Inventor General Discussion

Inventor General Discussion

Reply
Contributor
crash_dummy
Posts: 18
Registered: ‎03-12-2013
Message 1 of 3 (133 Views)
Accepted Solution

Missing surface in solid

133 Views, 2 Replies
12-05-2013 10:58 AM

I have a scanned model of a casting.  It was necessary to delete surfaces to remove the casting flash from the model.

 

I have lofted/patched/stitched the missing surfaces to close the solid.  Apparently there is a gap somewhere because the model remains as a surface instead of returning to a solid.

 

HOW CAN MISSING SURFACES BE FOUND IN THE MODEL?

 

WHAT ELSE CAN PREVENT THE MODEL FROM RETURNING TO A SOLID?

 

When stitching, the gap tolerance was set to .002".  The model will "rebuild" without any error messages.

*Expert Elite*
JDMather
Posts: 26,620
Registered: ‎04-20-2006
Message 2 of 3 (122 Views)

Re: Missing surface in solid

12-05-2013 12:04 PM in reply to: crash_dummy

Can you zip and attach the file here?

 

If you go to the Construction Environment (or I assume the Repair Environment) Inventor can show you where the gaps are.

Please mark this response as "Accept as Solution" if it answers your question.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Autodesk Inventor 2014 Certified Professional
Autodesk AutoCAD 2013 Certified Professional
Certified SolidWorks Professional
Inventor Professional 2015 64-bit
http://www.autodesk.com/edcommunity
http://home.pct.edu/~jmather/content/DSG322/inventor_surface_tutorials.htm
Contributor
crash_dummy
Posts: 18
Registered: ‎03-12-2013
Message 3 of 3 (91 Views)

Re: Missing surface in solid

12-06-2013 05:04 AM in reply to: crash_dummy

Thanks for the information.  A quick review indicates this will do what I need.  I will try it out.

 

Thanks again.

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.