Inventor General Discussion

Inventor General Discussion

Reply
*Expert Elite*
Cadmanto
Posts: 3,244
Registered: ‎12-07-2011
Message 1 of 25 (516 Views)
Accepted Solution

Inventor Feature works?

516 Views, 24 Replies
03-22-2012 01:48 PM

For those of you that know Solidworks, they had a feature that could create features from dumb solids called featureworks.  Does Inventor have anything similar?

Best Regards,
Scott McFadden
Inventor Professional 2013
(Colossians 3:23-25)

*Expert Elite*
jtylerbc
Posts: 878
Registered: ‎09-01-2010
Message 2 of 25 (513 Views)

Re: Inventor Feature works?

03-22-2012 01:51 PM in reply to: Cadmanto

Yes, but it's an add-in, so you'll have to download and install it first.

 

http://labs.autodesk.com/utilities/feature_recognition/

 

 

John Tyler
Inventor 2015
Windows 7 64 Bit
*Expert Elite*
CelticDesignServices
Posts: 514
Registered: ‎11-29-2011
Message 3 of 25 (510 Views)

Re: Inventor Feature works?

03-22-2012 02:02 PM in reply to: jtylerbc

Yeah, I really wish this was finally part of basic Inventor by now.

Labs has had this feature for a few realeses now and I use it all the time when dealing with vendor files.

New EE Logo.PNG


Inventor.PNG     vault.PNG



Jim
Celtic Design Services, LLC

Inventor/AutoCAD/Vault WorkGroups
Always for hire - celticdesign01ATyahooDOTcom
https://www.facebook.com/pages/Celtic-Design-Services-LLC/184666001666426
==========================================================
Please use the "Accept as Solution" and "Give Kudos" functions as appropriate to further enhance the value of these forums.

Go raibh maith agat (in other words...Thank you!)
*Expert Elite*
Cadmanto
Posts: 3,244
Registered: ‎12-07-2011
Message 4 of 25 (499 Views)

Re: Inventor Feature works?

03-22-2012 03:05 PM in reply to: Cadmanto

Thanks.  I will try this when I get back to work.

We are using profressional so I am miffed that this ins't included as well.

Have you used it and if so what are your thoughts?

Best Regards,
Scott McFadden
Inventor Professional 2013
(Colossians 3:23-25)

*Expert Elite*
Cadmanto
Posts: 3,244
Registered: ‎12-07-2011
Message 5 of 25 (500 Views)

Re: Inventor Feature works?

03-22-2012 03:07 PM in reply to: CelticDesignServices

Jim,

Me too!!!

I used it periodically when I was using Solidworks.  It was good for simple machined type parts.

Forget it on the ergonomic swept type parts.

Best Regards,
Scott McFadden
Inventor Professional 2013
(Colossians 3:23-25)

*Expert Elite*
jtylerbc
Posts: 878
Registered: ‎09-01-2010
Message 6 of 25 (492 Views)

Re: Inventor Feature works?

03-22-2012 03:27 PM in reply to: Cadmanto

My thoughts are that I've never needed it badly enough to be worth the trouble of trying to get IT to install it for me . . .

John Tyler
Inventor 2015
Windows 7 64 Bit
*Expert Elite*
JDMather
Posts: 26,656
Registered: ‎04-20-2006
Message 7 of 25 (477 Views)

Re: Inventor Feature works?

03-22-2012 06:17 PM in reply to: Cadmanto

Have you used it and if so what are your thoughts?


Identical to FeatureWorks.

I never use Automatic in Inventor or SolidWorks.
Use in manual mode and recognize only those features that will actually be edited.

You can multiple select then right click to combine circular or rectangular patterns.

Please mark this response as "Accept as Solution" if it answers your question.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Autodesk Inventor 2014 Certified Professional
Autodesk AutoCAD 2013 Certified Professional
Certified SolidWorks Professional
Inventor Professional 2015 64-bit
http://www.autodesk.com/edcommunity
http://home.pct.edu/~jmather/content/DSG322/inventor_surface_tutorials.htm
*Expert Elite*
Cadmanto
Posts: 3,244
Registered: ‎12-07-2011
Message 8 of 25 (453 Views)

Re: Inventor Feature works?

03-23-2012 11:01 AM in reply to: JDMather

Thanks JD.

My question now is I have downloaded it and when I go to the addins list I am not seeing it in the list.

How do I get it into my Inventor session?

I ahve already closed out of inventor and restarted that thinking that would work...Not!!!

Best Regards,
Scott McFadden
Inventor Professional 2013
(Colossians 3:23-25)

Valued Mentor
RayFeiler
Posts: 402
Registered: ‎10-07-2008
Message 9 of 25 (450 Views)

Re: Inventor Feature works?

03-23-2012 11:07 AM in reply to: Cadmanto

I guess no one likes Fusion?

Fusion.png

Product Design Suite Ultimate 2014 64-Bit

Sometimes you just need a good old reboot.
*Expert Elite*
JDMather
Posts: 26,656
Registered: ‎04-20-2006
Message 10 of 25 (449 Views)

Re: Inventor Feature works?

03-23-2012 11:08 AM in reply to: Cadmanto

You must install with anti-virus and UAC turned off.

I had the same problem on of my machines till I turned UAC off.

Please mark this response as "Accept as Solution" if it answers your question.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Autodesk Inventor 2014 Certified Professional
Autodesk AutoCAD 2013 Certified Professional
Certified SolidWorks Professional
Inventor Professional 2015 64-bit
http://www.autodesk.com/edcommunity
http://home.pct.edu/~jmather/content/DSG322/inventor_surface_tutorials.htm
Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.