Inventor General Discussion

Inventor General Discussion

Reply
Active Contributor
jlane
Posts: 42
Registered: ‎07-21-2011
Message 1 of 5 (563 Views)

Inventor "shifting" location of template border & title block

563 Views, 4 Replies
06-26-2012 08:33 AM

We want to use our AutoCAD company standard templates within Inventor.

 

I’ve followed the procedures in the help files to accomplish this under the heading:

Create a .dwg template in Autodesk Inventor from an AutoCAD .dwg template

 

This works without any problems.  Inventor is able to recognize the size of our template border (20.75” x 33”) and correctly selects a sheet format of 24” x 36”.  The template border is centered on the 24” x 36” sheet just as we would like it (see attached).

 

The template is used to create a new Inventor .dwg, and base views are placed and annotated.  No problems, everything looks good.  The new drawing is saved and Vaulted.  However, at some point Inventor "shifts" the location of the template on the 24” x 36” sheet format (see attached).  This action is unpredictable.  The drawing might be checked-out and checked-in several times before the “shift” happens.  When it does we have to re-locate the views and other text annotation to suit the new title block & border location.

 

How can we lock the position of the template border & title block?  (Should be noted that we need to keep our template positioned such that the bottom left corner is at 0,0,0 when it is opened in AutoCAD.)

 

Thanks!

__________________________
jlane
Inventor Pro 2015
AutoCAD Mechanical 2015
ASD 2015
Vault Collaboration 2015
Windows 7 Pro
*Pro
sbixler
Posts: 1,934
Registered: ‎09-15-2003
Message 2 of 5 (526 Views)

Re: Inventor "shifting" location of template border & title block

06-27-2012 04:00 AM in reply to: jlane

Edit your border definition in your template file, and dimension or otherwise constrain it to the corners of the sheet.  If you've already done this, then there is a problem that Autodesk needs to look at.  Post a drawing file here that has shifted and see if anyone can diagnose the problem.

 

(I see from your images that you're using Inventor 2011, but it's always best to say so in your post.)

Active Contributor
jlane
Posts: 42
Registered: ‎07-21-2011
Message 3 of 5 (513 Views)

Re: Inventor "shifting" location of template border & title block

06-27-2012 06:12 AM in reply to: sbixler

Thanks for your reply Sam.

 

Sounds like I need to create a border definition from within Inventor.  Or is there a way I can constrain our template border (AutoCAD block) to the sheet corners?  I didn’t think there was a way to edit a block definition from within the Inventor drawing environment.

 

I tried posting a shifted file but even after removing the views & annotation it's size is too large to upload here.

__________________________
jlane
Inventor Pro 2015
AutoCAD Mechanical 2015
ASD 2015
Vault Collaboration 2015
Windows 7 Pro
*Pro
sbixler
Posts: 1,934
Registered: ‎09-15-2003
Message 4 of 5 (503 Views)

Re: Inventor "shifting" location of template border & title block

06-27-2012 08:08 AM in reply to: jlane

Yes, I think that you need a border definition.  I wonder if your border definition could include your AutoCAD block?   I don't use AutoCAD, so I can't easily check that.  However, if your border and title block are pretty standard and not likely to change frequently, I'd suggest creating them from scratch.  It's a bit of work, but only one time.

*Expert Elite*
blair
Posts: 4,227
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 5 of 5 (490 Views)

Re: Inventor "shifting" location of template border & title block

06-27-2012 08:38 AM in reply to: jlane

Yes, you will need to create a new border from scratch, you will need to delete the existing border first. The link will take you to the Autodesk-Wiki help

 

http://wikihelp.autodesk.com/Inventor/enu/2013/Help/1310-Autodesk1310/1814-Drawings1814/1815-Drawing...

Did you find this reply helpful ? If so please use the Accept as Solution or Kudos button below.

IV2015 SP1 PDSU / Sim Mech 2015 r1 /
Win7-64
EVGA X79 - Classified, iCore7 3930k 32Gb Quad-Channel
950Gb (2 x 500Gb Sata III SSD RAID0 Adaptec 6805E Controller)
Nvidia GTX-690 Classified - 340.52
SpacePilot Pro 3.17.7, 6.17., 4.11
Delta Tau Chi ΔΤΧ
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.