Inventor General Discussion

Inventor General Discussion

Reply
Distinguished Contributor
Zoltan78
Posts: 126
Registered: ‎06-21-2005
Message 1 of 12 (994 Views)
Accepted Solution

Ivy Bridge or Xeon?

994 Views, 11 Replies
11-07-2012 03:41 AM

We'd like to buy some new workstation machine for Inventor 2011. I just don't know which processor's the better? Intel Xeon is quite old. We use Inventor about up to 250 parts / assembly. My current rig is in my signature, so anything would be only better I guess. The main line of the new computer I'm looking for a processor is Quadro 400 / 8GB RAM. The whole config's price (without monitor or any peripherial) should not exceed $1100 without VAT.

 

Thanks

Zoltan

Software: Inventor Series 2011 SP1 x64
OS: Windows 7 Professional x64
CPU: Core i7-4770K
RAM: 2*4Gb Corsair
VGA: GTX 560 Ti
*Expert Elite*
mcgyvr
Posts: 6,854
Registered: ‎12-01-2004
Message 2 of 12 (959 Views)

Re: Ivy Bridge or Xeon?

11-07-2012 01:40 PM in reply to: Zoltan78

anything is better than what you've got :smileyhappy:

 

You want the fastest processor (3.0Ghz+)

You want 8G+ of RAM (or 9G+ if triple channel memory processor based..multiples of 3 for triple channel)

You want solid state hard drives (or anything but 7200RPM drives..10K+ RPM for spinners)

You want a decent Nvidia directx "gaming" card.. Most find quadros not worth the money at all.

 

Time is money.. $1100 is not enough to buy a proper Inventor workstation IMO.. $2K is about right.

You need to convince the upper management that spending more on a computer now WILL increase productivity. Spending a couple hundred bucks more on a computer now can save thousands (yes thousands) in your time over the life of the computer.

Did you find this reply helpful ? If so please use the Accept as Solution or Kudos button below.

Down with IDW/DWG files..... Long live 3D PMI... Hurry it up already..
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
2015 Product Design Suite Ultimate
Windows 7 64 bit
Core i7 4820k processor (OC'd to 4.4Ghz), Nvidia GTX 770, 16G RAM


Distinguished Contributor
Vlad.Makarov
Posts: 188
Registered: ‎03-25-2009
Message 3 of 12 (945 Views)

Re: Ivy Bridge or Xeon?

11-07-2012 03:12 PM in reply to: Zoltan78

At $1100 you can get a 3.50Ghz i7 Ivy, 8GB 1866Mhz memory, GTX 650, 180GB Intel SSD.

 

As someone that uses a 5k workstation, let me assure you that Inventor still runs like crap.

High end hardware will not fix a program in need of a rewrite.

______________
Inventor Pro 2012
Vault Pro 2012
Distinguished Contributor
Zoltan78
Posts: 126
Registered: ‎06-21-2005
Message 4 of 12 (921 Views)

Re: Ivy Bridge or Xeon?

11-07-2012 10:57 PM in reply to: mcgyvr

Thanks both of you!

 

mcgyvr: no, I definitely won't get $2000. I've been convicting our executive director since january, so, I'd be very happy if I got "only" a $1100 machine. I've been using this machine for 5 or 6 years, it really slow now, mainly because of the HDD. I have a 160GB HDD with 4GB free space, so a 192GB or 256GB SSD + a 500GB HDD would be awesome, I could install system and Inventor files on SSD. But, if a Xeon + Quadro config performs nothing more than a general mid-range "gamer" config (I guess, at our level of using Inventor), makes my decision way easier.

 

Vlad.Marakov: forgeting Quadro series really makes things easier. I thought something similar config that you wrote.

Zoltan

Software: Inventor Series 2011 SP1 x64
OS: Windows 7 Professional x64
CPU: Core i7-4770K
RAM: 2*4Gb Corsair
VGA: GTX 560 Ti
*Expert Elite*
sam_m
Posts: 598
Registered: ‎11-05-2003
Message 5 of 12 (903 Views)

Re: Ivy Bridge or Xeon?

11-08-2012 01:40 AM in reply to: Zoltan78

Depends on how much rendering, FEA, Moldflow, etc. you're expecting to do...

 

Inventor is only a single-threaded program so an expensive multi-core processor isn't going to help much.  eg a i5 with 4 cores isn't going to be any slower than an i7 with 8 - as Inventor isn't going to do anything with those 4 cores.  Only need to think about an i7 over an i5 if you're doing LOTS of rendering.

 

256GB SSD - why?  All you need on the SSD is the OS, Inventor and other applications, so only really need 50GB.  So 128 GB is probably all you need.

 

Gaming v workstation gpu - been covered to death, so have a dig about, but Inventor uses DirectX (gaming) graphics system instead of OpenGL (more workstation orientated) so gaming cards are fine.  Nvidia seem to work better and just try to keep drivers up to date (all drivers, not just the gpu, inc motherboard/chipset, etc.  plus Windows Update).

 

So, in all honesty, look for a $1000 gaming system as a good start...  eg:

http://www.tomshardware.com/reviews/build-a-pc-overclock-benchmark,3276.html

(but would think about upping the SSD from 60GB to 128)

----------
Please mark this response as "Accept as Solution" if it answers your question...
but please understand that the solution may not be the answer you're wanting to hear...

If you have found any post to be helpful, even if it's not a direct solution, then please provide that author kudos - spread that love :smileyvery-happy:

Lithium - helping nntp users with mania, depression and headaches
Distinguished Contributor
Zoltan78
Posts: 126
Registered: ‎06-21-2005
Message 6 of 12 (898 Views)

Re: Ivy Bridge or Xeon?

11-08-2012 02:00 AM in reply to: sam_m

I do some rendering but none of the rest. Thank you for enlighting me about Inventor using DirectX. I've ended up the config below (there's some hungarian text, but you can ignore them). It is about $890+VAT (27%).

 

 

20121108_uj_ceges_gepek.png

Zoltan

Software: Inventor Series 2011 SP1 x64
OS: Windows 7 Professional x64
CPU: Core i7-4770K
RAM: 2*4Gb Corsair
VGA: GTX 560 Ti
Distinguished Contributor
richiesuk
Posts: 222
Registered: ‎02-03-2009
Message 7 of 12 (886 Views)

Re: Ivy Bridge or Xeon?

11-08-2012 02:51 AM in reply to: Zoltan78

:smileysurprised:fftopic

 

szia zoli, merre melozol?

 

udv:

Ricsi

Distinguished Contributor
Zoltan78
Posts: 126
Registered: ‎06-21-2005
Message 8 of 12 (873 Views)

Re: Ivy Bridge or Xeon?

11-08-2012 03:36 AM in reply to: richiesuk

Let's continue this in PM :smileyhappy:

Zoltan

Software: Inventor Series 2011 SP1 x64
OS: Windows 7 Professional x64
CPU: Core i7-4770K
RAM: 2*4Gb Corsair
VGA: GTX 560 Ti
*Expert Elite*
sam_m
Posts: 598
Registered: ‎11-05-2003
Message 9 of 12 (846 Views)

Re: Ivy Bridge or Xeon?

11-08-2012 05:56 AM in reply to: Zoltan78

how long are you planning on using the pc for?  only ask because that PSU is 430W and I dont think it can handle a graphics card more powerful than a GTX650.  So... If you wanted to upgrade the gpu in a year or 2 then you would also need a new PSU, so why not plan ahead?

 

Speaking of the GTX650 - it's not an amazingly good graphics card, just see how far down the benchmark it is:

http://www.videocardbenchmark.net/high_end_gpus.html

 

Personally, if I was to build a pc today, I would go for a GTX670 (660ti or 570 if you can't afford a 670) - plus a 600-700W psu to give me plenty of headroom for upgrading in future.  I know the GTX670 is a lot more than the GTX650 but hopefully you can find a GTX570 for only a little bit more and it is a lot more powerful.

----------
Please mark this response as "Accept as Solution" if it answers your question...
but please understand that the solution may not be the answer you're wanting to hear...

If you have found any post to be helpful, even if it's not a direct solution, then please provide that author kudos - spread that love :smileyvery-happy:

Lithium - helping nntp users with mania, depression and headaches
Distinguished Contributor
Zoltan78
Posts: 126
Registered: ‎06-21-2005
Message 10 of 12 (838 Views)

Re: Ivy Bridge or Xeon?

11-08-2012 06:13 AM in reply to: sam_m

Based on our company's tendency, for 5 years, at least. 430W is more than enough for a 670 GTX, too. 500W+ PSU needed only for CF / SLI configurations. This whole config won't exceed 300W from the outlet, I bet.

 

I have a i5-2500K / GTX 560 Ti / SSD / 3 HDD config at home with a Corsair VX450W PSU. I've never measured its power consumption... yet. But now I'm curious.

Zoltan

Software: Inventor Series 2011 SP1 x64
OS: Windows 7 Professional x64
CPU: Core i7-4770K
RAM: 2*4Gb Corsair
VGA: GTX 560 Ti
Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.