Inventor General Discussion

Inventor General Discussion

Reply
New Member
studentengineer2345535
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎04-16-2012
Message 1 of 4 (314 Views)

Inventor not recognising graphics card.

314 Views, 3 Replies
10-13-2012 02:59 PM

Autodesk inventor wont recognise my discrete graphics card (AMD Radeon HD 6490M) and is running instead on the sub par integrated graphics card which results in slow performance even on very simple and small part files. The rest of the computer hardware is more than apt to run inventor, I am convinced that its a problem with the graphics card as the diagnostics show no sign of the system recognising the discrete graphics.

 

Is it a problem with my drivers, I have the latest installed?

 

Any help would be be greatly appreciated.

 

Thanks

Stephen.

*Expert Elite*
blair
Posts: 4,331
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 2 of 4 (286 Views)

Re: Inventor not recognising graphics card.

10-14-2012 03:44 PM in reply to: studentengineer2345535

If it's new machine, most ship with old 1st release drivers. The first thing I would do is update to the most current Microsoft Certified drivers.

Did you find this reply helpful ? If so please use the Accept as Solution or Kudos button below.

IV2015 SP1 PDSU / Sim Mech 2015 r1 /
Win7-64
EVGA X79 - Classified, iCore7 3930k 32Gb Quad-Channel
950Gb (2 x 500Gb Sata III SSD RAID0 Adaptec 6805E Controller)
Nvidia GTX-690 Classified - 344.60
SpacePilot Pro 3.06.109
Delta Tau Chi ΔΤΧ
Distinguished Mentor
john.retzlaff
Posts: 947
Registered: ‎11-03-2003
Message 3 of 4 (263 Views)

Re: Inventor not recognising graphics card.

10-15-2012 07:21 AM in reply to: studentengineer2345535

Is there an option in you BIOS to disable the integrated graphics?

If so I would disable it.

John Retzlaff
*Expert Elite*
mcgyvr
Posts: 7,172
Registered: ‎12-01-2004
Message 4 of 4 (250 Views)

Re: Inventor not recognising graphics card.

10-15-2012 08:12 AM in reply to: john.retzlaff

john.retzlaff wrote:

Is there an option in you BIOS to disable the integrated graphics?

If so I would disable it.


yep..disable the integrated graphics.

 

Did you find this reply helpful ? If so please use the Accept as Solution or Kudos button below.

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
2015 Product Design Suite Ultimate
Windows 7 64 bit
Core i7 4820k processor (OC'd to 4.4Ghz), Nvidia GTX 770, 16G RAM


Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Are You Going To Be @ AU 2014? Feel free to drop by our AU topic post and share your plans, plug a class that you're teaching, or simply check out who else from the community might be in attendance. Ohh and don't forgot to stop by the Autodesk Help | Learn | Collaborate booths in the Exhibit Hall and meet our community team if you get a chance!