Inventor General Discussion

Reply
*Expert Elite*
JDMather
Posts: 26,879
Registered: ‎04-20-2006
Message 1 of 12 (2,815 Views)

Midpoint Line Command?

2815 Views, 11 Replies
09-23-2010 07:20 AM

Anyone see a need for a midpoint line command, that is, start the command click desired location for midpoint and then select desired location for an endpoint and second endpoint is equal distance.

 

I find myself adding coincident constraints to midpoints of lines all of the time - so now I sketch out in space and then constrain.

 

(Did I explain this well enough?)  Picture is of current workflow, not the desired workflow.

Please mark this response as "Accept as Solution" if it answers your question.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Autodesk Inventor 2014 Certified Professional
Autodesk AutoCAD 2013 Certified Professional
Certified SolidWorks Professional
Inventor Professional 2015 64-bit
http://www.autodesk.com/edcommunity
http://home.pct.edu/~jmather/content/DSG322/inventor_surface_tutorials.htm
Mentor
MikahB
Posts: 207
Registered: ‎10-11-2009
Message 2 of 12 (2,804 Views)

Re: Midpoint Line Command?

09-23-2010 07:36 AM in reply to: JDMather

I use this same workflow all the time - enough that I often get annoyed trying to hit the sweet spot to find the midpoint after I draw the line initially (especially if it's long).  A Midpoint line would be very useful for me.

Mikah Barnett
All Angles Design
Product Design Suite Ultimate 2014
Windows 7 Professional x64
Intel i7-3770k @ 4.5GHz
32GB DDR3-2400 RAM
GeForce GTX 670 4GB
Contributor
eric.small
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎07-17-2008
Message 3 of 12 (2,795 Views)

Re: Midpoint Line Command?

09-23-2010 08:03 AM in reply to: JDMather

Oh yes, mid point line would be a sweet addition to the tool box.:smileyvery-happy:

Eric Small
Autodesk Inventor Professional
Mechanical Designer
Professional Consultants Inc.
Evansville, IN
Distinguished Mentor
ccarreiras
Posts: 874
Registered: ‎02-04-2010
Message 4 of 12 (2,777 Views)

Re: Midpoint Line Command?

09-23-2010 08:27 AM in reply to: eric.small

Shure, yes.

Regards.
CarlosC

Autodesk Inventor 2014 Certified Professional
Autodesk Factory Design Suite Ultimate 2015
Windows 7 64Bit
Distinguished Mentor
john.retzlaff
Posts: 923
Registered: ‎11-03-2003
Message 5 of 12 (2,767 Views)

Re: Midpoint Line Command?

09-23-2010 08:35 AM in reply to: JDMather

I could see that being handy at times.

John Retzlaff
*Expert Elite*
jtylerbc
Posts: 880
Registered: ‎09-01-2010
Message 6 of 12 (2,764 Views)

Re: Midpoint Line Command?

09-23-2010 08:39 AM in reply to: JDMather

Yes, I definitely see a use for this.  I used the "draw in space, then constrain" workaround at least 6 times just yesterday.  Would love having a more efficient way of doing it.

John Tyler
Inventor 2015
Windows 7 64 Bit
*Pro
sbixler
Posts: 1,896
Registered: ‎09-15-2003
Message 7 of 12 (2,738 Views)

Re: Midpoint Line Command?

09-23-2010 09:37 AM in reply to: JDMather

Yes- I would put this on a keyboard alias and use it frequently

Contributor
jfleeger
Posts: 17
Registered: ‎09-24-2008
Message 8 of 12 (2,695 Views)

Re: Midpoint Line Command?

09-23-2010 11:12 AM in reply to: JDMather

I would use it everyday!

Distinguished Contributor
acad-caveman
Posts: 165
Registered: ‎08-21-2009
Message 9 of 12 (2,672 Views)

Re: Midpoint Line Command?

09-23-2010 11:59 AM in reply to: JDMather

Great idea.

Short of that implementation tough, I think a similarly good solution would be an automatic constraint creation using grip-snap-drag.

That is draw the line ( or arc or circle or whatever ) click on it to get the grips (ACAD like ), grab the grip of your choice and drag it

to wherever you want it and create an immediate coincident constraint ( or not if you choose to be holding the shift key )

 

Alternately, a line always has 2 endpoints and a midpoint. A circle always has a center and 4 quadrant points.

Just like a line, an arc always has 2 end and 1 midpoint. Like a circle, an ellipse always has center and quadrant points.

So, the question is:

If we can drag a line by hovering near it's end and grab it's enpoint, then drag it to another point and automatically create

a coincident constraint, then why the heck can we not do the same with it's midpoint or any other "guaranteed to always exist" point of any other entity?

 

I know Inventor isn't the all hated Autocad, and I know AutoCAD can't do this parametrically, but it CAN do this kind of

moves with absolute ease. It's only a small step from there to make it parametric capable.

*Expert Elite*
JDMather
Posts: 26,879
Registered: ‎04-20-2006
Message 10 of 12 (2,657 Views)

Re: Midpoint Line Command?

09-23-2010 12:18 PM in reply to: acad-caveman

acad-caveman wrote:

If we can drag a line by hovering near it's end and grab it's enpoint, then drag it to another point and automatically create

a coincident constraint, then why the heck can we not do the same with it's midpoint or any other "guaranteed to always exist" point of any other entity?

 


 

Your right.  It might be a little harder to find a midpoint and drag than it is to find an endpoint and drag, but it looks like it should be doable.  I want to shoot any holes in my proposal if there are any.  The one problem I see with the click and drag method is if during other sketching Inventor is constantly trying to highlight midpoints - I hate when they added this to idw dimensioning.

 

I like the SolidWorks method - Ctlr click the line and point and add midpoint relation (constraint), but I think the midpoint line would be one up on SWx functionality as they don't have it either (2010).

 

Please mark this response as "Accept as Solution" if it answers your question.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Autodesk Inventor 2014 Certified Professional
Autodesk AutoCAD 2013 Certified Professional
Certified SolidWorks Professional
Inventor Professional 2015 64-bit
http://www.autodesk.com/edcommunity
http://home.pct.edu/~jmather/content/DSG322/inventor_surface_tutorials.htm
Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.