Inventor General Discussion

Inventor General Discussion

Reply
Active Member
caza
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎09-11-2006
Message 1 of 11 (518 Views)
Accepted Solution

iParts properties not updating in idw

518 Views, 10 Replies
12-09-2011 09:06 AM

I have created iParts with filled out iproperties in them. When I create the idw everything works as it should, however when I go back to my main iPart and change something in its iproperties my idw does not update.

Hi

 

I think you are talking about a limitation of Iparts.

 

The drawing view are linked to the Ipart Child.

 

If you change an Iproperty in the Ipart Parent, whereas the Ipart Child has already been generated, you need to recreate the Ipart Child.

 

A Solution for that would be to :

  1.  implement the Iproperty you want to change in the Ipart Table and change the Iprop directly in the table
  2. Create a drawing view placing the "Active Family Child" of the Ipart. 

Thank you so much, I am currently linking my model state to the active family member and am currently looking at which iproperties to put in my table. I just wanted to make sure I was doing it correctly and it was a limitation or a bug.

 

Thanks to all for the help.

*Expert Elite*
mcgyvr
Posts: 6,950
Registered: ‎12-01-2004
Message 2 of 11 (514 Views)

Re: iParts properties not updating in idw

12-09-2011 09:20 AM in reply to: caza

rebuild all/regenerate members again

Did you find this reply helpful ? If so please use the Accept as Solution or Kudos button below.

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
2015 Product Design Suite Ultimate
Windows 7 64 bit
Core i7 4820k processor (OC'd to 4.4Ghz), Nvidia GTX 770, 16G RAM


Active Member
caza
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎09-11-2006
Message 3 of 11 (507 Views)

Re: iParts properties not updating in idw

12-09-2011 10:00 AM in reply to: caza

I cant find the regenerate file. I can do it by going back into the edit table but it still will not update the idw. It tells me my views need to update but the update button does not do anything. I have to go and open up each individual part file that the table created and update them for it to show up in my idw. This is also not computer related as I can recreate this issue on any Inventor 2012 machine.

*Expert Elite*
mcgyvr
Posts: 6,950
Registered: ‎12-01-2004
Message 4 of 11 (501 Views)

Re: iParts properties not updating in idw

12-09-2011 11:59 AM in reply to: caza

Sorry, to regenerate you expand all your members, select them all and right click and click the "generate files" button

See attached image

Did you find this reply helpful ? If so please use the Accept as Solution or Kudos button below.

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
2015 Product Design Suite Ultimate
Windows 7 64 bit
Core i7 4820k processor (OC'd to 4.4Ghz), Nvidia GTX 770, 16G RAM


Active Member
caza
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎09-11-2006
Message 5 of 11 (480 Views)

Re: iParts properties not updating in idw

12-11-2011 08:00 AM in reply to: caza

Yes, I have tried that but the update iproperties still do not show up in my idw. The idw doesn't even show that the view needs to be updated, nor does it update if I switch between my model states.

Distinguished Mentor
IgorMir
Posts: 509
Registered: ‎08-02-2003
Message 6 of 11 (473 Views)

Re: iParts properties not updating in idw

12-11-2011 03:26 PM in reply to: caza

In such a case (I presume that you have done everything right) - delete the child in question of that iPart in the folder where they are stored and run Generate File again.

Alternately - check out that the drawing views are associative with the model. There is a corresponding check  mark in the Edit View DB.

Regards,

Igor.

 


caza wrote:

Yes, I have tried that but the update iproperties still do not show up in my idw. The idw doesn't even show that the view needs to be updated, nor does it update if I switch between my model states.


 

Web: www.meqc.com.au
Active Member
caza
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎09-11-2006
Message 7 of 11 (465 Views)

Re: iParts properties not updating in idw

12-11-2011 07:17 PM in reply to: caza

Ok, so the associative option from my understanding is only for the view representation and not for updating the iproperties in an iPart. Also, deleting the files and then generating new ones worked in updating the idw however only once. If I go and change the iproperties again the idw does not update again. There is definitely something wrong as I can recreate this problem on all inventor computers. Has anyone else tried to recreate this issue? Is this a limitation of iParts?

Distinguished Mentor
IgorMir
Posts: 509
Registered: ‎08-02-2003
Message 8 of 11 (462 Views)

Re: iParts properties not updating in idw

12-11-2011 07:54 PM in reply to: caza

I am out of suggestions for now. Could you please take a snapshot (Print Screen) of the iPart Author Table where the iProperties are listed and posted it here?

Igor.

Web: www.meqc.com.au
Product Support
pierre.masson
Posts: 227
Registered: ‎05-27-2010
Message 9 of 11 (449 Views)

Re: iParts properties not updating in idw

12-12-2011 07:04 AM in reply to: IgorMir

Hi

 

I think you are talking about a limitation of Iparts.

 

The drawing view are linked to the Ipart Child.

 

If you change an Iproperty in the Ipart Parent, whereas the Ipart Child has already been generated, you need to recreate the Ipart Child.

 

A Solution for that would be to :

  1.  implement the Iproperty you want to change in the Ipart Table and change the Iprop directly in the table
  2. Create a drawing view placing the "Active Family Child" of the Ipart. 
Pierre Masson Product Support Specialist PS MFG EMEA Autodesk, Inc.
Active Member
caza
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎09-11-2006
Message 10 of 11 (441 Views)

Re: iParts properties not updating in idw

12-12-2011 09:23 AM in reply to: pierre.masson

Thank you so much, I am currently linking my model state to the active family member and am currently looking at which iproperties to put in my table. I just wanted to make sure I was doing it correctly and it was a limitation or a bug.

 

Thanks to all for the help.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.