Inventor General Discussion

Inventor General Discussion

Reply
Contributor
tbitting
Posts: 22
Registered: ‎01-04-2008
Message 1 of 5 (152 Views)
Accepted Solution

Lofting with rails

152 Views, 4 Replies
04-16-2012 12:34 PM

Hi all,

I have a part that I'm trying to loft using 3d sketches for the rails will this work? Everything is fine till I try to add the rails, As you can see the loft works with out the rails.

 

Thanks for looking

 

 

Tim Bitting
Windows 7 x64
IV 2012

Your rail curves are not smooth (tangent) as indicated by the error message.

Therefore either add appropriate fillets or do a spline if that gets your design intent

or

if your design intent is straight lines as you have your rails - then simply do two lofts.

*Expert Elite*
JDMather
Posts: 28,238
Registered: ‎04-20-2006
Message 2 of 5 (141 Views)

Re: Lofting with rails

04-16-2012 01:30 PM in reply to: tbitting

Your rail curves are not smooth (tangent) as indicated by the error message.

Therefore either add appropriate fillets or do a spline if that gets your design intent

or

if your design intent is straight lines as you have your rails - then simply do two lofts.

Please mark this response as "Accept as Solution" if it answers your question.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Autodesk Inventor 2015 Certified Professional
Autodesk AutoCAD 2013 Certified Professional
Certified SolidWorks Professional
Inventor Professional 2015-SP1 64-bit
http://www.autodesk.com/edcommunity
http://home.pct.edu/~jmather/content/DSG322/inventor_surface_tutorials.htm
Contributor
tbitting
Posts: 22
Registered: ‎01-04-2008
Message 3 of 5 (133 Views)

Re: Lofting with rails

04-16-2012 01:46 PM in reply to: JDMather

Thanks JD. that will work for what I need on this. But if I need to, where would I add fillets?

Tim Bitting
Windows 7 x64
IV 2012
*Expert Elite*
JDMather
Posts: 28,238
Registered: ‎04-20-2006
Message 4 of 5 (128 Views)

Re: Lofting with rails

04-16-2012 01:55 PM in reply to: tbitting

At the intersections of the  lines in  your 3D sketch. (Bends in 3D sketch)

 

But actually - I almost never ever create a 3D sketch as you have.

Nearly all of my 3D sketches are a result of Intersection Curve of 2D sketches.
Much easier to control and edit.

So, I would have had a Front and Side (in your case) 2D sketches with fillet constrained in one or the other (depending on design intent) to Sketch8, then found the 3D intersecting curve.

Yours is a simpler case of the 3D sketch in the Vacuum tutorial in my signature.

Please mark this response as "Accept as Solution" if it answers your question.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Autodesk Inventor 2015 Certified Professional
Autodesk AutoCAD 2013 Certified Professional
Certified SolidWorks Professional
Inventor Professional 2015-SP1 64-bit
http://www.autodesk.com/edcommunity
http://home.pct.edu/~jmather/content/DSG322/inventor_surface_tutorials.htm
Contributor
tbitting
Posts: 22
Registered: ‎01-04-2008
Message 5 of 5 (117 Views)

Re: Lofting with rails

04-16-2012 03:46 PM in reply to: JDMather

Ok I've seen the vacuum  part before, I'll have to go back and review, it's been awhile.

 

Thanks again.

Tim Bitting
Windows 7 x64
IV 2012
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Do you have 60 seconds to spare? The Autodesk Community Team is revamping our site ranking system and we want your feedback! Please click here to launch the 5 question survey. As always your input is greatly appreciated.