Community
Inventor Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Inventor Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Inventor topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

.ipt to .dwg export problems

26 REPLIES 26
SOLVED
Message 1 of 27
Squawk
2539 Views, 26 Replies

.ipt to .dwg export problems

I'm a noob, but with help from people on this forum and other peoples Q&A I was able to make a foam inlay for in a case.

Then I devided the foam inlay in 4 layers and made a new part from those.

So far, so good..

The last step was to export the top of those 4 layers as .dwg files so that they could be cut out by a machine.

I made a new sketch on the top surface of each layer and used 'projected geometry' to draw all the planned cuts in this new sketch. I have to adjust the thickness of some of the foam cutouts and glue it back in to make different levels of depth in one level. So there are more planned cuts than just lines on the top of the sketch.

Either way, I could do it and ended up with 4 .dwg files (one for each layer) with all the lines on them that needed to be cut.

After all the work, and finally being my projects turn to be cut, the water cutter wrote me the message that the .dwg files were no good, because: they consisted out of points and non-joined lines. The different lines didn't seem to be connected..

I have since googled, experimented and lord knows what. But couldn't both see what he meant and neither find any solution to the problem.

I hope I could explain my problem well enough for you all to understand and really hope that there is a solution for this.

Thanks in advance for all te help!

Squawk

(Attached is the .ipt file of the top layer and the .dwg file I made from it.)

26 REPLIES 26
Message 2 of 27
ampster401
in reply to: Squawk