Inventor General Discussion

Reply
Contributor
tbitting
Posts: 22
Registered: ‎01-04-2008
Message 1 of 5 (149 Views)
Accepted Solution

Lofting with rails

149 Views, 4 Replies
04-16-2012 12:34 PM

Hi all,

I have a part that I'm trying to loft using 3d sketches for the rails will this work? Everything is fine till I try to add the rails, As you can see the loft works with out the rails.

 

Thanks for looking

 

 

Tim Bitting
Windows 7 x64
IV 2012

Your rail curves are not smooth (tangent) as indicated by the error message.

Therefore either add appropriate fillets or do a spline if that gets your design intent

or

if your design intent is straight lines as you have your rails - then simply do two lofts.

*Expert Elite*
JDMather
Posts: 28,056
Registered: ‎04-20-2006
Message 2 of 5 (138 Views)

Re: Lofting with rails

04-16-2012 01:30 PM in reply to: tbitting

Your rail curves are not smooth (tangent) as indicated by the error message.

Therefore either add appropriate fillets or do a spline if that gets your design intent

or

if your design intent is straight lines as you have your rails - then simply do two lofts.

Please mark this response as "Accept as Solution" if it answers your question.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Autodesk Inventor 2014 Certified Professional
Autodesk AutoCAD 2013 Certified Professional
Certified SolidWorks Professional
Inventor Professional 2015-SP1 64-bit
http://www.autodesk.com/edcommunity
http://home.pct.edu/~jmather/content/DSG322/inventor_surface_tutorials.htm
Contributor
tbitting
Posts: 22
Registered: ‎01-04-2008
Message 3 of 5 (130 Views)

Re: Lofting with rails

04-16-2012 01:46 PM in reply to: JDMather

Thanks JD. that will work for what I need on this. But if I need to, where would I add fillets?

Tim Bitting
Windows 7 x64
IV 2012
*Expert Elite*
JDMather
Posts: 28,056
Registered: ‎04-20-2006
Message 4 of 5 (125 Views)

Re: Lofting with rails

04-16-2012 01:55 PM in reply to: tbitting

At the intersections of the  lines in  your 3D sketch. (Bends in 3D sketch)

 

But actually - I almost never ever create a 3D sketch as you have.

Nearly all of my 3D sketches are a result of Intersection Curve of 2D sketches.
Much easier to control and edit.

So, I would have had a Front and Side (in your case) 2D sketches with fillet constrained in one or the other (depending on design intent) to Sketch8, then found the 3D intersecting curve.

Yours is a simpler case of the 3D sketch in the Vacuum tutorial in my signature.

Please mark this response as "Accept as Solution" if it answers your question.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Autodesk Inventor 2014 Certified Professional
Autodesk AutoCAD 2013 Certified Professional
Certified SolidWorks Professional
Inventor Professional 2015-SP1 64-bit
http://www.autodesk.com/edcommunity
http://home.pct.edu/~jmather/content/DSG322/inventor_surface_tutorials.htm
Contributor
tbitting
Posts: 22
Registered: ‎01-04-2008
Message 5 of 5 (114 Views)

Re: Lofting with rails

04-16-2012 03:46 PM in reply to: JDMather

Ok I've seen the vacuum  part before, I'll have to go back and review, it's been awhile.

 

Thanks again.

Tim Bitting
Windows 7 x64
IV 2012
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Are You Going To Be @ AU 2014? Feel free to drop by our AU topic post and share your plans, plug a class that you're teaching, or simply check out who else from the community might be in attendance. Ohh and don't forgot to stop by the Autodesk Help | Learn | Collaborate booths in the Exhibit Hall and meet our community team if you get a chance!