Community
Inventor Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Inventor Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Inventor topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Looking for a mentor to help me with the basics

10 REPLIES 10
Message 1 of 11
mrobinson63117
580 Views, 10 Replies

Looking for a mentor to help me with the basics

I am new to 3D modeling but not to the use of autocad for 2D drawings.  I recently downloaded Inventor13 but don't have a clue where to start even though I've gone through all the included videos.

I have the plans for a set of benches I would like to use for my maiden voyage.  It's simple but complex enough to get me going.  My goal is to have all the parts, assembly, and BOM when it's done.  What I am mostly confused about is where to start.

Let me know if you are willing to help and I'll email the plans to you.

Thanks in advance,

Mark

10 REPLIES 10
Message 2 of 11
SBix26
in reply to: mrobinson63117

You will model each piece as a separate part file (.ipt), then put them together in an assembly file (.iam).  Then you will create drawings (.idw or .dwg) to show how they are constructed.  The drawing of your assembly will also include a parts list.

There are other more advanced methods for accomplishing this, but since you're just beginning, start with the basics.

Look for tutorials on basic part modeling to begin with, and specifically check out JD Mather's material here.

If you run into difficulties, post your files here and ask for help.

Message 3 of 11
Cadmanto

Mark,

Welcome to the forum.

My best advise to you since you are new to 3D modeling would be to go on to youtube and look at video tutorials on part, assembly and drawing creation.  There are a ton of helpful videos.

Best Regards,
Scott McFadden
(Colossians 3:23-25)

Message 4 of 11