Inventor General Discussion

Inventor General Discussion

Reply
Valued Contributor
Alex123
Posts: 97
Registered: ‎11-05-2003
Message 1 of 12 (111 Views)

Kent's Multi Insert & Fix VBA

111 Views, 11 Replies
11-11-2002 10:05 PM
I just used Kent Keller's Multi Insert & Fix VBA and it works great. My question is how does it work? I noticed it grounded the parts but there were no constraints used. When I do it "manually", I use flush constraints to ground them to their origins. How does the utility know how to ground them without constraints? Curious.
*Fulford, Drew
Message 2 of 12 (111 Views)

Re: Kent's Multi Insert & Fix VBA

11-11-2002 10:36 PM in reply to: Alex123
RMB Ground (which makes the push-pin)

- drew

--
Drew Fulford B.A.Sc. Systems Engineer
Solid Caddgroup Inc. Burlington, Ontario
Tel: (905)331-9670, Fax: (905)331-7280
Corporate: http://www.solidcadcam.com/

Member of the Autodesk Discussion Forum Moderator Program
Visit my MCAD website @ http://www.mymcad.com/



"Alex123" wrote in message
news:f1224c5.-1@WebX.maYIadrTaRb...
> I just used Kent Keller's Multi Insert & Fix VBA and it works great. My
question is how does it work? I noticed it grounded the parts but there were
no constraints used. When I do it "manually", I use flush constraints to
ground them to their origins. How does the utility know how to ground them
without constraints? Curious.
>
Valued Contributor
Alex123
Posts: 97
Registered: ‎11-05-2003
Message 3 of 12 (111 Views)

Re:

11-11-2002 10:51 PM in reply to: Alex123
I guess I didn't explain myself well enough. I know how to ground it, how does it position it correctly in relationship to the origin without constraints?
*Fulford, Drew
Message 4 of 12 (111 Views)

Re:

11-11-2002 11:02 PM in reply to: Alex123
If you go to properties of any part occurence in an assy you see under
occurence tab a series of numbers for x, y & z offsets from origin.

Kents routine simply sets these at 0

- Drew

--
Drew Fulford B.A.Sc. Systems Engineer
Solid Caddgroup Inc. Burlington, Ontario
Tel: (905)331-9670, Fax: (905)331-7280
Corporate: http://www.solidcadcam.com/

Member of the Autodesk Discussion Forum Moderator Program
Visit my MCAD website @ http://www.mymcad.com/



"Alex123" wrote in message
news:f1224c5.1@WebX.maYIadrTaRb...
> I guess I didn't explain myself well enough. I know how to ground it, how
does it position it correctly in relationship to the origin without
constraints?
>
*Keller, Kent
Message 5 of 12 (111 Views)

Re:

11-11-2002 11:11 PM in reply to: Alex123
Actually if I remember right it is even simpler than that. When you insert
a part with VBA it defaults to 0 and if you wanted it anywhere else you
would have to add code to move it.

Something I probably don't mention enough about this routine is that It came
about from me bugging Drew to come up with a idea for a useful program.
This program was something he was going to try to learn some VBA with, but
he instead told me about it and let me give it a shot.

So the real credit for the program belongs to Drew, cause without the idea I
never would have done it. 8^)

--
Kent Keller
Member of the Autodesk Discussion Forum Moderator Program

http://www.MyMcad.com/KWiK/Mcad.htm

"Drew Fulford" wrote in message
news:B144B64943052C3AEFA18553A0A286EE@in.WebX.maYIadrTaRb...
> If you go to properties of any part occurence in an assy you see under
> occurence tab a series of numbers for x, y & z offsets from origin.
>
> Kents routine simply sets these at 0
>
> - Drew
>
> --
> Drew Fulford B.A.Sc. Systems Engineer
> Solid Caddgroup Inc. Burlington, Ontario
> Tel: (905)331-9670, Fax: (905)331-7280
> Corporate: http://www.solidcadcam.com/
>
> Member of the Autodesk Discussion Forum Moderator Program
> Visit my MCAD website @ http://www.mymcad.com/
*Fulford, Drew
Message 6 of 12 (111 Views)

Re:

11-11-2002 11:23 PM in reply to: Alex123
Blush :smileywink:


--
Drew Fulford B.A.Sc. Systems Engineer
Solid Caddgroup Inc. Burlington, Ontario
Tel: (905)331-9670, Fax: (905)331-7280
Corporate: http://www.solidcadcam.com/

Member of the Autodesk Discussion Forum Moderator Program
Visit my MCAD website @ http://www.mymcad.com/



"Kent Keller" wrote in message
news:B39C64D2E24CE0EBD0C38894FF14D063@in.WebX.maYIadrTaRb...
> Actually if I remember right it is even simpler than that. When you
insert
> a part with VBA it defaults to 0 and if you wanted it anywhere else you
> would have to add code to move it.
>
> Something I probably don't mention enough about this routine is that It
came
> about from me bugging Drew to come up with a idea for a useful program.
> This program was something he was going to try to learn some VBA with, but
> he instead told me about it and let me give it a shot.
>
> So the real credit for the program belongs to Drew, cause without the idea
I
> never would have done it. 8^)
>
> --
> Kent Keller
> Member of the Autodesk Discussion Forum Moderator Program
>
> http://www.MyMcad.com/KWiK/Mcad.htm
>
> "Drew Fulford" wrote in message
> news:B144B64943052C3AEFA18553A0A286EE@in.WebX.maYIadrTaRb...
> > If you go to properties of any part occurence in an assy you see under
> > occurence tab a series of numbers for x, y & z offsets from origin.
> >
> > Kents routine simply sets these at 0
> >
> > - Drew
> >
> > --
> > Drew Fulford B.A.Sc. Systems Engineer
> > Solid Caddgroup Inc. Burlington, Ontario
> > Tel: (905)331-9670, Fax: (905)331-7280
> > Corporate: http://www.solidcadcam.com/
> >
> > Member of the Autodesk Discussion Forum Moderator Program
> > Visit my MCAD website @ http://www.mymcad.com/
>
>
Valued Contributor
Alex123
Posts: 97
Registered: ‎11-05-2003
Message 7 of 12 (111 Views)

Re:

11-11-2002 11:53 PM in reply to: Alex123
Thanks guys. Now I learned an easy way to position parts without using constraints. I knew there had to be an easier way than the way I was doing it.
*Bliss, Charles
Message 8 of 12 (111 Views)

Re:

11-12-2002 12:34 AM in reply to: Alex123
You might also want to look at Murray Smith's program
http://www.cbliss.com/inventor/iCode/Positioner.zip


Alex123 wrote:

> Thanks guys. Now I learned an easy way to position parts without using
> constraints. I knew there had to be an easier way than the way I was
> doing it.
*Dotson, Sean
Message 9 of 12 (111 Views)

Re:

11-12-2002 02:35 AM in reply to: Alex123
"Now I learned an easy way to position parts without using
constraints."

 

Unless you are doing skeletal modeling that is a
dark and dangerous road you are headed down...


--
____________________
Sean Dotson

href="http://www.sdotson.com">http://www.sdotson.com

...sleep is for the
weak...
----


style="PADDING-RIGHT: 0px; PADDING-LEFT: 5px; MARGIN-LEFT: 5px; BORDER-LEFT: #000000 2px solid; MARGIN-RIGHT: 0px">
Thanks
guys. Now I learned an easy way to position parts without using constraints. I
knew there had to be an easier way than the way I was doing
it.
Contributor frm
Contributor
frm
Posts: 13
Registered: ‎10-28-2003
Message 10 of 12 (111 Views)

Re:

11-12-2002 10:31 PM in reply to: Alex123
I have used Kent’s routine before in IV5.
Now we have upgraded to IV6 and I have lost the routine.
Could someone please tell me where to find it and does it work in IV6?

Kind regards

Flemming Madsen

LIC Engineering A/S
DK Denmark
Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.