Community
Inventor Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Inventor Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Inventor topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Merge 2 Parts Together

15 REPLIES 15
SOLVED
Message 1 of 16
wilson12
69458 Views, 15 Replies

Merge 2 Parts Together

I have 2 different parts that I created as separate ipt files. I then bring them into an assembly and place them how I want, but they have overlapping material. Is it possible to turn these 2 parts into one part? If yes, how? Please keep it relatively simple if possible, im not an expert with Inventor.

Thank You!

Tags (1)
15 REPLIES 15
Message 2 of 16

Hi wilson12,

Do you need to be able to modify the parts independantly, or is it okay if you loose some of the sketches and inputs?

I hope this helps.
Best of luck to you in all of your Inventor pursuits,
Curtis
http://inventortrenches.blogspot.com

Message 3 of 16

Thanks for the quick reply! Well the part is actually 4 parts that form a sort of rectangle. Both opposite sides are the same part. The trouble I'm having is the corners where they meet overlap. Therefore, on the mechanical drawings, a line is visible where there is an overlap. So, I think it is okay if i loose the sketches, I don;t believe I'll have to do much more modifying of the parts, and if I do I can just make new sketches.

Thanks!

Message 4 of 16

Hi wilson12,

Here is one method:

• Open your assembly file with both parts constrained in the orientation that you want them to be together.
  • Then edit one part from within the assembly (rather than opening it up independently).
  •   Then use the Copy Object tool to copy the other part into the part your editing, choose to bring it in as a new solid body.
  • And then finally, use the Combine tool to merge the two solids together in the part file you're editing.

The result will be that the copied part will be a dumb solid in your edited part file.