Inventor General Discussion

Inventor General Discussion

Reply
Distinguished Contributor
dloganbill
Posts: 122
Registered: ‎08-14-2009
Message 1 of 11 (676 Views)
Accepted Solution

Leader lines invisible

676 Views, 10 Replies
05-02-2013 02:39 PM

Recently upgraded to 2014 and now anytime I add leaders to a point inside a view, the leader disappears.  If I move the start point to the outer extremity, then it shows up fine.  Any thoughts?

______________________________________________________________
Autodesk Product Design Suite Ultimate 2014
Inventor Pro 2014 - SP1
Win7 Pro x64
Dell T5500; Xeon E5520 2.27GHz; 15 GB ECC RAM; Quaddro FX4800; SSD
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I figured it out.  I had a text box that was as large as the view.  Is there a way to turn this "feature" off?  It makes no sense to clip the whole text box.  It should only clip around the text, not the entire text box.

 

A stupid workaround is to add all the dimensions and leaders and then center the text box over the view afterwards.  But as soon as a dimension is added or changed, they all get clipped again.

*Expert Elite*
blair
Posts: 4,311
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 2 of 11 (645 Views)

Re: Leader lines invisible

05-03-2013 12:14 AM in reply to: dloganbill

Other than check you are on the most current Microsoft certified graphics card for your system. Works fine on my home machine using the default IV template that ships with IV2014.

Capture1.JPG

Did you find this reply helpful ? If so please use the Accept as Solution or Kudos button below.

IV2015 SP1 PDSU / Sim Mech 2015 r1 /
Win7-64
EVGA X79 - Classified, iCore7 3930k 32Gb Quad-Channel
950Gb (2 x 500Gb Sata III SSD RAID0 Adaptec 6805E Controller)
Nvidia GTX-690 Classified - 344.60
SpacePilot Pro 3.17.7, 6.17., 4.11
Delta Tau Chi ΔΤΧ
Distinguished Contributor
dloganbill
Posts: 122
Registered: ‎08-14-2009
Message 3 of 11 (624 Views)

Re: Leader lines invisible

05-03-2013 09:01 AM in reply to: blair

I updated my driver to 320.00 and still have the same problem.  

 However, now I see that it is doing it for all lines (leaders, dimensions, ordinate set)

I've tried using the default styles as well as some custom ones.

 

Any other ideas, my coworker next to me doesn't have this issue.

 

______________________________________________________________
Autodesk Product Design Suite Ultimate 2014
Inventor Pro 2014 - SP1
Win7 Pro x64
Dell T5500; Xeon E5520 2.27GHz; 15 GB ECC RAM; Quaddro FX4800; SSD
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
*Expert Elite*
blair
Posts: 4,311
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 4 of 11 (621 Views)

Re: Leader lines invisible

05-03-2013 09:24 AM in reply to: dloganbill

If you have any other issues, I might start thinking problems with the install.

 

You did follow the install procedure

1.) Admin Priv

2.) UAC slider set to lowest position

3.) Depending on A/V may need to stop the Anti-Virus (some problems with Norton, we use AVG without any install problems)

Did you find this reply helpful ? If so please use the Accept as Solution or Kudos button below.

IV2015 SP1 PDSU / Sim Mech 2015 r1 /
Win7-64
EVGA X79 - Classified, iCore7 3930k 32Gb Quad-Channel
950Gb (2 x 500Gb Sata III SSD RAID0 Adaptec 6805E Controller)
Nvidia GTX-690 Classified - 344.60
SpacePilot Pro 3.17.7, 6.17., 4.11
Delta Tau Chi ΔΤΧ
Distinguished Contributor
dloganbill
Posts: 122
Registered: ‎08-14-2009
Message 5 of 11 (618 Views)

Re: Leader lines invisible

05-03-2013 10:12 AM in reply to: blair

No other issues so far.

 

I have admin privilages.  Didn't mess with UAC or A/V (Symantec Endpoint Protection).  But neither did my coworker.

______________________________________________________________
Autodesk Product Design Suite Ultimate 2014
Inventor Pro 2014 - SP1
Win7 Pro x64
Dell T5500; Xeon E5520 2.27GHz; 15 GB ECC RAM; Quaddro FX4800; SSD
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
*Expert Elite*
blair
Posts: 4,311
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 6 of 11 (594 Views)

Re: Leader lines invisible

05-03-2013 09:50 PM in reply to: dloganbill

In the Application Options>Hardware: try changing the setting from either Quality to Performance. Even try the Compatible mode.

Did you find this reply helpful ? If so please use the Accept as Solution or Kudos button below.

IV2015 SP1 PDSU / Sim Mech 2015 r1 /
Win7-64
EVGA X79 - Classified, iCore7 3930k 32Gb Quad-Channel
950Gb (2 x 500Gb Sata III SSD RAID0 Adaptec 6805E Controller)
Nvidia GTX-690 Classified - 344.60
SpacePilot Pro 3.17.7, 6.17., 4.11
Delta Tau Chi ΔΤΧ
Employee
t_hutns
Posts: 19
Registered: ‎04-29-2013
Message 7 of 11 (549 Views)

Re: Leader lines invisible

05-06-2013 04:27 AM in reply to: blair

Hello,

 

One of the possible reason can be that leader lines are clipped by some texts, text clipping around hatches and dimensions was implemented in 2013. See the wiki help:

http://wikihelp.autodesk.com/Inventor/enu/2013/Help/0000-What_s_N0/0001-What_s_N1/0058-Drawing58/006...

So please check whether there are some text boxes that overlap leader lines in your drawing. If this not the case of text clipping please post here some simple drawing with reproducible problem and we will take a look at this.

 

Thanks

 

Stanislav Hutnan

Inventor Development

Autodesk

Distinguished Contributor
dloganbill
Posts: 122
Registered: ‎08-14-2009
Message 8 of 11 (519 Views)

Re: Leader lines invisible

05-08-2013 02:41 PM in reply to: t_hutns

I figured it out.  I had a text box that was as large as the view.  Is there a way to turn this "feature" off?  It makes no sense to clip the whole text box.  It should only clip around the text, not the entire text box.

 

A stupid workaround is to add all the dimensions and leaders and then center the text box over the view afterwards.  But as soon as a dimension is added or changed, they all get clipped again.

______________________________________________________________
Autodesk Product Design Suite Ultimate 2014
Inventor Pro 2014 - SP1
Win7 Pro x64
Dell T5500; Xeon E5520 2.27GHz; 15 GB ECC RAM; Quaddro FX4800; SSD
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Employee
t_hutns
Posts: 19
Registered: ‎04-29-2013
Message 9 of 11 (492 Views)

Re: Leader lines invisible

05-10-2013 12:54 AM in reply to: dloganbill

Hello,

 

I’m sorry, but there is no option to turn the text box clipping off. I understand that using whole text box instead of real text area for clipping can cause problems. I will check with development here whether we can consider some changes in this behavior.

 

There are already similar requests in IdeaStation, you can give Kudos them for now…

 

http://forums.autodesk.com/t5/Inventor-IdeaStation/Text-box-in-drawing-hides-dimension-lines/idi-p/3...

http://forums.autodesk.com/t5/Inventor-IdeaStation/Fix-the-2013-Text-Box/idi-p/3748326

 

 

Thank you for your input

 

Stanislav Hutnan

Inventor Development

Autodesk

Active Member
bmullins
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎01-10-2013
Message 10 of 11 (343 Views)

Re: Leader lines invisible

12-12-2013 09:38 AM in reply to: t_hutns

This is incredibly frustating. Please fix this. Perhaps a "right click -> order -> send to front/back, fwd, bkwd" option? That would be very intuitive for any Windows user.

 

As an ugly, brute force, work-around, you may be able to divide your text into separate boxes. It probably won't work for every scenario, but it worked for me.

BEFORE.jpg

 

 

AFTER.jpg

 

 

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Are You Going To Be @ AU 2014? Feel free to drop by our AU topic post and share your plans, plug a class that you're teaching, or simply check out who else from the community might be in attendance. Ohh and don't forgot to stop by the Autodesk Help | Learn | Collaborate booths in the Exhibit Hall and meet our community team if you get a chance!