Inventor General Discussion

Reply
Active Member
sinsremoved
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎06-09-2009
Message 1 of 18 (473 Views)

Inventor or AutoCAD

473 Views, 17 Replies
08-15-2013 02:22 PM

I am pretty good with AutoCAD and I don't have time to research Inventor. Can someone please tell me why I would want to go from AutoCAD 2014 to Inventor and what is the major differences? I mostly do reverse engineering but occasionally I have to design from scratch.

*Expert Elite*
JDMather
Posts: 27,983
Registered: ‎04-20-2006
Message 2 of 18 (467 Views)

Re: Inventor or AutoCAD

08-15-2013 02:26 PM in reply to: sinsremoved

Find the red End of Part marker in the browser.
(End of Folded on sheet metal parts EOF)
Drag the red EOP to the top of the browser hiding all features.

Save the file with the EOP in a rolled up state.

Right click on the file name and select Send to Compressed (zipped) Folder.

Attach the resulting *.zip file here.
I am pretty good with AutoCAD.  I use Inventor.

I would rather visit the dentist than have to go back to AutoCAD.  :smileymad:

I know, not a reason. 
I'm sure others will follow with reasons.

 

Well, I just found one reason

your post here http://forums.autodesk.com/t5/AutoCAD-2013-2014-DWG-Format/Converting-Complex-Solid-Surface-to-Solid...

 

Can't really tell from the image - but it doesn't appear to be very good quality geometry (not that it couldn't be done in AutoCAD.  Can you attach the dwg here for analysis?

 

Students can download Inventor for free from here http://www.autodesk.com/edcommunity

 

AutoCAD does not support parametric 3D modeling (solids or surfaces).

AutoCAD does not have sheet metal tools.

AutoCAD does not have iFeatures, iParts, iAssemblies, iLogic.

AutoCAD does not have FEA, Dynamic Simulation, Plastic Mold tools.

AutoCAD does not have Frame Generator, Cam Generator, Spring Generator, Gear Generator and other Design Accelerators.

AutoCAD does not have Inventor Studio.

AutoCAD does not have Routed Systems (Tube and Pipe, and Electrical wiring/cable).

AutoCAD does not have kinematic motion in assemblies.

AutoCAD viewbase (3D to 2D) documentation tools are very limited compared to Inventor tools.

AutoCAD doesn't have very good Units functionality.

 

AutoCAD doesn't have Content Center (I think something like 6 or 7 million standard parts).

AutoCAD doesn't have Bend Part, Grill, Boss, Snap Fit, Rest, Lip, Rule Fillet, Face Fillet, Variable Fillet, Full Round Fillets, Setback fillets, Rib...

Coil, Emboss, Derive...

 AutoCAD doesn't have 2D and 3D Equation Curves. No Bridge Curve.

Please mark this response as "Accept as Solution" if it answers your question.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Autodesk Inventor 2014 Certified Professional
Autodesk AutoCAD 2013 Certified Professional
Certified SolidWorks Professional
Inventor Professional 2015-SP1 64-bit
http://www.autodesk.com/edcommunity
http://home.pct.edu/~jmather/content/DSG322/inventor_surface_tutorials.htm
*Expert Elite*
blair
Posts: 4,305
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 3 of 18 (447 Views)

Re: Inventor or AutoCAD

08-15-2013 02:43 PM in reply to: sinsremoved

Sounds like your companies version of R & D is "Replicated & Duplicate" if engineering is in 2D. The ability to design in 3D and seamless analyze your designs with FEA would be enough to move. 2D is just lines on a screen in a single plane.

 

The ability to get Mass, Center of Gravity and BOM's at a click of the mouse along with interference is bonus as well., not to mention accurate drawings and isometric views.

 

Renderings for brochure and art work as well.

 

What ACAD did to drafting tables and mechanical drafting arms, the move from 2D to solid 3D is even bigger.

Did you find this reply helpful ? If so please use the Accept as Solution or Kudos button below.

IV2015 SP1 PDSU / Sim Mech 2015 r1 /
Win7-64
EVGA X79 - Classified, iCore7 3930k 32Gb Quad-Channel
950Gb (2 x 500Gb Sata III SSD RAID0 Adaptec 6805E Controller)
Nvidia GTX-690 Classified - 344.60
SpacePilot Pro 3.17.7, 6.17., 4.11
Delta Tau Chi ΔΤΧ
*Expert Elite*
JDMather
Posts: 27,983
Registered: ‎04-20-2006
Message 4 of 18 (428 Views)

Re: Inventor or AutoCAD

08-15-2013 03:06 PM in reply to: JDMather

AutoCAD is missing

No multiple thickness Shell.

No neutral format Repair environment.

No Replace Face.

No Thread annotation

No Hole Feature.

Has only limited Sweep and Loft.

No Stitch tool.

No exploded assembly view tools.

Please mark this response as "Accept as Solution" if it answers your question.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Autodesk Inventor 2014 Certified Professional
Autodesk AutoCAD 2013 Certified Professional
Certified SolidWorks Professional
Inventor Professional 2015-SP1 64-bit
http://www.autodesk.com/edcommunity
http://home.pct.edu/~jmather/content/DSG322/inventor_surface_tutorials.htm
*Expert Elite*
jtylerbc
Posts: 890
Registered: ‎09-01-2010
Message 5 of 18 (421 Views)

Re: Inventor or AutoCAD

08-15-2013 03:16 PM in reply to: sinsremoved

If your work leaned more toward new design, I would make the argument that parametric modeling makes it much easier to make adjustments to your design.  Since you primarily do reverse engineering, you are mostly going to be duplicating something on which those design iterations have already happened, so this is less beneficial for you than it might be for other users.

 

Instead, for someone dealing mostly in reverse engineering, I think one of the biggest selling features of Inventor would be the Bill of Materials / Parts List system.  In Inventor, you don't have to go through your model counting up how many 1/2" bolts you used, or how many pieces of 6x1/4 flat bar you have to cut, etc.  Once some setup work has been done, Inventor tracks all of that for you, directly from your 3D model, and outputs it to your desired parts list format.

 

I work at a company that is stil primarily AutoCAD-based, but that balance is beginning to shift as more of our engineers get a taste of what Inventor can do to make their jobs easier.  One of the things that gets them the most excited is when I show them that with a few clicks they can have a completed parts list on their drawing, instead of spending a couple of hours compiling one by hand.

John Tyler
Inventor 2015
Windows 7 64 Bit
Active Member
sinsremoved
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎06-09-2009
Message 6 of 18 (411 Views)

Re: Inventor or AutoCAD

08-15-2013 03:35 PM in reply to: sinsremoved

Wow. Thanks for all the responses. I have never used Inventor but I have installed the demo and will fiddle with it.

 

If Inventor is so much better than why does Facebook show:

 

AutoCAD                 1,520,613 likes.

Autodesk Inventor      506,875 likes

 

:smileyvery-happy:

*Expert Elite*
JDMather
Posts: 27,983
Registered: ‎04-20-2006
Message 7 of 18 (394 Views)

Re: Inventor or AutoCAD

08-15-2013 05:37 PM in reply to: sinsremoved

sinsremoved wrote:
If Inventor is so much better than why does Facebook show:

 

AutoCAD                 1,520,613 likes.

Autodesk Inventor      506,875 likes

 


AutoCAD is a general purpose CAD program that is used by architectural, civil, and a host of other disciplines.
AutoCAD has been around twice as long as Inventor.

Inventor is used primarily in a specific discipline - mechanical/machine design.

 

Autodesk now has several discipline specific next-generation CAD tools.

Please mark this response as "Accept as Solution" if it answers your question.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Autodesk Inventor 2014 Certified Professional
Autodesk AutoCAD 2013 Certified Professional
Certified SolidWorks Professional
Inventor Professional 2015-SP1 64-bit
http://www.autodesk.com/edcommunity
http://home.pct.edu/~jmather/content/DSG322/inventor_surface_tutorials.htm
Mentor
BarryZA
Posts: 192
Registered: ‎08-27-2012
Message 8 of 18 (374 Views)

Re: Inventor or AutoCAD

08-16-2013 12:13 AM in reply to: JDMather

I recently had someone get very excited by isometric/custom and section views being instantly created in Inventors 2D drawing environment.

 

My 2 cents- Inventor cuts down dramatically on physical prototyping for new designs.

                   3D visualisation/layouts, sometimes my part makes perfect sense in 2d, but after looking at it for 5    

                   seconds in 3D I realise....(usually this realisation would only kick in after the part has been made)

                   If an assembly has left your premises/ the country and something goes wrong, having access to the 3d

                   model can make all the difference. 

*Expert Elite*
JDMather
Posts: 27,983
Registered: ‎04-20-2006
Message 9 of 18 (356 Views)

Re: Inventor or AutoCAD

08-16-2013 03:39 AM in reply to: sinsremoved

sinsremoved wrote:
 installed the demo and will fiddle with it.

 


It will take more than 30-days to learn.

http://home.pct.edu/~jmather/SkillsUSA%20University.pdf
http://inventortrenches.blogspot.com/p/inventor-tutorials.html
http://wikihelp.autodesk.com/enu?adskContextId=HELP_TUTORIALS&language=ENU&release=2014&product=Inve...

Please mark this response as "Accept as Solution" if it answers your question.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Autodesk Inventor 2014 Certified Professional
Autodesk AutoCAD 2013 Certified Professional
Certified SolidWorks Professional
Inventor Professional 2015-SP1 64-bit
http://www.autodesk.com/edcommunity
http://home.pct.edu/~jmather/content/DSG322/inventor_surface_tutorials.htm
Mentor
BarryZA
Posts: 192
Registered: ‎08-27-2012
Message 10 of 18 (354 Views)

Re: Inventor or AutoCAD

08-16-2013 03:52 AM in reply to: JDMather

The 1 thing that got me going more than anything else was having 2 screens. 1 for Inventor and 1 for your tutorial. Otherwise by the time you click back to Inv and start searching for the correct toolbar, you have forgotten what you are supposed to be looking for, then its click back to the tut- repeat process!

 

For some more advanced modelling after the tutorials go here:http://worldcup.teknigroup.com/worldcup/worldcupfiles.asp?offset=140

and reverse engineer them :-)

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Are You Going To Be @ AU 2014? Feel free to drop by our AU topic post and share your plans, plug a class that you're teaching, or simply check out who else from the community might be in attendance. Ohh and don't forgot to stop by the Autodesk Help | Learn | Collaborate booths in the Exhibit Hall and meet our community team if you get a chance!