Inventor General Discussion

Inventor General Discussion

Reply
Distinguished Contributor
jbelle7435
Posts: 228
Registered: ‎07-28-2005
Message 1 of 11 (226 Views)

iParts in iAssemblies

226 Views, 10 Replies
10-03-2013 08:51 AM

I created an Ipart and works well...

 

I created an Isemmbly with the Ipart Inside. Now when I create a 2nd assembly and update the table to show a different look of the ipart it says

 

"errors occurred while seeting factory to speficied member"

-Failed to save factory member

 

Am I doing something wrong or is this not possible?

 

I did table replace to do this for the iparts in the table. Is that the right command to use for this situation?

Inventor 2012
*Expert Elite*
mcgyvr
Posts: 7,248
Registered: ‎12-01-2004
Message 2 of 11 (225 Views)

Re: iParts in iAssemblies

10-03-2013 08:52 AM in reply to: jbelle7435

did you generate the members of the ipart?

 

 

Did you find this reply helpful ? If so please use the Accept as Solution or Kudos button below.

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
2015 Product Design Suite Ultimate
Windows 7 64 bit
Core i7 4820k processor (OC'd to 4.4Ghz), Nvidia GTX 770, 16G RAM


Distinguished Contributor
jbelle7435
Posts: 228
Registered: ‎07-28-2005
Message 3 of 11 (223 Views)

Re: iParts in iAssemblies

10-03-2013 08:55 AM in reply to: mcgyvr

If you mean created from scratch I say yes? unless you mean something else

Inventor 2012
Distinguished Contributor
jbelle7435
Posts: 228
Registered: ‎07-28-2005
Message 4 of 11 (217 Views)

Re: iParts in iAssemblies

10-03-2013 08:59 AM in reply to: jbelle7435

funny thing I nooticed when I accept it does update one of the iparts.

 

I have three of the same ipart next to each other and per iassembly I want them to change also.

 

One out of three changed which is something but see if I can get all three to work

Inventor 2012
Distinguished Mentor
ccarreiras
Posts: 974
Registered: ‎02-04-2010
Message 5 of 11 (211 Views)

Re: iParts in iAssemblies

10-03-2013 09:01 AM in reply to: jbelle7435

Hi!

 

 

It means:

 

Open the sub-assembly and generate all the family:

 

Select all the "Childrens" and select "Generate files"

 

1.png

 

Did you find this reply helpful ? If so, use the  Mark Solutions!  Accept as Solution or Give Kudos!Kudos - Thank you!

Regards.
CarlosC

Autodesk Inventor 2014 Certified Professional
Autodesk Factory Design Suite Ultimate 2015
Windows 7 64Bit
*Expert Elite*
mcgyvr
Posts: 7,248
Registered: ‎12-01-2004
Message 6 of 11 (208 Views)

Re: iParts in iAssemblies

10-03-2013 09:02 AM in reply to: jbelle7435

jbelle7435 wrote:

If you mean created from scratch I say yes? unless you mean something else


No I mean "generate members".

When you create an ipart and create members you need to expand the table node in the model browser, select all the members, right click and select "Generate Files"

Did you find this reply helpful ? If so please use the Accept as Solution or Kudos button below.

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
2015 Product Design Suite Ultimate
Windows 7 64 bit
Core i7 4820k processor (OC'd to 4.4Ghz), Nvidia GTX 770, 16G RAM


Distinguished Contributor
jbelle7435
Posts: 228
Registered: ‎07-28-2005
Message 7 of 11 (206 Views)

Re: iParts in iAssemblies

10-03-2013 09:05 AM in reply to: ccarreiras

hmmmm.

 

I just did that as specified by selecting all my iparts and Right cllick and Select "GENERATE FILES" with ONLY the .ipt(iPart) file open and it said as well

 

"Failed to save factory member"

-faciled to save factory member"

Inventor 2012
*Expert Elite*
mcgyvr
Posts: 7,248
Registered: ‎12-01-2004
Message 8 of 11 (202 Views)

Re: iParts in iAssemblies

10-03-2013 09:07 AM in reply to: jbelle7435

jbelle7435 wrote:

hmmmm.

 

I just did that with ONLY the .ipt(iPart) file open and it said as well

 

"Failed to save factory member"

-faciled to save factory member"


Right click on the table node and select "edit table" then press the verify button.. Any errors or issues there?

 

Try making another one and see if you have the same problems

Did you find this reply helpful ? If so please use the Accept as Solution or Kudos button below.

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
2015 Product Design Suite Ultimate
Windows 7 64 bit
Core i7 4820k processor (OC'd to 4.4Ghz), Nvidia GTX 770, 16G RAM


Distinguished Contributor
jbelle7435
Posts: 228
Registered: ‎07-28-2005
Message 9 of 11 (194 Views)

Re: iParts in iAssemblies

10-03-2013 09:20 AM in reply to: mcgyvr

I did that and when I selected verfiy no errors came up

Inventor 2012
Distinguished Contributor
jbelle7435
Posts: 228
Registered: ‎07-28-2005
Message 10 of 11 (188 Views)

Re: iParts in iAssemblies

10-03-2013 09:29 AM in reply to: jbelle7435

In my assembly as a test before I setup the iassemblies with this..

 

I have 3 of the same ipart(01 thru 04 types)

 

They are all at 01 at 1st. When I go to the 1st one, RC and "Change component" to 02 its fine. But when I changed the 2nd one to 02 and the error comes up. "Failed to save to factory memebr"

 

Initial

 

ipart-01<---Change to 02 works

ipart-01<---Change to 02 Error

ipart-01<--Try to change it to 03 Error.

 

They are the same at the get go but once I start changing more than one it gets the error

Inventor 2012
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Do you have 60 seconds to spare? The Autodesk Community Team is revamping our site ranking system and we want your feedback! Please click here to launch the 5 question survey. As always your input is greatly appreciated.