Inventor General Discussion

Inventor General Discussion

Reply
Distinguished Contributor
Orest_iy
Posts: 317
Registered: ‎03-22-2008
Message 1 of 9 (2,374 Views)
Accepted Solution

Is it possible to set the drawing Scale to the Title Block?

2374 Views, 8 Replies
10-26-2011 02:53 PM

Hello

Is it possible to set the drawing Scale to the Title Block?

Seems like it is missing parameter...

Regards,

Orest

Hi Orest,

 

If what you can read in our blog post below is not what you are asking for, please, provide more details.

 

Base view scale in title block

 

Thanks and regards,

 

Alessandro

Active Member
sambaxter23
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎09-21-2011
Message 2 of 9 (2,360 Views)

Re: Is it possible to set the drawing Scale to the Title Block?

10-26-2011 05:38 PM in reply to: Orest_iy

Do you mean to do something along the lines of automatically set the scale value in the title block to the first base view? So that the value in the title block is dynamically updated with the base view?

Distinguished Contributor
Orest_iy
Posts: 317
Registered: ‎03-22-2008
Message 3 of 9 (2,352 Views)

Re: Is it possible to set the drawing Scale to the Title Block?

10-26-2011 11:40 PM in reply to: sambaxter23

No

Here is much more simple task.

I just want to see the actual drawing Scale in my Title Block but did not find this variable in any

of Drawing properties list.

 

Orest

Product Support
alessandro.gasso
Posts: 333
Registered: ‎06-10-2010
Message 4 of 9 (2,340 Views)

Re: Is it possible to set the drawing Scale to the Title Block?

10-27-2011 01:43 AM in reply to: Orest_iy

Hi Orest,

 

If what you can read in our blog post below is not what you are asking for, please, provide more details.

 

Base view scale in title block

 

Thanks and regards,

 

Alessandro



Alessandro Gasso
Product Support Technical Lead
MFG - Inventor
Autodesk, Inc.
Distinguished Contributor
Orest_iy
Posts: 317
Registered: ‎03-22-2008
Message 5 of 9 (2,337 Views)

Re: Is it possible to set the drawing Scale to the Title Block?

10-27-2011 02:32 AM in reply to: alessandro.gasso

Alessandro

 

Thank you, it works!!!

Best regards,

Orest Yavtushenko

Distinguished Contributor
SKinzel
Posts: 133
Registered: ‎06-12-2007
Message 6 of 9 (2,300 Views)

Re: Is it possible to set the drawing Scale to the Title Block?

10-27-2011 12:10 PM in reply to: alessandro.gasso

Thank you for this. 

Stuart Kinzel
Inventor 2013-64bit, HP EliteBook8740w Intel Core i5CPU 2.67 GHz
8GB memory
Windows 7 64bit
Mentor
Talayoe
Posts: 292
Registered: ‎10-17-2011
Message 7 of 9 (2,202 Views)

Re: Is it possible to set the drawing Scale to the Title Block?

12-18-2011 06:21 PM in reply to: sambaxter23

sambaxter23 wrote:

Do you mean to do something along the lines of automatically set the scale value in the title block to the first base view? So that the value in the title block is dynamically updated with the base view?



Sorry to revive an old completed thread, but it got my interest. I would like to know how one can accomplish this. I have my title block setup nicely. But on A size it goes off the paper a little, and on F size its so small you can barely read it.

 

How would one go about setting a scale factor based on sheet size to the title block?

 

tks!

-Randy

----------------------
Inventor 2015 PDS
*Pro
sbixler
Posts: 1,968
Registered: ‎09-15-2003
Message 8 of 9 (2,185 Views)

Re: Is it possible to set the drawing Scale to the Title Block?

12-19-2011 04:35 AM in reply to: Talayoe

We use two title blocks-- one for A & B size sheets, the other for C, D, & E.  They're pretty much identical, except that the smaller one is scaled to 3/4 the size of the larger.  Since they are almost never edited, that doesn't cause too much pain.

 

I suppose you could create a user parameter and have every dimension in your title block definition include that parameter as a multiplier, so you could set the scale for each drawing as you wish.  However, it would be difficult (impossible?) to change text size that way.  But, with iLogic there are nearly infinite possibilities, so you might look into that also (iLogic automatically chooses the correct border and title block for us when we tell it what size sheet we will be using).

Distinguished Contributor
drguitarum2005
Posts: 196
Registered: ‎10-08-2012
Message 9 of 9 (1,881 Views)

Re: Is it possible to set the drawing Scale to the Title Block?

12-05-2012 12:35 PM in reply to: Orest_iy

Reviving an older thread, is there a way to add this to just one title block and have it get the base view PER SHEET? Our drawings never have a "regular" number of sheets. One may have one sheet and another may have 30. I can't be making 30 different title blocks and whatnot. Thanks.

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Do you have 60 seconds to spare? The Autodesk Community Team is revamping our site ranking system and we want your feedback! Please click here to launch the 5 question survey. As always your input is greatly appreciated.