Community
Inventor Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Inventor Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Inventor topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Macro for Inserting text and current date

4 REPLIES 4
Message 1 of 5
jjkoz78
3393 Views, 4 Replies

Macro for Inserting text and current date

Hi,

I'm completely new to VBA, so I really don't know anything about the code, and it seems like everywhere I look for help it's assumed that I should already know a lot about it.  I'm trying to find a macro that will insert text into a certain spot on my drawing.  I want to put it on a button so that when I click the button it inserts "REVISION - 12/5/12", or whatever the current date is, into my title block.  Does anything like this exist?

Thanks

4 REPLIES 4
Message 2 of 5
Curtis_Waguespack
in reply to: jjkoz78

Hi jjkoz78, 

Here's a basic step-by-step to do this with iLogic code:

http://inventortrenches.blogspot.com/2012/01/creating-basic-ilogic-rule-with-event.html

I hope this helps.
Best of luck to you in all of your Inventor pursuits,
Curtis
http://inventortrenches.blogspot.com

Message 3 of 5
jjkoz78
in reply to: Curtis_Waguespack

It looks like it would probably help (if I can get everything in place first).  I'm using Inventor 2008 and don't have iLogic.  I've tried to download it, but I have to link up my subscription to my user account on Autodesk's website, and it's telling me that my account has been closed or canceled or something like that.  Isn't there just some simple VBA code out there somewhere that can do what I'm wanting?  I can't believe it's this complicated.

Message 4 of 5
Curtis_Waguespack

Hi jjkoz78,

I do have a VBA sample that will do what you want also. I'll try to post it in a hour or so. Are you familiar with setting the code up to run?

I hope this helps.
Curtis

Message 5 of 5
Curtis_Waguespack

Hi jjkoz78,