Community
Inventor Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Inventor Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Inventor topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Inventor FEA hardware optimization, questions -- comments ---links in the dark

1 REPLY 1
Message 1 of 2
520 Views, 1 Reply

Inventor FEA hardware optimization, questions -- comments ---links in the dark

Hey guys, 

I am a computer technician for a company with an engineer whose system is running slowly with FEA. I am not an autodesk user, myself so please pardon my ignorance.

We are running Product Design Suite Ultimate 2014 on an HP z220 system with a firepro v3900, 4core/ 8thread Xeon, 24GB ram....

When the engineer is doing FEA it is dirt slow at completeing the process. It isn't using much ram, but is completely using up most of the cores/threads.

I understand that inventor just started utilizing more than one cpu core in the last couple years.
How can  we speed up this system?
Can we add another video card and dedicate that card to physics calculations?
can we use the current video card and throw more of the physics calculations at it?

What steps would you guys take to optimize the system that I have? (maybe just throw me a link to a good recent article if you know one)
Within a moderate budget what would you buy to make this system perform well?

For humor, and to show how thankful I am I have attached a humorous picture to this post that is completely off topic.

1 REPLY 1
Message 2 of 2
LT.Rusty
in reply to: 135446754

@135446754 wrote:

Hey guys, 

I am a computer technician for a company with an engineer whose system is running slowly with FEA. I am not an autodesk user, myself so please pardon my ignorance.

We are running Product Design Suite Ultimate 2014 on an HP z220 system with a firepro v3900, 4core/ 8thread Xeon, 24GB ram....