Inventor General Discussion

Inventor General Discussion

Reply
Active Member
Fra.Anz
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎09-20-2011
Message 1 of 21 (1,574 Views)

InventorViewCompute.exe in inventor 2012

1574 Views, 20 Replies
09-20-2011 02:23 AM

Dear all, i've got a problem with my Inventor Professional 2012. i've got the factory desing ultimate suite for 64 bit.

 

my pc has got a multiprocessor it's an inter core i5-2540M  and 8Gb of ram.

I have to do the drawing of an assembly consisting of 53 pieces, the problem is that these pieces have curved geometries, it's an engine.

 

When I start to compute the views it runs the InventorViewCompute.exe, and that's right.

if i decide to stop this work and to close the program (all inventor's windows) and i'm going to see the task manager i find that the InventorViewCompute.exe are still computing and if i don't kill those processes,by forcing them, they still working without stopping.

 

I've read here: http://usa.autodesk.com/adsk/servlet/ps/dl/item?siteID=123112&id=12107410&linkID=9242018 that the InventorViewCompute.exe should stop working when i close the program.

 

I've also have download the sp1 for inventor 2012 and also the one (sp2) for the Factory Design Suite Ultimate 2012.

 

what can i do to resolve my problem?


Hopefully any of you can help me.

 

Best regards,




 



 

 

 

 

Francesca A.
Employee
Shiva_Sundaram
Posts: 238
Registered: ‎05-14-2007
Message 2 of 21 (1,537 Views)

Re: InventorViewCompute.exe in inventor 2012

09-21-2011 07:50 AM in reply to: Fra.Anz

Hi Francesca,

 

This is the first time we are hearing of this problem (and there is always a first time :smileyhappy:.

 

InventorViewCompute.exe is a child process of Inventor.exe and must and should terminate when Inventor.exe is stopped. Its possible that it may be calculating something and may not immediately terminate, but ultimately it should and must as the main processes has exited.

 

Can you elaborate a little bit on the problem?

 

1. Did you verify Inventor.exe has gone from task manager?

2. How long did you wait before you had to force kill InventorViewCompute.exe?

3. Are you on Win7 or XP or Vista? Can you post your system resources?

 

Can you please send us your dataset (IAM, IPT, IDW) so that we can investigate? You can reach me at: sundarsATautodeskDOTcom

 

Thanks

-Shiva Sundaram

Inventor Development

Autodesk, Inc.

 

 

 

*Expert Elite*
Dan.M
Posts: 605
Registered: ‎01-19-2009
Message 3 of 21 (1,520 Views)

Re: InventorViewCompute.exe in inventor 2012

09-21-2011 11:24 AM in reply to: Shiva_Sundaram

Hello,

 

I noticed this process too. It stays there although Inventor is closed. 

I am on WIN7 64 bit.

 

Dan

Member
davebruulsema6944
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎10-30-2009
Message 4 of 21 (1,480 Views)

Re: InventorViewCompute.exe in inventor 2012

10-11-2011 05:54 AM in reply to: Fra.Anz

I have experienced a related issue.  Working with a moderate size idw (3005 occurences, 714 open documents), when the model updates the views recompute and it can take a really long time (1/2 hr).  This morning it was looking to do it again but I saved and shut down Inventor.  3 instances of InventorViewCompute.exe were listed in the task manager (possibly corresponding with 3 views that were in progress of updating?) and they were generating ~50 hard faults per second each.  It took about 5 minutes for the 3 instances to shut down after Inventor shut down.  I did not notice an instance of Inventor.exe at the time but I didn't explicitly look for it either.

 

After everything shut down, I restarted Inventor 2012 and opened the idw again.  3 views updated within 30 seconds.

 

 

System resources:

 

OS Name Microsoft Windows 7 Professional
Version 6.1.7601 Service Pack 1 Build 7601
Other OS Description  Not Available
OS Manufacturer Microsoft Corporation
System Name xxx

System Manufacturer Dell Inc.
System Model Precision M6400
System Type x64-based PC
Processor Intel(R) Core(TM)2 Duo CPU     T9400  @ 2.53GHz, 2535 Mhz, 2 Core(s), 2 Logical Processor(s)
BIOS Version/Date Dell Inc. A07, 11-Aug-2009
SMBIOS Version 2.4
Windows Directory C:\Windows
System Directory C:\Windows\system32
Boot Device \Device\HarddiskVolume1
Locale United States
Hardware Abstraction Layer Version = "6.1.7601.17514"
User Name xxx

Time Zone Eastern Daylight Time
Installed Physical Memory (RAM) 8.00 GB
Total Physical Memory 7.99 GB
Available Physical Memory 3.19 GB
Total Virtual Memory 16.0 GB
Available Virtual Memory 11.0 GB
Page File Space 7.99 GB
Page File C:\pagefile.sys

Active Member
andreasenv
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎04-17-2012
Message 5 of 21 (1,246 Views)

Re: InventorViewCompute.exe in inventor 2012

04-17-2012 06:37 AM in reply to: Fra.Anz

I had the same problem today. I remembered that my collegue had the same problem and got adviced by some support guy to unclick the "Enable background updates" in Application options/Drawing window (restart computer and open the drawings again). My theory why this "works" is because before i did this all the InventorViewCompute.exe threads was working against pagefile.sys wich ofcourse resides on my harddrive and therefore all threads used very little cpu but a lot of swappings on the harddrive. After disabling the background update it seems to do all in memory instead and therefore much faster. If this is true you should really fix it Autodesk..

Employee
Shiva_Sundaram
Posts: 238
Registered: ‎05-14-2007
Message 6 of 21 (1,230 Views)

Re: InventorViewCompute.exe in inventor 2012

04-17-2012 07:31 AM in reply to: andreasenv

 

InventorViewCompute.exe should behave just like any other windows processes. If you are running low on RAM, then it would indeed go to the pagefile, however, if you have plenty of RAM, it will use available RAM to execute itself until the system starts running low. The process has no control over when to use RAM or pagefile as far as runtime memory goes.

 

However, the process needs to cache data and may do so either in memory or in the pagefile depending on the data size. Only in rare cases have we seen this to be a bottleneck. It's true that going to the hard drive does become cumbersome.

 

Those rare cases are when your model might be extremely big or has lots and lots of bodies (threads, composite surfaces, shrinkwrap and /or translated data). For example, just unchecking "thread display" will speed up your drawing views if you have lots and lots of threaded holes.

 

Thanks and please let me know if you have any further questions.

 

-Shiva Sundaram

Inventor Development

 

 

Active Member
andreasenv
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎04-17-2012
Message 7 of 21 (1,211 Views)

Re: InventorViewCompute.exe in inventor 2012

04-17-2012 11:39 PM in reply to: Fra.Anz

In short this was not a special assembly (not many threads at all) nor heavy. I guess this might be a rare case. However this is not a reportable "error" so i wonder how many just curse over their "slow computer" and leave it on over the night. So why doesnt the process that updates the views when i disabled the "Enable backround updates" think it should use the pagefile, or atleast does the whole update very much faster.. does that process have better info of available RAM?

Employee
Shiva_Sundaram
Posts: 238
Registered: ‎05-14-2007
Message 8 of 21 (1,197 Views)

Re: InventorViewCompute.exe in inventor 2012

04-18-2012 07:15 AM in reply to: andreasenv

Hi,

 

Thanks for your questions. I guess I am interested in finding out whether InventorViewCompute.exe is really paging and is hence is slow? We have seen that the process can get slower in those special cases i had mentioned earlier particularly with read/writes. It would be helpful to get the dataset (assy, parts, idw) and analyze it before coming to any meaningful conclusion.

 

Would it be possible for you to send me your files? You can contact me at sundarsATautodeskDOTcom

 

If its too big to zip up under 8 MB, I would suggest that you either split the zips or I can setup an ftp site for you.

 

Thanks

 

-Shiva Sundaram

Inventor Development

 

Active Member
andreasenv
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎04-17-2012
Message 9 of 21 (1,180 Views)

Re: InventorViewCompute.exe in inventor 2012

04-18-2012 11:14 PM in reply to: Fra.Anz

Im sorry, but I cant send you those files due to restrictions. As i said, there wasnt anything pequliar about the drawing/assembly except(!) that they were earlier versions. So maybe there was some migration business going on?

Active Member
andreasenv
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎04-17-2012
Message 10 of 21 (1,179 Views)

Re: InventorViewCompute.exe in inventor 2012

04-18-2012 11:15 PM in reply to: andreasenv

And yes, the process was really using the pagefile..

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.