IV R6 SP1

Installed ModelPress Publisher for IV R6 and converted parts and assemblies with no problems.



MechMan
*Dotson, Sean
Message 40 of 49 (68 Views)

Re:

02-19-2003 11:55 PM in reply to: *Ltspd
OK here's the final word from Dennis... doesn't
look good.. :smileysad:

 

So I guess the bottom line is if it works for you, you are one of the lucky
ones.

 

Quote from Dennis:


"The Head of 3D Engineering in our conversation about this yesterday said
that yes in some cases ModelPress will kind of work with Inventor 5.2 and 6.0 at
some service pack levels however, our engineers have spent much time working
with the AutoDesk Inventor Engineering team. The facts are that the
application's support files and APIs between Inventor and Design Tracking are
vastly different."


"Engineering has spent countless hours attempting to find solutions to the
differences in the API's. As the applications (Inventor and Design Tracking)
dlls have the same names and the APIs are so different they determined it would
not be possible. While Engineer did not add code that prevent ModelPress from
using Inventor, the possibility that the ISF file is accurately created even if
ModelPress does output the ISF file would be highly questionable. In the
hundreds of thousands of tests conducted by our Engineers they found too many
unacceptable problems with the ISF file created with using Inventor 5.3 and 6.0
as the support application for the translation of the Inventor files to
ISF."



--
Sean Dotson, PE

href="http://www.sdotson.com">http://www.sdotson.com

Check the Inventor
FAQ for most common questions

href="http://www.sdotson.com/faq.html">www.sdotson.com/faq.html

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------



style="PADDING-RIGHT: 0px; PADDING-LEFT: 5px; MARGIN-LEFT: 5px; BORDER-LEFT: #000000 2px solid; MARGIN-RIGHT: 0px">
Based
on what Dennis said it's odd that it's working on this computer. I forgot to
mention that I also have R5.3 installed so maybe that's the difference? Here's
a recap...


Win2k SP2
IV R5.3 SP2
IV R6 SP1
Installed ModelPress Publisher for
IV R6 and converted parts and assemblies with no problems.


MechMan

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.