Inventor General Discussion

Inventor General Discussion

Reply
Mentor
whunter
Posts: 200
Registered: ‎06-25-2009
Message 1 of 19 (2,983 Views)

Inventor on Mac via Parallels Desktop

2983 Views, 18 Replies
10-21-2009 01:36 AM
Hi all;

Anyone on this forum using Inventor in this way? I'd like to get some comments on the speed of Inventor using it in a virtual environment. Also, is it 'easy/pain free' to switch between the virtual environment (Windows) and the Mac desktop (to access mail or whatever)? I've used VirtualBox before on a Linux box before so I'm familiar with a virtual environment, but I don't know Parallels. The latter is officially supported by ADSK (http://usa.autodesk.com/products/mac-compatible-products)

Also, is their direct communication between Inventor and the hardware (specifically the graphics card), or does it go through a software layer?

Thanks,
wh
New Member
Settinglake
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎09-21-2010
Message 2 of 19 (2,969 Views)

Re: Inventor on Mac via Parallels Desktop

09-21-2010 05:46 AM in reply to: whunter

I am running Paralles 5 and windows 7.  The problems I have had have been with the resource hunger of windows 7 and have had to turn Aero off to make it work well. It does otherwise work very well within Parallels.  Switching from the Mac to the virtual machine is easy and quick - no more than launching an extra application.

 

My machine is a MacBook Pro (Laptop) with 8 gig of ram and an Intel i7 chip.  I shut the mac applications down as I have max resources set to the virtual machine.  This is fine because I have Outlook on the VM as well as Internet explorer.  When Autocad is running on my Mac my Mac is a windows machine.

 

I would really like Autodesk to offer Inventor Suite as a Mac Native product.  

 

Doug

*Expert Elite*
JDMather
Posts: 28,046
Registered: ‎04-20-2006
Message 3 of 19 (2,956 Views)

Re: Inventor on Mac via Parallels Desktop

09-21-2010 06:14 AM in reply to: whunter

whunter wrote:
 the speed of Inventor ... and the Mac

I don't know anything about Macs, but I saw Kevin Schneider running on a Mac at AU 2009.  He said it was the fasted notebook he could find for running Inventor. http://au.autodesk.com/?nd=class&session_id=5457

Please mark this response as "Accept as Solution" if it answers your question.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Autodesk Inventor 2014 Certified Professional
Autodesk AutoCAD 2013 Certified Professional
Certified SolidWorks Professional
Inventor Professional 2015-SP1 64-bit
http://www.autodesk.com/edcommunity
http://home.pct.edu/~jmather/content/DSG322/inventor_surface_tutorials.htm
Distinguished Contributor
cmcconnell
Posts: 237
Registered: ‎08-15-2007
Message 4 of 19 (2,923 Views)

Re: Inventor on Mac via Parallels Desktop

09-21-2010 01:30 PM in reply to: JDMather

We have 2 Mac Book Pros running Inventor here, but we are running windows 7 under Bootcamp. From what I have heard, parallels limits video capability.

Mechanix Design Solutions inc.
Active Member
huntoon
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎01-05-2011
Message 5 of 19 (2,495 Views)

Re: Inventor on Mac via Parallels Desktop

06-29-2011 08:29 PM in reply to: cmcconnell

Hi, I was wondering if you would care to update us on your situation of using Inventor on a Mac. Specifically, have you run into limits in the size of assemblies or complexity of objects?

 

Thanks,

JON

Distinguished Contributor
cmcconnell
Posts: 237
Registered: ‎08-15-2007
Message 6 of 19 (2,492 Views)

Re: Inventor on Mac via Parallels Desktop

06-29-2011 08:35 PM in reply to: whunter
We have not had a single hardware related issue. If i could change 1 thing it qould be to up the RAM TO 16 Gbs (instead of 8) a i have some assemblies that take ~8 Gbs just to open. In fact we have been so happy with them, we now have 7 MacBook Pros and 1 Mac Pro.
Mechanix Design Solutions inc.
Active Member
huntoon
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎01-05-2011
Message 7 of 19 (2,487 Views)

Re: Inventor on Mac via Parallels Desktop

06-29-2011 10:14 PM in reply to: cmcconnell

Thanks for the update! I have been wanting to buy a mac and now I am feeling better about the idea. Is the speed comparable to laptops running nvidia QUADROm cards? 

 

Do you happen to use a 3D connexion Space Navigator? I'm wondering if that 3D mouse will work well too.

 

Thanks,

JON

Active Member
huntoon
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎01-05-2011
Message 8 of 19 (2,486 Views)

Re: Inventor on Mac via Parallels Desktop

06-29-2011 10:17 PM in reply to: cmcconnell

Perhaps a better follow-up question would be: How many parts are in the assemblies that require 8gbs of memory.

 

Thanks!!!

JON

Active Member
huntoon
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎01-05-2011
Message 9 of 19 (2,483 Views)

Re: Inventor on Mac via Parallels Desktop

06-29-2011 10:37 PM in reply to: JDMather

Would you happen to know where Kevin Schneider was getting those benchmarks to claim that macs were the fastest for running Inventor Fusion? I am really looking to get a mac, I just need some more info..

 

Thanks,

 

JON

Distinguished Contributor
cmcconnell
Posts: 237
Registered: ‎08-15-2007
Message 10 of 19 (2,478 Views)

Re: Inventor on Mac via Parallels Desktop

06-30-2011 03:55 AM in reply to: whunter
The video seems comparable and we are running 3d connexiOn controllers.

The assembly in question is a 35000 component master driven assembly.

Not sure what Kevin was referring to...
Mechanix Design Solutions inc.
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Are You Going To Be @ AU 2014? Feel free to drop by our AU topic post and share your plans, plug a class that you're teaching, or simply check out who else from the community might be in attendance. Ohh and don't forgot to stop by the Autodesk Help | Learn | Collaborate booths in the Exhibit Hall and meet our community team if you get a chance!