Community
Inventor Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Inventor Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Inventor topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Inventor Weld Analysis

2 REPLIES 2
Message 1 of 3
balajig8
375 Views, 2 Replies

Inventor Weld Analysis

Hi guys,

I am a student in TU-Munich.

I have tested the weldament option in Inventor and i am little confused with the Contact options.

So basically,

1.I created a small assembly and looked into the stress and deflection.

2.compared it without weld assembly.

please have a look at the document attached and please comment your ideas/views.

I have given a small gap(0.5mm) between the two parts.

I did not use the weldamane option in my cases.I constructed manually by extrude command.

Thanks

Balaji

Shaken not Stirred.
2 REPLIES 2
Message 2 of 3
salariua
in reply to: balajig8

Sometimes I derive the whole assembly and add fillets to simulate welds (the welds are never straight anyway so fillet would do). You then run the FEA on a part rather than an assembly.

In the simulation window what value are you having on the Contacts-Tolerance ?

Adrian S.
blog.ads-sol.com 

AIP2012-2020 i7 6700k AMD R9 370
Did you find this reply helpful ?
If so please use the Accepted Solutions or Like button - Thank you!
Message 3 of 3
laptop_geek
in reply to: balajig8

What are you hoping to gain from this study? If you're looking to design/analyze the weld then simple hand calcs to check for horizontal shear would be the simplest and easiest way to get a good answer. If you are trying to prove or test something you have some modeling errors that will lead to incorrect results.