Community
Inventor Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Inventor Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Inventor topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

iPart/iAssembly insert position

3 REPLIES 3
SOLVED
Message 1 of 4
ProfileLightingLtd
435 Views, 3 Replies

iPart/iAssembly insert position

Hi All

I am new to Inventor and am making an iAssembly.

The part is a row of battery's with endcaps either end, The endcaps have slots for fixing. The manufacture recommends fixing centres but these fall in a position where I cant constrain to my main assembly using the geometry of the endcaps so I want to make some kind of axis or invisible geometry to constrain to.

Is this possible and how?

Thanks

3 REPLIES 3
Message 2 of 4
mcgyvr
in reply to: ProfileLightingLtd

sure.. simply add whatever you need in the assembly environment. Either a sketched surface or adding workplanes/axis/points,etc...

Note you can also constrain with the assemblies origin planes,etc...

It might be better to adjust the placement of the parts in the assembly to be able to easily use origin planes for constraints without having to create additional ones.

This should be a simple task for someone with proper training.. And could be a continual nightmare for you if you attempt to "fudge" it now. 

I'd suggest any newbie in Inventor using it professionally to beg their boss for at least a day or 2 of proper training.. Spending a bit of money now can save you thousands of dollars in mistakes in the future. 

I'd suggest posting a pack and go of the assembly.. Some users here will take a look and offer suggestions,etc...

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Inventor 2023 - Dell Precision 5570

Did you find this reply helpful ? If so please use the Accept Solution button below.
Maybe buy me a beer through Venmo @mcgyvr1269
Message 3 of 4
ProfileLightingLtd
in reply to: mcgyvr