Inventor General Discussion

Inventor General Discussion

Reply
Mentor
tuliobarata
Posts: 164
Registered: ‎11-30-2007
Message 1 of 3 (220 Views)

Mass properties recalculated when use feature in the IAM

220 Views, 2 Replies
11-21-2013 05:46 AM

Good morning all,

 

I have a situation here that brought me some trouble when I realized it, and just see it now.. after some projects finalized.

 

To get net weight of my parts i have one template that uses the volume x density and to get the gross weight I use the real dimensions of the item (a rectangular plate  without any cutting, e.g.) and then calculate x density, this way i can get both weights, and how in the most of times I need the gross, I overwrite the MASS PROPERTIES of each part with my gross weight. It works fine because all the assemblies sum the MASS of each part (that is overwrited by the gross weight).

 

Now my problem:

In many cases when I need to use the same part many times with just a few of differents details, instead of copy the part and change it, I use the same part, and in the IAM I use one feature to make this part different (like a chamfer, small extrudes or even holes). But now I realized when I do this (feature in the IAM), it doesnt sum all the MASS properties of each individual part anymore ... it recalculate all the mass with the new IAM volume (with all the features)...so, in my BOM I got all the parts with the correct gross weight, but my total mass comes with the NET weight (and considering that I need the GROSS, i got the wrong mass).

 

This is driving me crazy, because I have a lot of parts with these features in the IAM, and all my mass are messed.

 

Is there a way to change the way that inventor overwrite this mass in the assemblies ? with Ilogic, or even some Inventor's option ?

 

 

 

Thanks again.

Barata.

IV 2013
*Expert Elite*
Cadmanto
Posts: 3,244
Registered: ‎12-07-2011
Message 2 of 3 (204 Views)

Re: Mass properties recalculated when use feature in the IAM

11-21-2013 09:43 AM in reply to: tuliobarata

Barata,

Not quite sure why you are creating the parts the way you are.  Meaning instead of doing an assembly feature to make the part different, why not just create an ipart and doing this feature at the part level.  It sounds like you are over complicating this.  We use iparts in assemblies all the time and it gives us the correct weight (mass) for our assemblies.

 

check.PNGIf this solved your issue please mark this posting "Accept as Solution".

Or if you like something that was said and it was helpful, Kudoskudos.PNG are appreciated. Thanks!!!! :smileyvery-happy:

 

New EE Logo.PNG

Inventor.PNG     vault.PNG

Best Regards,
Scott McFadden
Inventor Professional 2013
(Colossians 3:23-25)

Mentor
tuliobarata
Posts: 164
Registered: ‎11-30-2007
Message 3 of 3 (195 Views)

Re: Mass properties recalculated when use feature in the IAM

11-21-2013 10:17 AM in reply to: Cadmanto

Thanks for the reply Cadmanto,

 

Actually I've tried to work with iPart untill 3 years ago, and when I first use iLogic I just gave up of them, in that time I had many trouble with my custom properties of my templates using iPart, to be honestly I made a good mess with that, so now I use it just for some specific cases (trauma maybe).

 

Well, I know that's "not correct" doing what I do in my assemblies, but I thought this way would be faster than anything (doing field services in theses parts with different small details), but I just thought that untill I see this big problem.


Well, for now I'm doing some revisions in the 3D model transfering all these details to a new part to not lose my template settings neither IDW stuffs, and in some more complicated cases I'm just editing all the mass manually on IAM and IDW (because the time left... almost an offence!).

 

Best regards,

Barata

 

IV 2013
Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.