Inventor General Discussion

Inventor General Discussion

Reply
Distinguished Contributor
shastu
Posts: 1,809
Registered: ‎12-10-2003
Message 1 of 14 (59 Views)

iPart column as a user defined field?

59 Views, 13 Replies
11-21-2002 04:10 AM
Is there anyway to make a column user defined? For example, on steel shapes right now in MDT6 we are inputting a steel shape and you enter in the length you want. Then in our BOM we just keep track of the raw stock code and in the description the length is added automatically because of the equation that I have set up. This works very well for us because we don't want to have to keep track of every single length in 1/16 increments when it is just raw stock. So how do I do this in Inventor with iParts? Basically, I would like to be able to have a key called "length" that they type in for there part, so that I don't have to have a row in my ipart factory for each and every length requirement which may be never ending.
Valued Contributor
davej
Posts: 61
Registered: ‎07-25-2003
Message 2 of 14 (59 Views)

Re: iPart column as a user defined field?

11-21-2002 04:23 AM in reply to: shastu
Read Sean's tutorial on iParts. It talks about making "ranges" for inputs. Set up exactly like you just described.
Distinguished Contributor
shastu
Posts: 1,809
Registered: ‎12-10-2003
Message 3 of 14 (59 Views)

Re:

11-21-2002 04:26 AM in reply to: shastu
Thanks, I will look into it. Sounds like I need to do a little more research before I post.
*Dotson, Sean
Message 4 of 14 (59 Views)

Re:

11-21-2002 04:34 AM in reply to: shastu
In particular you want to look at the one on Custom
iParts.  These are useful for (but not restricted to) parts that are
linear in nature and can be made at many different length (like bar stock,
extrusions etc..)


--
Sean Dotson, PE

href="http://www.sdotson.com">http://www.sdotson.com

...sleep is for the
weak..
-----------------------------------------


style="PADDING-RIGHT: 0px; PADDING-LEFT: 5px; MARGIN-LEFT: 5px; BORDER-LEFT: #000000 2px solid; MARGIN-RIGHT: 0px">
Thanks,
I will look into it. Sounds like I need to do a little more research before I
post.
Distinguished Contributor
shastu
Posts: 1,809
Registered: ‎12-10-2003
Message 5 of 14 (59 Views)

Re:

11-21-2002 04:40 AM in reply to: shastu
O.K. the tutorial only shows how to set the range. But, unless I missed it, doesn't talk about the BOM part of it. In the description I want to capture the length. For Example HRS-FLAT-3 X 4 X 16. The length is 16. How do I get it in the description based on what they input?
*Dotson, Sean
Message 6 of 14 (59 Views)

Re:

11-21-2002 04:52 AM in reply to: shastu

 

it's for regular parts but the same principles
apply...


--
Sean Dotson, PE

href="http://www.sdotson.com">http://www.sdotson.com

...sleep is for the
weak..
-----------------------------------------


style="PADDING-RIGHT: 0px; PADDING-LEFT: 5px; MARGIN-LEFT: 5px; BORDER-LEFT: #000000 2px solid; MARGIN-RIGHT: 0px">
O.K.
the tutorial only shows how to set the range. But, unless I missed it, doesn't
talk about the BOM part of it. In the description I want to capture the
length. For Example HRS-FLAT-3 X 4 X 16. The length is 16. How do I get it in
the description based on what they input?
Distinguished Contributor
shastu
Posts: 1,809
Registered: ‎12-10-2003
Message 7 of 14 (59 Views)

Re:

11-21-2002 05:04 AM in reply to: shastu
No Sean, I think you misunderstood what I am wanting. Correct me if I am wrong, but FAQ # 6202 is just to get the Length field into the parts list. What I am wanting is for me to include the length directly in the Description. For example HRS-FLAT-3 X 4 " X length" where length is the number they inputed.
*Dotson, Sean
Message 8 of 14 (59 Views)

Re:

11-21-2002 05:07 AM in reply to: shastu
Sorry you said BOM before so I assumed part
list.

 

Nope, no way to do this as far as I can tell. 
With custom iparts there is no way to predefine the filename.  You have to
enter the filename (as well as where the part should be kept) manually. 
Possibly with VBA...?


--
Sean Dotson, PE

href="http://www.sdotson.com">http://www.sdotson.com

...sleep is for the
weak..
-----------------------------------------


style="PADDING-RIGHT: 0px; PADDING-LEFT: 5px; MARGIN-LEFT: 5px; BORDER-LEFT: #000000 2px solid; MARGIN-RIGHT: 0px">
No
Sean, I think you misunderstood what I am wanting. Correct me if I am wrong,
but FAQ # 6202 is just to get the Length field into the parts list. What I am
wanting is for me to include the length directly in the Description. For
example HRS-FLAT-3 X 4 " X length" where length is the number they
inputed.
Distinguished Contributor
shastu
Posts: 1,809
Registered: ‎12-10-2003
Message 9 of 14 (59 Views)

Re:

11-21-2002 05:14 AM in reply to: shastu
Sean, I am talking about the BOM, but I didn't want to have to add the length column to parts list. I wanted to be able to just include it in the description column if a length value was used. Steel shapes are the only thing that are going to be like this. In MDT6 I made this happen with the following equation in the BOM Properites Dialog box: = Basically it means if DIM (which is the length) = 0 then display the DESCR-STANDARD, else display the DESCR-STANDARD X DIM.
*Fulford, Drew
Message 10 of 14 (59 Views)

Re:

11-21-2002 05:15 AM in reply to: shastu
Do you care about filename really or what if part number differed from
filename? And that altered part number showed up in parts list.

- drew

--
Drew Fulford B.A.Sc. Systems Engineer
Solid Caddgroup Inc. Burlington, Ontario
Tel: (905)331-9670, Fax: (905)331-7280
Corporate: http://www.solidcadcam.com/

Member of the Autodesk Discussion Forum Moderator Program
Visit my MCAD website @ http://www.mymcad.com/



"shastu" wrote in message
news:f126216.5@WebX.maYIadrTaRb...
> No Sean, I think you misunderstood what I am wanting. Correct me if I am
wrong, but FAQ # 6202 is just to get the Length field into the parts list.
What I am wanting is for me to include the length directly in the
Description. For example HRS-FLAT-3 X 4 " X length" where length is the
number they inputed.
>
Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.