Inventor General Discussion

Inventor General Discussion

Reply
Active Contributor
eucci
Posts: 45
Registered: ‎05-28-2009
Message 1 of 3 (210 Views)

Microstation 3D model to Inventor workflow

210 Views, 2 Replies
01-30-2014 08:14 AM

If anyone has some insight/experience with converting 3d models from Microstation for use in Inventor I'd appreciate any help I can get.

I'm working on a portion of a large civil job (subway station) that was modeled in microstataion. So far, they sent me a massive .iges file that I can import into inventor. Unfortunately, the solid objects are deformed and dimensionally innacurate after the conversion. Does anyone know what the best filetype is for this sort of conversion? My understanding is that I should ask for parasolids (binary .x_b or text .x_t). Is there a preference with binary compared to text?

 

So far we're speaking different languages and not making any progress.

Any help would be appreciated.

 

thanks 

*Expert Elite*
JDMather
Posts: 28,007
Registered: ‎04-20-2006
Message 2 of 3 (203 Views)

Re: Microstation 3D model to Inventor workflow

01-30-2014 08:45 AM in reply to: eucci

When opening the IGES be sure to select Options and turn off any healing/quality check/autostitching as this might change the geometry.

 

I thing the only thing different with the Parasolid is human readable text code or not (and of course file size).  I would opt for the binary.

Please mark this response as "Accept as Solution" if it answers your question.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Autodesk Inventor 2014 Certified Professional
Autodesk AutoCAD 2013 Certified Professional
Certified SolidWorks Professional
Inventor Professional 2015-SP1 64-bit
http://www.autodesk.com/edcommunity
http://home.pct.edu/~jmather/content/DSG322/inventor_surface_tutorials.htm
*Expert Elite*
mcgyvr
Posts: 7,160
Registered: ‎12-01-2004
Message 3 of 3 (185 Views)

Re: Microstation 3D model to Inventor workflow

01-30-2014 10:26 AM in reply to: JDMather

I use STEP (stp) as my neutral 3d format of choice instead of IGES.. I've had problems with iges in the past..Switched to STEP and never looked back..

Did you find this reply helpful ? If so please use the Accept as Solution or Kudos button below.

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
2015 Product Design Suite Ultimate
Windows 7 64 bit
Core i7 4820k processor (OC'd to 4.4Ghz), Nvidia GTX 770, 16G RAM


Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Are You Going To Be @ AU 2014? Feel free to drop by our AU topic post and share your plans, plug a class that you're teaching, or simply check out who else from the community might be in attendance. Ohh and don't forgot to stop by the Autodesk Help | Learn | Collaborate booths in the Exhibit Hall and meet our community team if you get a chance!