Inventor General Discussion

Reply
New Member
Mesainc1
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎01-10-2013
Message 1 of 3 (540 Views)
Accepted Solution

Loft command giving me problems

540 Views, 2 Replies
01-10-2013 11:40 AM

I am trying to use the loft command to go from Sketch 3 to Sketch 4, but with the output on solid, it gives me this error. "The attempted operation had problems trimming and discarding faces. Try with different inputs."

 

I am using Inventor 2012 professional. The loft commands I am using are "Join", "Rails" "Solid Output"

It won't work because you multiple loops in each sketch.  If you edit the sketches and changes the inner loops to construction lines, it will work.  You'll get a solid loft and then you can use the shell command to hollow out the inside and maintain your .100" wall thickness.

Valued Contributor
EScales
Posts: 74
Registered: ‎05-01-2007
Message 2 of 3 (527 Views)

Re: Loft command giving me problems

01-10-2013 12:24 PM in reply to: Mesainc1

It won't work because you multiple loops in each sketch.  If you edit the sketches and changes the inner loops to construction lines, it will work.  You'll get a solid loft and then you can use the shell command to hollow out the inside and maintain your .100" wall thickness.

Eric

Please select "Accept as Solution" if this answers your question.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Autodesk Inventor 2013 Certified Professional
New Member
Mesainc1
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎01-10-2013
Message 3 of 3 (520 Views)

Re: Loft command giving me problems

01-10-2013 12:32 PM in reply to: EScales

That worked great. Thank you very much.

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.