Inventor General Discussion

Inventor General Discussion

Reply
Distinguished Contributor
SteveFrey
Posts: 525
Registered: ‎09-12-2007
Message 1 of 8 (283 Views)

Linking Drawing Dimensions to a Table

283 Views, 7 Replies
04-25-2012 01:02 PM

Is it possible to link the dimensions in my .idw to the table in the upper left corner?  I want the information in the table to reflect what is in the drawing.

 

I'm using Inventor 2012

 

 

Thanks!

 

Steve

Steve Frey
Inventor 2013
Windows 7 Professional 64-bit SP1
HP EliteBook 8470w
Processor: Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-3610QM CPU @ 2.30GHz
Memory: 16 GB
AMD FirePro M2000
3D Connexion SpacePilot
Distinguished Mentor
IgorMir
Posts: 524
Registered: ‎08-02-2003
Message 2 of 8 (256 Views)

Re: Linking Drawing Dimensions to a Table

04-25-2012 05:52 PM in reply to: SteveFrey

Hi Steve

I think you would have to convert your model into iPart. Then the dimensions will be available to populate the table.

Regards,

Igor.

Web: www.meqc.com.au
Distinguished Contributor
SteveFrey
Posts: 525
Registered: ‎09-12-2007
Message 3 of 8 (240 Views)

Re: Linking Drawing Dimensions to a Table

04-26-2012 06:14 AM in reply to: IgorMir

I'm not sure I understand.  Why would converting it to an i-part be any different?  Don't the dimension properties still reside in the file?

Steve Frey
Inventor 2013
Windows 7 Professional 64-bit SP1
HP EliteBook 8470w
Processor: Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-3610QM CPU @ 2.30GHz
Memory: 16 GB
AMD FirePro M2000
3D Connexion SpacePilot
*Expert Elite*
sam_m
Posts: 618
Registered: ‎11-05-2003
Message 4 of 8 (237 Views)

Re: Linking Drawing Dimensions to a Table

04-26-2012 06:24 AM in reply to: SteveFrey

Sadly don't know a way to insert model parameters into a table but you can do it with a text annotation:

 

"Unit Height:  Model Parameter d0

Unit Width: Model Parameter d1" etc 

 

Using the bottom row of drop-downs in the text editor dialog box...

 

Arguably not as neat as a table, but could draw a text box around it all... 

----------
Please mark this response as "Accept as Solution" if it answers your question...
but please understand that the solution may not be the answer you're wanting to hear...

If you have found any post to be helpful, even if it's not a direct solution, then please provide that author kudos - spread that love :smileyvery-happy:

Lithium - helping nntp users with mania, depression and headaches
Distinguished Contributor
SteveFrey
Posts: 525
Registered: ‎09-12-2007
Message 5 of 8 (218 Views)

Re: Linking Drawing Dimensions to a Table

04-26-2012 12:08 PM in reply to: sam_m

Sam:

 

Could you send me a screen shot of where to enter this?  Thanks.

Steve Frey
Inventor 2013
Windows 7 Professional 64-bit SP1
HP EliteBook 8470w
Processor: Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-3610QM CPU @ 2.30GHz
Memory: 16 GB
AMD FirePro M2000
3D Connexion SpacePilot
*Expert Elite*
Curtis_Waguespack
Posts: 2,987
Registered: ‎03-08-2006
Message 6 of 8 (212 Views)

Re: Linking Drawing Dimensions to a Table

04-26-2012 12:17 PM in reply to: SteveFrey

Hi SteveFrey, 

It looks to me as if this is an assembly. Are the dimensions you want in the table available as assembly parameters?

 

If so you could check the Export box in the parameters dialog box and then they will be available as Custom iProperties. Then you could use a Parts list as the table and pull that information in. I'd consider making all of the information in that table custom iProperties also, just so that becomes container for all of the info.

 

Now if those dimensions you want to pull into the assembly do not exist in the assembly, you might need to go to the Parameters dialog box and use the Link button, and then Link to the part files and import the parameters.

 

I hope this helps.
Best of luck to you in all of your Inventor pursuits,
Curtis
http://inventortrenches.blogspot.com




  solution.png  Did you find this reply helpful ? If so please use the Accept as Solution or  Kudos button below.





Distinguished Contributor
SteveFrey
Posts: 525
Registered: ‎09-12-2007
Message 7 of 8 (207 Views)

Re: Linking Drawing Dimensions to a Table

04-26-2012 12:32 PM in reply to: Curtis_Waguespack

Okay.  I will fool around with it and see how it goes.  Thanks again.

Steve Frey
Inventor 2013
Windows 7 Professional 64-bit SP1
HP EliteBook 8470w
Processor: Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-3610QM CPU @ 2.30GHz
Memory: 16 GB
AMD FirePro M2000
3D Connexion SpacePilot
Distinguished Contributor
SteveFrey
Posts: 525
Registered: ‎09-12-2007
Message 8 of 8 (189 Views)

Re: Linking Drawing Dimensions to a Table

04-26-2012 03:31 PM in reply to: SteveFrey
Oy! I got partway through but I'm having trouble. I've exported the assemby parameters but now I'm having trouble linking them. Some "training wheels" please. Thanks.

Steve
Steve Frey
Inventor 2013
Windows 7 Professional 64-bit SP1
HP EliteBook 8470w
Processor: Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-3610QM CPU @ 2.30GHz
Memory: 16 GB
AMD FirePro M2000
3D Connexion SpacePilot
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Are You Going To Be @ AU 2014? Feel free to drop by our AU topic post and share your plans, plug a class that you're teaching, or simply check out who else from the community might be in attendance. Ohh and don't forgot to stop by the Autodesk Help | Learn | Collaborate booths in the Exhibit Hall and meet our community team if you get a chance!