Inventor General Discussion

Inventor General Discussion

Reply
Distinguished Contributor
134 Posts
7 Kudos
Registered: ‎04-27-2010
Post 1 of 23

Measuring Volume...

3909 Views, 22 Replies
06-24-2011 11:45 AM

Is there a way to measure the volume/empty space within an assembly?

 

Example:  I have a tank with a transformer assembly inside of it, need to know how much oil is required to fill the unit.

 

I can calculate it but you would think that 2012 Professional would have a tool for this.

 

Thanks. :smileyhappy:

*Expert Elite*
620 Posts
147 Kudos
Registered: ‎01-19-2009
Post 2 of 23

Re: Measuring Volume...

06-24-2011 12:01 PM in reply to: KF090

I dont think ther is a simple way of doing this.

Look at the following skill builder:

http://usa.autodesk.com/adsk/servlet/item?siteID=123112&id=15060075&linkID=9242016

 

Regards,

Dan

 

Distinguished Contributor
134 Posts
7 Kudos
Registered: ‎04-27-2010
Post 3 of 23

Re: Measuring Volume...

06-24-2011 01:14 PM in reply to: Dan.M

Thanks for the link, I'll have to look at it next week since it seems to require some time to sit and pay attention.

Employee
2,375 Posts
196 Kudos
Registered: ‎04-30-2008
Post 4 of 23

Re: Measuring Volume...

06-24-2011 02:13 PM in reply to: KF090

Hi! To further simplify the workflow, you can do the following.

 

The video shows that you need to delete outer faces one by one. It can be a bit tedious if there are many faces. I assume the solid you try to measure the void volume has a shell feature or the body has been hollowed somehow. You just need to find the opening. Then delete the opening face. Now in theory, you will have two lumps (one for inner faces and the other for outer faces). Use Delete Face command -> select Lump selection mode -> pick the outer lump. Now you will have the inner lump to deal with.

This workflow will help speed up the face selection process.

Thanks!

 



Johnson Shiue (johnson.shiue@autodesk.com)
Senior Principal SQA Engineer, Inventor
Mechanical Design
Autodesk, Inc.

*Expert Elite*
28,675 Posts
2,132 Kudos
Registered: ‎04-20-2006
Post 5 of 23

Re: Measuring Volume...

06-24-2011 02:20 PM in reply to: KF090

I suspect a technique as simple as Derived Component as Composite Surface Body, patch the openings (Boundary Patch) and Sculpt will give you the internal void volume.  Attach your assembly here if you can't figure it out.

Please mark this response as "Accept as Solution" if it answers your question.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Autodesk Inventor 2015 Certified Professional
Autodesk AutoCAD 2013 Certified Professional
Certified SolidWorks Professional
Inventor Professional 2015-SP1 64-bit
http://www.autodesk.com/edcommunity
http://home.pct.edu/~jmather/content/DSG322/inventor_surface_tutorials.htm
Valued Contributor
77 Posts
7 Kudos
Registered: ‎12-05-2006
Post 6 of 23

Re: Measuring Volume...

06-28-2011 05:41 AM in reply to: KF090

It would be nice if the Sculpt command would allow you to use the part faces as boundaries for the "New Solid" option without having to copy the faces as surfaces.  If capping a hole with a plane will allow sculpt to fill the hole it should easily be able to allow that volume to be a new solid.  I know for me it would save so much time on setting up for CFD, but would also be great for filling voids with potting or such.

Michael Benoy
Designer
Scott Safety

Inventor 2013 Pro, Windows 7, 64bit
Intel® Xeon® Processor W3580 (8M Cache, 3.33 GHz)
12 GB DDR3, NVIDIA Quadro FX 3800
Valued Contributor
90 Posts
1 Kudo
Registered: ‎01-26-2011
Post 7 of 23

Re: Measuring Volume...

08-23-2011 07:57 AM in reply to: KF090

A somewhat messy solution I have come up with is to create an assembly component by using an extrusion from the top to the bottom of the outermost shell.  Then I derive a part, and subtract all the interior components from the new extrusion solid.  The shell geometry that I work with is typically fairly simple to use this solution with- it certainly has limitations, but usually works for my current product concerns.

 

I do wish that there was a straightforward method of doing this more accurately.

INV Professional 2015 (Build: 159, Release: 2015RTM), Windows 7 Professional (64-bit), SP1, Intel Xeon 3.07GHz CPU, 12GB RAM, NVIDIA Quadro 2000, Vault Basic 2015
*Expert Elite*
28,675 Posts
2,132 Kudos
Registered: ‎04-20-2006
Post 8 of 23

Re: Measuring Volume...

08-23-2011 09:45 AM in reply to: bcrowell

bcrowell wrote:

 

I do wish that there was a straightforward method of doing this more accurately.


I think it is trivially simple - I must be missing something - attach your assembly here.

Please mark this response as "Accept as Solution" if it answers your question.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Autodesk Inventor 2015 Certified Professional
Autodesk AutoCAD 2013 Certified Professional
Certified SolidWorks Professional
Inventor Professional 2015-SP1 64-bit
http://www.autodesk.com/edcommunity
http://home.pct.edu/~jmather/content/DSG322/inventor_surface_tutorials.htm
Valued Contributor
90 Posts
1 Kudo
Registered: ‎01-26-2011
Post 9 of 23

Re: Measuring Volume...

08-24-2011 04:38 AM in reply to: JDMather

I need to calculate the volume inside this shell, minus all of the components inside of it.  There doesn't seem to be a straightforward, accurate method of doing that.

INV Professional 2015 (Build: 159, Release: 2015RTM), Windows 7 Professional (64-bit), SP1, Intel Xeon 3.07GHz CPU, 12GB RAM, NVIDIA Quadro 2000, Vault Basic 2015
*Expert Elite*
28,675 Posts
2,132 Kudos
Registered: ‎04-20-2006
Post 10 of 23

Re: Measuring Volume...

08-24-2011 04:40 AM in reply to: bcrowell

I am not familiar with calculationg mass properties from image files.  I was referring to attaching an Inventor assembly.

Please mark this response as "Accept as Solution" if it answers your question.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Autodesk Inventor 2015 Certified Professional
Autodesk AutoCAD 2013 Certified Professional
Certified SolidWorks Professional
Inventor Professional 2015-SP1 64-bit
http://www.autodesk.com/edcommunity
http://home.pct.edu/~jmather/content/DSG322/inventor_surface_tutorials.htm
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Are you interested in helping shape the future of the Autodesk Community? To participate in this brief usability study, please click here. Your time and input is greatly appreciated!