Inventor General Discussion

Inventor General Discussion

Reply
Distinguished Contributor
mohandis2
Posts: 186
Registered: ‎04-22-2008
Message 1 of 14 (115 Views)

Is fully constraint sketch necessary to have a part adaptive?

115 Views, 13 Replies
12-12-2008 10:41 PM
I copied a profile from Autocad into my sketch, it was like 143 dimensions needed to fully constraint the sketch, actually I do not need these dimensions as long as the profile is good, when I extrude it and make it adaptive, the adaptive sign shows up, but the extrusion doesn't adapt to fit the new length, Is that due to that missing 143 dimensions?

Thanks.
*Dennis Jeffrey
Message 2 of 14 (115 Views)

Re: Is fully constraint sketch necessary to have a part adaptive?

12-13-2008 05:47 AM in reply to: mohandis2

Could have something to do with it.. 143 dimensions and
constraints? Sounds like an overly complex sketch. If it's a complex purchased
extrusion, then apply fixed constraints to the entire sketch. Not my
recommendation without seeing the sketch, but it might do in a
pinch.


--
Dennis Jeffrey, Autodesk Inventor Certified
Expert
Autodesk Manufacturing Implementation Certified
Expert.
Instructor/Author/Sr. App Engr.
AIP 2008 SP2, AIP 2009-SP1
PcCillin AV
HP zv5000  AMD64 2GB - Geforce Go 440, Driver: .8185
XP
Pro SP3, Windows XP Silver Theme

href="http://teknigroup.com">http://teknigroup.com
Distinguished Contributor
Josh_Petitt
Posts: 5,400
Registered: ‎09-21-2004
Message 3 of 14 (115 Views)

Re: Is fully constraint sketch necessary to have a part adaptive?

12-13-2008 08:15 AM in reply to: mohandis2
quick way to test, apply a fix constraint to all sketch lines. Then the sketch will be fully constrained.
*Blair Stunder
Message 4 of 14 (115 Views)

Re: Is fully constraint sketch necessary to have a part adaptive?

12-13-2008 11:02 AM in reply to: mohandis2

My thought would be: the better constrained your
sketch is, the more stable it will be. Depending how you drive your model
through Adaptivity, the less chance you will have of your model reacting in a
unplanned or unwanted way.


--
IV2009-Pro Sp1
Dell 670 dual Xeon - 3.2
3gb memory,
SCSI320-15k rpm
XP-Pro, sp3
Quadro FX3400: Driver: 178.26
Direct3D
SpacePilot Rel V: 3.6.10 Dvr V: 6.6.4 Firmware 3.12


style="PADDING-RIGHT: 0px; PADDING-LEFT: 5px; MARGIN-LEFT: 5px; BORDER-LEFT: #000000 2px solid; MARGIN-RIGHT: 0px">
quick
way to test, apply a fix constraint to all sketch lines. Then the sketch will
be fully constrained.
Distinguished Contributor
mohandis2
Posts: 186
Registered: ‎04-22-2008
Message 5 of 14 (115 Views)

Re: Is fully constraint sketch necessary to have a part adaptive?

12-13-2008 08:26 PM in reply to: mohandis2
Well, I did apply fixed constraint to all the profile, it's fully constraint now, but still can not get the adaptivity works.
*Dennis Jeffrey
Message 6 of 14 (115 Views)

Re: Is fully constraint sketch necessary to have a part adaptive?

12-13-2008 09:43 PM in reply to: mohandis2

Are you trying to adapt the extrusion LENGTH or the profile
geometry?


--
Dennis Jeffrey, Autodesk Inventor Certified
Expert
Autodesk Manufacturing Implementation Certified
Expert.
Instructor/Author/Sr. App Engr.
AIP 2008 SP2, AIP 2009-SP1
PcCillin AV
HP zv5000  AMD64 2GB - Geforce Go 440, Driver: .8185
XP
Pro SP3, Windows XP Silver Theme

href="http://teknigroup.com">http://teknigroup.com
Distinguished Contributor
mohandis2
Posts: 186
Registered: ‎04-22-2008
Message 7 of 14 (115 Views)

Re: Is fully constraint sketch necessary to have a part adaptive?

12-13-2008 09:50 PM in reply to: mohandis2
the extrusion length.
*Dennis Jeffrey
Message 8 of 14 (115 Views)

Re: Is fully constraint sketch necessary to have a part adaptive?

12-13-2008 11:52 PM in reply to: mohandis2

Can you zip and post the part?


--
Dennis Jeffrey, Autodesk Inventor Certified
Expert
Autodesk Manufacturing Implementation Certified
Expert.
Instructor/Author/Sr. App Engr.
AIP 2008 SP2, AIP 2009-SP1
PcCillin AV
HP zv5000  AMD64 2GB - Geforce Go 440, Driver: .8185
XP
Pro SP3, Windows XP Silver Theme

href="http://teknigroup.com">http://teknigroup.com
Distinguished Contributor
mohandis2
Posts: 186
Registered: ‎04-22-2008
Message 9 of 14 (115 Views)

Re: Is fully constraint sketch necessary to have a part adaptive?

12-14-2008 07:07 PM in reply to: mohandis2
here you go.
*Dennis Jeffrey
Message 10 of 14 (115 Views)

Re: Is fully constraint sketch necessary to have a part adaptive?

12-14-2008 09:39 PM in reply to: mohandis2

You are not on IV2009. What version of IV are you
using?


--
Dennis Jeffrey, Autodesk Inventor Certified
Expert
Autodesk Manufacturing Implementation Certified
Expert.
Instructor/Author/Sr. App Engr.
AIP 2008 SP2, AIP 2009-SP1
PcCillin AV
HP zv5000  AMD64 2GB - Geforce Go 440, Driver: .8185
XP
Pro SP3, Windows XP Silver Theme

href="http://teknigroup.com">http://teknigroup.com
Announcements
Autodesk Alert | We are currently working on restoring Previous Version License request access in the Autodesk Subscription Center. If you are a subscription customer and would like to request a Previous Version License, please use this link as a temporary workaround. We apologize for the inconvenience and thank you for your patience.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.