Community
Inventor Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Inventor Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Inventor topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

join spline and line into one unit...

4 REPLIES 4
Message 1 of 5
justmike65
3640 Views, 4 Replies

join spline and line into one unit...

This is my first post, and I am totally new to Inventor. I have a lot of experience in Illustrator and Photoshop; what I want to do is possible in those programs, but I have not figured out how to do it in Inventor.

Essentialy, I want to make a closed path from a spline and a straight line— this will become a custom shape that I want to turn into a solid. Is it possible or should I just use the split feature?

In the end, I am trying to make a solid that is similar to a section of this necklace, minus the curved portion that connected them to the necklace, itself. Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated!

necklace.jpg

4 REPLIES 4
Message 2 of 5
JDMather
in reply to: justmike65

A spline and a line will automatically be a closed path (if it is created that way) in Inventor.

Attach your attempt here. (*.ipt file)

You might go through these.

http://home.pct.edu/~jmather/SkillsUSA%20University.pdf
http://inventortrenches.blogspot.com/p/inventor-tutorials.html
http://wikihelp.autodesk.com/enu?adskContextId=HELP_TUTORIALS&language=ENU&release=2014&product=Inve...

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Autodesk Inventor 2019 Certified Professional
Autodesk AutoCAD 2013 Certified Professional
Certified SolidWorks Professional

The CADWhisperer YouTube Channel

EESignature

Message 3 of 5
JavaLodge