Inventor General Discussion

Inventor General Discussion

Reply
Distinguished Contributor
JimSteinmeyer
Posts: 326
Registered: ‎05-16-2011
Message 1 of 10 (1,675 Views)
Accepted Solution

Level of detail and Parts List

1675 Views, 9 Replies
09-04-2012 03:12 PM

After cussing LODs for months I have decided to give in and see if I can make them work for me. I have an assembly that I am designing that has 3 possible options for manufacturing. Looks like a good place to use LODs to suppress items from the other options. Now I am attempting to make a drawing with a Parts List for one of the options but even with the components selected as referance and suppressed in the LOD shown in the drawing , all the components are showing in the Parts List. Short of setting the parts to suppressed or referance in the default or master LOD, what do I need to do to remove these parts from the parts list?

 

Thank you

Jim

Inventor Premium 2013 SP1.1
Vault 2013- plain vanilla version
HP G71 notebook
celeron cpu w\ 4gb RAM and 64 bit system
Win 7 home premium

Ya, my boss has me running my personal machine at work.
*Expert Elite*
jtylerbc
Posts: 877
Registered: ‎09-01-2010
Message 2 of 10 (1,669 Views)

Re: Level of detail and Parts List

09-04-2012 03:20 PM in reply to: JimSteinmeyer

Jim,

 

I think you need to be using View Representations rather than LOD.  Parts Lists have a Filter option for the Assembly View Represenation, but not for the LOD.

 

Also, just a warning on the View Rep filter - it will only take things out of the list that are completely gone in that view rep, and won't adjust quantities.

 

For example: you have View Reps A and B.  You have a part number 12345, of which there are a total of 5.  Two are in Rep A, three in Rep B.  Even with the filter on in the parts list, the list will show the total, which is 5.  Unless something has changed (haven't used the filters in any version later than 2010), the only way to correct the quantities is with a manual override in the parts list.

 

 

John Tyler
Inventor 2015
Windows 7 64 Bit
*Expert Elite*
cwhetten
Posts: 1,072
Registered: ‎09-03-2008
Message 3 of 10 (1,662 Views)

Re: Level of detail and Parts List

09-04-2012 03:53 PM in reply to: JimSteinmeyer

What jtylerbc said is just fine, but you have to deal with the limitations that he/she mentioned.  That said, you should be able to get it to work with LODs.  We have a model that has several options, and we use component suppression (through iLogic, so it also sets the suppressed components to Reference BOM structure) to control the various options.

 

BUT

 

The drawing parts list (and indeed the assembly BOM) doesn't know what LODs are.  It only knows the current state of the model.*

 

So, to get your parts list to show the way you want, you have to make sure your model is set to the correct LOD before you open the drawing.  If you don't, the parts list will just show whichever state your model is in, regardless of whichever LOD your drawing views are set to.

 

You didn't mention if you were using iLogic to control all of this, but it sounds like it would be a nightmare to control without it.  Note that the LOD doesn't keep track of the BOM structure of individual components, so if you are manually switching LODs between different options, you have to manually change the BOM structure of each component.

 

*I suspect that this is the underlying reason why there are so many conflicts with LODs when both the drawing and the model are open, and also with trying to edit the BOM on assemblies with LODs.

 

Edit:  For our multi-option model that I mentioned, we only use one LOD under which all of the component suppression takes place.  This makes dealing with the parts lists MUCH easier, as our model is always saved in the correct LOD.  We just have to open the model, set our options, save it, close it, then open the drawing and the parts list is correct.

*Expert Elite*
cwhetten
Posts: 1,072
Registered: ‎09-03-2008
Message 4 of 10 (1,656 Views)

Re: Level of detail and Parts List

09-04-2012 04:03 PM in reply to: JimSteinmeyer

Given what I said above, I hate dealing with the issues of LODs--conflicts between drawings and assemblies, and trying to edit the BOM when an LOD is active.

 

It has given us so much headache over the years, that we are considering alternatives.  We are investigating using view reps, but also using iLogic to set the BOM structure to reference for all invisible parts.  This gives the benefits of component suppression, without the LOD issues.  It might be a little extra coding, but it might be worth it.

 

Check out the following thread for more insight into this approach.

 

http://forums.autodesk.com/t5/Autodesk-Inventor/ILogic-help-needed/m-p/3606736#U3606736

Distinguished Contributor
JimSteinmeyer
Posts: 326
Registered: ‎05-16-2011
Message 5 of 10 (1,625 Views)

Re: Level of detail and Parts List

09-06-2012 12:39 PM in reply to: cwhetten

WOW just WOW, just when I thought LODs might actually be useful and I could use them..

    I haven't had time to learn Ilogic and don't have the time to mess with it during our normal projects. I thought I bought a program where the programing was done for me, not one where I have to finish what was left undone.

     I am simply trying to give my employer a couple of semi-accurate options so he can decide which one he would like to persue and have me finish up. I would like to nat have to go back and rework every BOM I give him so that what is in the option is what shows in the parts list.

     I know these steps are fast and only take a little time but my boss does things on the back of a napkin and expects me to be almost as fast.

 

Thank you for your information guys, I was mistaken when I thought LODs were something that would be useful for me. I will have to look into view reps and see if I can get some benifit from them.

 

Jim

Inventor Premium 2013 SP1.1
Vault 2013- plain vanilla version
HP G71 notebook
celeron cpu w\ 4gb RAM and 64 bit system
Win 7 home premium

Ya, my boss has me running my personal machine at work.
*Expert Elite*
cwhetten
Posts: 1,072
Registered: ‎09-03-2008
Message 6 of 10 (1,619 Views)

Re: Level of detail and Parts List

09-06-2012 12:51 PM in reply to: JimSteinmeyer

Like jtylerbc said, view reps have NO effect on the quantities displayed in the parts list.  To use them effectively for what you described, you will also have to set the BOM structure of your hidden parts to reference.  And, like I said, this whole process would be much more manageable through iLogic.

 

A note of advice--learn iLogic.  If you work for short-sighted people who won't invest in training, then do it on your own time--it's completely worth it.  iLogic is by far the best feature added to Inventor since 3D.  It is extremely powerful, and your design work will be so much better and faster than ever.

Member
M_Halsmer
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎06-27-2011
Message 7 of 10 (1,611 Views)

Re: Level of detail and Parts List

09-06-2012 01:32 PM in reply to: JimSteinmeyer

Not sure if this will help, but you may want to look at iAssemblies...  The way this might work is that you set up a "master" assembly with everything in it, then you create your different versions with sets of parts surpressed.  I did a quick test for this (on IV 2009) and when you do drawings of the different versions, the BOM will show all the parts in the assembly.  However it will show a quantity of zero for the components in that assembly that are suppressed for that version.  I'm not sure if there is a way to filter these out of the BOM or not, but this may at least get you part of the way there.

*Expert Elite*
Curtis_Waguespack
Posts: 2,898
Registered: ‎03-08-2006
Message 8 of 10 (1,608 Views)

iLogic set BOM via Visibility

09-06-2012 01:53 PM in reply to: M_Halsmer

Hi JimSteinmeyer,

 

As mentioned above, the iAssembly tools are the correct choice for creating configurations. LOD's are intended for memory manangment.

 

With that in mind, try this:

 

  • Set your LOD active and then right-click on it and choose "Copy to View Rep"
  • Then set the newly created View Representation active.
  • Then use these steps to create a rule in iLogic:
  1. On the ribbon, click Manage tab > iLogic panel > Add Rule button.
  2. Name the new rule.
  3. In the rule text area of the Edit Rule dialog box, simply paste in the code below.
  4. Click OK to save and run this new rule.
' set a reference to the assembly component definintion.
' This assumes an assembly document is open.
Dim oAsmCompDef As AssemblyComponentDefinition
oAsmCompDef = ThisApplication.ActiveDocument.ComponentDefinition

'Iterate through all of the occurrences
Dim oOccurrence As ComponentOccurrence
For Each oOccurrence In oAsmCompDef.Occurrences
'check for and skip virtual components
If Not TypeOf oOccurrence.Definition Is VirtualComponentDefinition Then
	'set BOM as default if the component is visible
	If Component.Visible(oOccurrence.Name) = True Then
	Component.InventorComponent(oOccurrence.Name).BOMStructure = _
	BOMStructureEnum.kDefaultBOMStructure
	'set BOM as reference if the component is not visible
	ElseIf Component.Visible(oOccurrence.Name) = False Then
	Component.InventorComponent(oOccurrence.Name).BOMStructure = _
	BOMStructureEnum.kReferenceBOMStructure
	End If
Else
End If
Next

 This will set the BOM structure so that the visible component occurences won't list in the BOM.

 

I hope this helps.
Best of luck to you in all of your Inventor pursuits,
Curtis
http://inventortrenches.blogspot.com



  solution.png  Did you find this reply helpful ? If so please use the Accept as Solution or  Kudos button below.





Distinguished Contributor
JimSteinmeyer
Posts: 326
Registered: ‎05-16-2011
Message 9 of 10 (1,542 Views)

Re: iLogic set BOM via Visibility

09-10-2012 03:34 PM in reply to: Curtis_Waguespack

OK OK, I will try to find the time to learn Ilogic. It will have to be on my own as I am at least a man short of being staffed at work but I will try to get at it.

Thank you for your help.

 

Curtis,

you never cease to amaize me with what you are able to do to help. Thank you my friend. I will give your programing a try and see if I can learn from it.

 

Jim

Inventor Premium 2013 SP1.1
Vault 2013- plain vanilla version
HP G71 notebook
celeron cpu w\ 4gb RAM and 64 bit system
Win 7 home premium

Ya, my boss has me running my personal machine at work.
Valued Contributor
exSWX
Posts: 74
Registered: ‎05-30-2011
Message 10 of 10 (1,431 Views)

Re: iLogic set BOM via Visibility

11-05-2012 07:36 PM in reply to: Curtis_Waguespack

Hi Curtis,

I tried your code as I have the same problem regarding the BOM.

I got this error message (attached)

Autodesk Inventor 2013-64Bit Edition
Intel Xeon W3520 @ 2.67GHz
Win 7 Pro
6.7 System Rating
NVIDIA Quadro FX 1800
Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.