Community
Inventor Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Inventor Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Inventor topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Inventor Sheet Metal Issue with a bend in the middle of a part.

5 REPLIES 5
SOLVED
Message 1 of 6
rg97
1016 Views, 5 Replies

Inventor Sheet Metal Issue with a bend in the middle of a part.

Hi! I've been using inventor for a few years now, but the company that I work for has started transitioning to sheet metal modeling/drafting. I started fresh with sheet metal two days ago, and I've run into a problem that neither youtube nor here has been able to fix yet, or at least help. 

I'll try to describe the best I can in words, but maybe your best bet is to open the files and see.

The first file (BWing) is a normal .ipt that I modeled a while ago, that is correct. Now, I need it to go into sheet metal. Easy, right? Just take the .ipt and convert it. but I keep getting an error/glitch when I get to the flat pattern.  Just doesnt unfold in one spot right. I messed with it for a day to no avail so I just decided to start on a new sheet metal part. (see 2nd attachment) I need to put the loop in the middle into sheet metal. I havent found anywhere where can explain. Contour flange has not worked. 

If I could fix the first .ipt to fold flat right, or could get some help on the "loop" I'd be glad.

Any help is very much appreciated. Thanks

Rheese G

rg97

5 REPLIES 5
Message 2 of 6
JDMather
in reply to: rg97

While you wait for a solution - there are 2 Service Packs for 2014 that you should install.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Autodesk Inventor 2019 Certified Professional
Autodesk AutoCAD 2013 Certified Professional
Certified SolidWorks Professional

Message 3 of 6
JDMather

I wasn't sure about some of the dimensions since the part was poorly modeled - especially Sketch2 for Cut1.