Inventor General Discussion

Inventor General Discussion

Reply
Active Contributor
33 Posts
1 Kudo
Registered: ‎12-03-2013
Post 1 of 8
Accepted Solution

Mirrored Part

315 Views, 7 Replies
12-03-2013 01:50 PM

Why when I mirror a part in an assembly the mirrored part gets a new part number? I want to mirror only the position of the part which is always the same part. Is it possible to do that in Inventor?

Thanks

Hi zetex,

 

Assembly Mirror command works in two modes.

The first mode we call "True Mirror" and is represented by GREEN icon in mirror dialog box. In this case, selected component is mirrored using derive mechanism to create completely new part and instrance of this new part is placed at target position.

The second mode is called "Reuse" and is represnted by yellow icon. In this case, we only place new instance of selected component and the command is trying to define target poistion and orientation so the new instance will look like mirrored.

 

Both these modes remain source component unchanged, so it is not moved or removed.

 

Robert

 

Mirr1.png

*Expert Elite*
28,660 Posts
2,129 Kudos
Registered: ‎04-20-2006
Post 2 of 8

Re: Mirrored Part

12-03-2013 02:26 PM in reply to: zetex
What options do you have selected?
Please mark this response as "Accept as Solution" if it answers your question.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Autodesk Inventor 2015 Certified Professional
Autodesk AutoCAD 2013 Certified Professional
Certified SolidWorks Professional
Inventor Professional 2015-SP1 64-bit
http://www.autodesk.com/edcommunity
http://home.pct.edu/~jmather/content/DSG322/inventor_surface_tutorials.htm
Active Contributor
33 Posts
1 Kudo
Registered: ‎12-03-2013
Post 3 of 8

Re: Mirrored Part

12-03-2013 02:29 PM in reply to: JDMather
Under Assemble ribbon "Mirror" command
*Expert Elite*
28,660 Posts
2,129 Kudos
Registered: ‎04-20-2006
Post 4 of 8

Re: Mirrored Part

12-03-2013 03:24 PM in reply to: zetex
That is the command you used - not the options of the command.
I am not at an Inventor computer right now, but start the command and experiment with the various options.
Also I recommend goingthrough the tutorials and check the help system.
Please mark this response as "Accept as Solution" if it answers your question.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Autodesk Inventor 2015 Certified Professional
Autodesk AutoCAD 2013 Certified Professional
Certified SolidWorks Professional
Inventor Professional 2015-SP1 64-bit
http://www.autodesk.com/edcommunity
http://home.pct.edu/~jmather/content/DSG322/inventor_surface_tutorials.htm
Employee
53 Posts
6 Kudos
Registered: ‎08-15-2011
Post 5 of 8

Re: Mirrored Part

12-18-2013 05:46 AM in reply to: zetex

Hi zetex,

 

Assembly Mirror command works in two modes.

The first mode we call "True Mirror" and is represented by GREEN icon in mirror dialog box. In this case, selected component is mirrored using derive mechanism to create completely new part and instrance of this new part is placed at target position.

The second mode is called "Reuse" and is represnted by yellow icon. In this case, we only place new instance of selected component and the command is trying to define target poistion and orientation so the new instance will look like mirrored.

 

Both these modes remain source component unchanged, so it is not moved or removed.

 

Robert

 

Mirr1.png

Active Contributor
33 Posts
1 Kudo
Registered: ‎12-03-2013
Post 6 of 8

Re: Mirrored Part

12-18-2013 10:44 AM in reply to: t_stramr

Thanks Robert, that was doing great!:smileyhappy:

Active Contributor
33 Posts
1 Kudo
Registered: ‎12-03-2013
Post 7 of 8

Re: Mirrored Part

12-19-2013 01:54 PM in reply to: zetex

There is a problem with that solution: the mirrored parts keeping the origin part number are not constrained at all, so I have to constrain them one by one....:smileyfrustrated:

 

Employee
53 Posts
6 Kudos
Registered: ‎08-15-2011
Post 8 of 8

Re: Mirrored Part

01-07-2014 12:34 AM in reply to: zetex
Can you post simplified version(ZIP file) of your dataset so I can try it on my machine?

Robert
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Are you interested in helping shape the future of the Autodesk Community? To participate in this brief usability study, please click here. Your time and input is greatly appreciated!