Inventor General Discussion

Inventor General Discussion

Reply
Member
sweeneym
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎12-21-2009
Message 1 of 7 (186 Views)

Minimum dimensions needed

186 Views, 6 Replies
04-03-2012 12:57 PM

All of the sudden after I sketch a rectangle i need 8 dimensions instead of 4.  how do I get it back to only needing 4?

Valued Contributor
schae235
Posts: 60
Registered: ‎05-24-2011
Message 2 of 7 (182 Views)

Re: Minimum dimensions needed

04-03-2012 01:03 PM in reply to: sweeneym

I'm only guessing here but I think you had one of the end points constrained to the origin. 

 

You can easily add a coincident constraint on one of the corners

 

OR as I prefer add horizontal and vertical constraints to the center marks of the lines of the rectangles.

INV 2012 SP1
Windows 7 64 Bit
ATI FirePro V5800
14.0 GB RAM
Member
sweeneym
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎12-21-2009
Message 3 of 7 (170 Views)

Re: Minimum dimensions needed

04-03-2012 01:10 PM in reply to: schae235

No I always draw teh rectangles like this then add 4 dimensions the horizontal and vertical overall lengths then distacnce to center. Now it wants me to constrain the 2 vertical and 2 horizontal lines. as well as dimensioning the lines.

Active Contributor
Accudyne1
Posts: 30
Registered: ‎11-19-2008
Message 4 of 7 (167 Views)

Re: Minimum dimensions needed

04-03-2012 01:13 PM in reply to: sweeneym

Did these get turned off?

 

Tonyimage.jpg

Member
sweeneym
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎12-21-2009
Message 5 of 7 (144 Views)

Re: Minimum dimensions needed

04-03-2012 01:28 PM in reply to: Accudyne1

Accudyne1, I couldn't reall read your screen shot here but with me switching back and forth from classic to ribbon interface style the problem was fixed.

Active Contributor
Accudyne1
Posts: 30
Registered: ‎11-19-2008
Message 6 of 7 (140 Views)

Re: Minimum dimensions needed

04-03-2012 01:29 PM in reply to: sweeneym

The actual image was attached also, but glad you fixed it.  I am guessing it was constraint inference/persistence.  They must have gotten toggled off at some point.

 

Tony

Member
sweeneym
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎12-21-2009
Message 7 of 7 (128 Views)

Re: Minimum dimensions needed

04-03-2012 01:32 PM in reply to: sweeneym

Thanks

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Are You Going To Be @ AU 2014? Feel free to drop by our AU topic post and share your plans, plug a class that you're teaching, or simply check out who else from the community might be in attendance. Ohh and don't forgot to stop by the Autodesk Help | Learn | Collaborate booths in the Exhibit Hall and meet our community team if you get a chance!