Inventor General Discussion

Inventor General Discussion

Reply
Distinguished Contributor
gcross
Posts: 194
Registered: ‎01-11-2001
Message 1 of 6 (447 Views)

Missing parts in IPN file-2012 Bug ?

447 Views, 5 Replies
03-13-2012 09:34 PM

A couple parts that I moved from one subasy to another in an IAM are not showing in the associated IPN browser at all. Yet they are visible in the edit window & look as if they have tweaks applied.  I can click on & highlight them but there is no sign of them in the browser at all.

The parts are definitely in the browser of the IAM file though.

 Is this a known bug?

Gary

Product Design Suite Ultimate 2014
Employee
csaba.stupak
Posts: 48
Registered: ‎12-08-2006
Message 2 of 6 (443 Views)

Re: Missing parts in IPN file-2012 Bug ?

03-14-2012 01:28 AM in reply to: gcross

Could you reproduce this issue on a simplified dataset? Can you attach the simplified or the original dataset for more investigation?

 

Thanks,

Csaba

Distinguished Contributor
gcross
Posts: 194
Registered: ‎01-11-2001
Message 3 of 6 (425 Views)

Re: Missing parts in IPN file-2012 Bug ?

03-15-2012 07:14 PM in reply to: csaba.stupak

Csaba,

I don't know how to duplicate the problem not knowing what causes it.

The zipped original files are 7 MB. Where can I upload the data set for you? I would prefer not to make it public.

 

Thanks.

 

Gary

Product Design Suite Ultimate 2014
Employee
stanislav.sedlak
Posts: 19
Registered: ‎12-08-2011
Message 4 of 6 (405 Views)

Re: Missing parts in IPN file-2012 Bug ?

03-21-2012 07:20 AM in reply to: gcross

Hi Gary,

I'm Stanislav and I known about this problem from Csaba.

So please send me this zipped file to my e-mail stanislav.sedlak@autodesk.com, I will take a look at this.

 

Regards,

Stanislav

Contributor
TomAllen
Posts: 22
Registered: ‎04-21-2008
Message 5 of 6 (340 Views)

Re: Missing parts in IPN file-2012 Bug ?

01-14-2013 11:46 AM in reply to: gcross

Inventor 2013

 

I know this thread is not current, but it is exactly the issue Im trying to address.

 

I have a large assembly that I do not want to "re-create" the .ipn/ .idw

 

It does not happen normally, but  has more than once.

 

After copying the design of a given assembly, I have replaced one assembly with 3 smaller sub assemblies in the .iam.

 

My procedure is as follows:

 

Locate sub-assembly in Browser/ Expand/ Highlight all 3 components within the assembly.

Drag them up in the hierarchy(No to check out) delete the original assembly without changes.

Replaced component on each of the 3 (sub) assemblies with desired (smaller) assemblies.

Sort Browser

update Bill of Materials

save.

 

Open .ipn

The assemblies that were modified highlight properly in the window but do not exist in the assembly browser

and there are idividual parts from those "modified" assemblies that appear to have been orphaned by the tweaks.

 

Ive had assemblies go awry in the .ipn before after replacing components or similar, but I can usually delete the problematic tweaks and recreate them without having to delete the original .ipn and re-create the entire drawing(s).

 

The modified assemblies are moved as if there are tweaks applied but if you switch the browser to tweak view and hover over the indivdual tweaks, no tweak exist for the modifed assemblies either.

 

Our only option has been to delete the original .ipn / .idw and re-create them. (undesirable)

 

Is there some way to refresh the browser?

Has my procedure created the issue?

 

Any thoughts are appreciated.

 

 

Thanks!

 

Windows 7 Pro SP1 (x64)

Intel I7 CPU

12GB ram

ATI FirePro V5800

 

IV 2013 SP1.1

Autocadd Mechanical 2013 SP1

Vault Basic 2013 SP1

 

 

*Expert Elite*
-niels-
Posts: 1,537
Registered: ‎06-20-2006
Message 6 of 6 (307 Views)

Re: Missing parts in IPN file-2012 Bug ?

01-14-2013 11:19 PM in reply to: TomAllen

Just adding a link to my topic about what i think is the same problem.

http://forums.autodesk.com/t5/Autodesk-Inventor/Unable-to-expand-assembly-in-presentation-ipn/m-p/37...

 

Didn't know this older topic existed, but hope this problem will get some more attention and maybe a solution.


Using IV2014 Pro SP2 - upd.1, Win7-64bit
Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.