Inventor General Discussion

Inventor General Discussion

Reply
Member
mxb225
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎11-27-2012
Message 1 of 3 (204 Views)
Accepted Solution

Inventor showing messed up model (on Mac via Parallels)

204 Views, 2 Replies
01-17-2013 06:54 AM

I am an Inventor user, normally using native Windows 7, but I will be working away for a while and have opted to install Inventor on my Mac via Parallels. This seems to work fine, however the model which I have been working on appears (stress on the word "appears") to be corrupted, or at least visually messed up somehow (see attached pictures). The model seems to be stretched off to the right of the screen, and if the model is rotated, whichever edge faces the right gets stretched off (i.e. the model is not broken, only the viewing of the model). It can also be shown that the underlying model is not broken by rendering it, where it appears as normal (see attached). Can anyone think what this might be? I have a 2011 Mac, 4GB RAM (1GB RAM for Parallels Windows 7), 2.3GHz Intel i5, 1GB video RAM also dedicated to Windows 7.

those kind of graphics defects are usually driver-related (or even overheating gpu) - have you tried updating the drivers?  make sure ALL drivers are up to date (gpu, motherboard/chipset, everything).

 

is it any better running Inventor in compatability mode?  (options -> hardware tab)

 

You also could be struggling with memory - 4gb ram but 1gb taken by Parallels and then another 1gb shared/taken by the gpu (if I understand your system description), leaving only 2gb ram for Windows, its drivers, Inventor and any other software...  May well be a problem here - could be shared memory between the gpu and system getting corrupted?

*Expert Elite*
sam_m
Posts: 638
Registered: ‎11-05-2003
Message 2 of 3 (199 Views)

Re: Inventor showing messed up model (on Mac via Parallels)

01-17-2013 07:31 AM in reply to: mxb225

those kind of graphics defects are usually driver-related (or even overheating gpu) - have you tried updating the drivers?  make sure ALL drivers are up to date (gpu, motherboard/chipset, everything).

 

is it any better running Inventor in compatability mode?  (options -> hardware tab)

 

You also could be struggling with memory - 4gb ram but 1gb taken by Parallels and then another 1gb shared/taken by the gpu (if I understand your system description), leaving only 2gb ram for Windows, its drivers, Inventor and any other software...  May well be a problem here - could be shared memory between the gpu and system getting corrupted?

----------
Please mark this response as "Accept as Solution" if it answers your question...
but please understand that the solution may not be the answer you're wanting to hear...

If you have found any post to be helpful, even if it's not a direct solution, then please provide that author kudos - spread that love :smileyvery-happy:

Lithium - helping nntp users with mania, depression and headaches
Member
mxb225
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎11-27-2012
Message 3 of 3 (188 Views)

Re: Inventor showing messed up model (on Mac via Parallels)

01-17-2013 07:47 AM in reply to: sam_m

Thanks sam_m! Setting Inventor Pro/Options/Hardware to Compatibility and also checking the Software Graphics box has fixed the display problem. Thanks again!

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Do you have 60 seconds to spare? The Autodesk Community Team is revamping our site ranking system and we want your feedback! Please click here to launch the 5 question survey. As always your input is greatly appreciated.