Inventor General Discussion

Reply
Distinguished Contributor
koehler
Posts: 406
Registered: ‎11-24-2003
Message 1 of 6 (48 Views)

measuring hole cntr to cntr

48 Views, 5 Replies
11-14-2002 12:49 AM
I am having trouble measuring hole center to hole center.
When I use the measuring tool and click hole it measures the hole. The measuring tools are lousy. I am using Inventor 5 and probably will be for a long while. Does anyone know how to measure center to center?
Thanks -Bill
*KJohnson
Message 2 of 6 (48 Views)

Re: measuring hole cntr to cntr

11-14-2002 12:50 AM in reply to: koehler
You need to RMB and select other to get the point
or axis.  But the first is the diameter of the hole.

 

Kathy Johnson


style="PADDING-RIGHT: 0px; PADDING-LEFT: 5px; MARGIN-LEFT: 5px; BORDER-LEFT: #000000 2px solid; MARGIN-RIGHT: 0px">
I
am having trouble measuring hole center to hole center.
When I use the
measuring tool and click hole it measures the hole. The measuring tools are
lousy. I am using Inventor 5 and probably will be for a long while. Does
anyone know how to measure center to center?
Thanks
-Bill
Distinguished Contributor
koehler
Posts: 406
Registered: ‎11-24-2003
Message 3 of 6 (48 Views)

Re:

11-14-2002 12:54 AM in reply to: koehler
Thanks, I feel I should have known that by now.
Distinguished Contributor
JohnPonikvar
Posts: 108
Registered: ‎11-18-2003
Message 4 of 6 (48 Views)

Re:

11-14-2002 10:02 AM in reply to: koehler
Same here. Took me a while to get the hang of it. Confounded thing has smarts built into it and adjusts the readout to what it is your measuring. Knowing how to use it now, I find it quite good.


JP
*Maenpaa, Mike
Message 5 of 6 (48 Views)

Re:

11-14-2002 10:22 PM in reply to: koehler
What I usually do, when I don't feel like scrolling thought
the Select Other thing, is to pick corner of the part to get a point reference,
then when I select a circular edge it automatically uses the center point of the
arc.

Mike

 


style="PADDING-RIGHT: 0px; PADDING-LEFT: 5px; MARGIN-LEFT: 5px; BORDER-LEFT: #000000 2px solid; MARGIN-RIGHT: 0px">
Same
here. Took me a while to get the hang of it. Confounded thing has smarts built
into it and adjusts the readout to what it is your measuring. Knowing how to
use it now, I find it quite good.

JP
Distinguished Contributor
JohnPonikvar
Posts: 108
Registered: ‎11-18-2003
Message 6 of 6 (48 Views)

Re:

11-15-2002 05:36 AM in reply to: koehler
Yup,

That's just what I mean (priming the measure tool by preselecting an edge or point).

It's not what you got, but how you use it.


jp
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.