Inventor General Discussion

Inventor General Discussion

Reply
Valued Contributor
divingdoug
Posts: 102
Registered: ‎03-01-2011
Message 1 of 24 (248 Views)

Is there a method to change the owning project file

248 Views, 23 Replies
02-15-2013 06:12 AM

If I have a part or assy file open, can I change what project [file] that the part or assembly belongs to?

*Pro
ampster
Posts: 1,271
Registered: ‎07-26-2005
Message 2 of 24 (240 Views)

Re: Is there a method to change the owning project file

02-15-2013 06:24 AM in reply to: divingdoug

pack n go into another project folder would be one if not the only way?!?!

 

Not aware of any option to switch projects on parts & assy's after they've been modeled in another project.

Valued Contributor
divingdoug
Posts: 102
Registered: ‎03-01-2011
Message 3 of 24 (232 Views)

Re: Is there a method to change the owning project file

02-15-2013 06:27 AM in reply to: ampster

acknowledged

 

thanks

*Expert Elite*
LT.Rusty
Posts: 772
Registered: ‎10-23-2012
Message 4 of 24 (210 Views)

Re: Is there a method to change the owning project file

02-15-2013 07:26 AM in reply to: ampster

Can't you just copy the files into another project? 

 

From what I can tell, it seems that Inventor isn't tracking what project file the .IPT or .IAM is associated with, so much as it's tracking where that .IPT or .IAM is located, and what project file that location is associated with.

 

When I get error messages about the file I'm trying to open not being part of the active project, it's because I'm opening something from a location outside of my currently active project.  I just move the file and things are fine again.


___________________________________________________________

Product Design Suite Ultimate 2013, 2014, 2015

Work: Dell Precision T1600 (Xeon E3-1280 / 16GB / 512 GB SSD / 250 GB (Internal) / 1 TB (External) / Quadro 600)
Home: i7-4770k / ASUS Z87-Pro / 16GB / 250 GB SSD / 1 TB HDD / 3 TB USB3 HDD / Radeon R9-270X 4GB
Laptop: Toshiba Satellite P755-S5269 (i7-2630QM / 8 GB / 250 GB SSD / 750 GB HDD / GT540M)

*Pro
ampster
Posts: 1,271
Registered: ‎07-26-2005
Message 5 of 24 (202 Views)

Re: Is there a method to change the owning project file

02-15-2013 07:53 AM in reply to: LT.Rusty

You could manually copy the files sure, but due to file links and just in case there's Content Center parts that I did not save into the Project folder (and have forgotten or unsure if there are any CC parts in there), I've always used Pack N Go to ensure the links stay put.

Valued Mentor
coreyparks
Posts: 485
Registered: ‎06-07-2010
Message 6 of 24 (183 Views)

Re: Is there a method to change the owning project file

02-15-2013 11:26 AM in reply to: ampster

Or you could do what we do and just make one project file that encompasses all file locations.

Please mark this response "Accept as solution" if it answers your question.
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Corey Parks
IV2014 Factory Design Suite Ultimate
Windows 7 64 bit
Synergis Adept document management software
16gb RAM --- Nvidia Quadro 4000 2gb
Valued Contributor
divingdoug
Posts: 102
Registered: ‎03-01-2011
Message 7 of 24 (182 Views)

Re: Is there a method to change the owning project file

02-15-2013 11:38 AM in reply to: divingdoug

Unfortunately, we have different departments that operate free willy.  An no one with authority cares to take on actual cad management for the entire location.

 

If I had authority I would but half the users would ignore the protocols anyway when managment doesn't reinforce the rules.

 

 

So if I read the information above right, if someone creates a part / assy on their drive and I copy it over, it will open under my all encompasing project?

 

If I instruct them to copy and create assy's on my [network] drive, it will still open under my project?

 

If that is the case, it should be a non-issue.

*Expert Elite*
LT.Rusty
Posts: 772
Registered: ‎10-23-2012
Message 8 of 24 (177 Views)

Re: Is there a method to change the owning project file

02-15-2013 11:50 AM in reply to: divingdoug

divingdoug wrote:

Unfortunately, we have different departments that operate free willy.  An no one with authority cares to take on actual cad management for the entire location.

 

If I had authority I would but half the users would ignore the protocols anyway when managment doesn't reinforce the rules.

 

 

So if I read the information above right, if someone creates a part / assy on their drive and I copy it over, it will open under my all encompasing project?

 

If I instruct them to copy and create assy's on my [network] drive, it will still open under my project?

 

If that is the case, it should be a non-issue.


 

 

So long as all the files are located in a directory that's included in your project, then there's no problem. 

 

Well, maybe - if the directory is included as a library, then anything in it will be read-only.  I've got one main project file that I've set up, which addresses my workspace, and I've got libraries that are accessed by that project.  I've got a separate project that I use when I want to edit my hardware library.

 

But, yeah, if everyone copies their stuff onto a network location and you copy the files from there to your workspace, then so long as you got all the components you'll be good to go.  If stuff is from content center, you just have to make sure that everyone is working off the same content center libraries, and you should regenerate all the parts from there pretty transparently.


___________________________________________________________

Product Design Suite Ultimate 2013, 2014, 2015

Work: Dell Precision T1600 (Xeon E3-1280 / 16GB / 512 GB SSD / 250 GB (Internal) / 1 TB (External) / Quadro 600)
Home: i7-4770k / ASUS Z87-Pro / 16GB / 250 GB SSD / 1 TB HDD / 3 TB USB3 HDD / Radeon R9-270X 4GB
Laptop: Toshiba Satellite P755-S5269 (i7-2630QM / 8 GB / 250 GB SSD / 750 GB HDD / GT540M)

*Pro
ampster
Posts: 1,271
Registered: ‎07-26-2005
Message 9 of 24 (167 Views)

Re: Is there a method to change the owning project file

02-15-2013 12:07 PM in reply to: LT.Rusty

to avoid the worry or concern as to whether or not you got all the files, this is where Pack N Go and including the "Copy to Single Path" option comes in handy  :smileywink:

*Expert Elite*
LT.Rusty
Posts: 772
Registered: ‎10-23-2012
Message 10 of 24 (163 Views)

Re: Is there a method to change the owning project file

02-15-2013 12:11 PM in reply to: ampster

Thing about Pack-n-Go, it works best when you've already got the project file.  If you're using it outside of your project, it gets a little squirrely.  For instance, I've got an external drive that's got about 10 years worth of Inventor / MDT / ACAD files on it, in about 15,000 directories.  Pack-n-Go is pretty much worthless there, because it doesn't recognize the directory structure.


___________________________________________________________

Product Design Suite Ultimate 2013, 2014, 2015

Work: Dell Precision T1600 (Xeon E3-1280 / 16GB / 512 GB SSD / 250 GB (Internal) / 1 TB (External) / Quadro 600)
Home: i7-4770k / ASUS Z87-Pro / 16GB / 250 GB SSD / 1 TB HDD / 3 TB USB3 HDD / Radeon R9-270X 4GB
Laptop: Toshiba Satellite P755-S5269 (i7-2630QM / 8 GB / 250 GB SSD / 750 GB HDD / GT540M)

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.